We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Go Hotels Dumaguete

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Go Hotels Dumaguete to your Saves list
Go Hotels Dumaguete
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calindagan corner South Road | Dumaguete Central Business District, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Dumaguete City
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very cheap, especially if you reserve online in advance. Check out their website, they sometimes have offers: http://gohotels.ph/. Small bedrooms but they are modern and have good aircon and LCD tv's. No wardrobe, just a sort of rack with folding arms in the corner. Nice rainfall type shower with constant hot water. If it's inexpensive comfort and convenience that you want then this is the place to stay. If you are wanting a little more scenery within the vicinity then I'd recommend staying at one of the many hotels downtown nearer to the boulevard.

The staff were friendly and competent; checking in and out was a breeze.

It's located right behind Robinson's Mall which is very handy. It's not near the boulevard but there are plenty of tricycles and jeepneys at the mall. It's also within walking distance of the bus station, where Ceres buses travel throughout Negros and also to Cebu.

Breakfast doesn't come included in the room price, you have to pay about 118 pesos each for that, but you can organise that easily on the website. You use the coupon at the cafe/shop next to the lobby. It's pretty basic. You can also buy chips and drinks etc. Also within the lobby there is a nifty laundry service and an area where you can arrange tours to nearby attractions.

The beds are comfortable and you get a soft pillow and also one of those memory foam type pillows each. Plus the aircon doesn't have to work too hard to get the room cool quickly.

Room Tip: By the way, if you want peace and quiet don't get an interconnecting room as the door is paper t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    57
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
22
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

With my experience, I was given a room by the very hospitable staff, and the room is clean but not that spacious, the bed was just right enough. All rooms are air-conditioned and with flat screen TV with cable. The food was good. And location was great that is very near the mall which made me shop everything i wanted and needed with ease.

Just take note of one thing that will make you decide to try Go Hotels for a business trip, their WiFi connection is very poor.

Overall stay was a good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on 21 and 22 November after reading favourable reviews.
First, the good points: this hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and it has a good location next to the Robinson Mall. The room was clean and the A/C worked well, and there was a flat screen TV with a good choice of channels, including the BBC, CNN, HBO and Australian Network. The bed was comfortable enough although the pillows were quite hard ( not fluffy as reported in some other reviews), and the bathroom had a nice 'falling rain' shower with good hot water, but the light was too dim for shaving. The room was clean, although there were a lot of tiny black ants and a sign warning that if the cleaning staff found any sign of food being eaten in the room, there would be an extra cleaning charge of P1000 ( this also applies to smoking). There was also a small safe.
I asked for a room facing the sea ( previous reviews advised that this side is quieter than the side facing the mall), and my room was quiet at night, but as it was on the ground floor, there was no sea view.
The breakfast at a fixed charge of P155 was quite tasty ( I had beef tapa with a fried egg and steamed rice ( don't forget to ask for the plain rice ifyou don't like garlic rice) and coffee... You can have a second cup fir no extra cost, but they don't tell you this.
The thing I didn't like here was the very poor wifi, in fact it was the most erratic I have ever experienced. I needed a good wifi connection to plan and book travel and accommodation for the next few days, and got very frustrated when the link kept dropping out literally every two or three minutes, and sometimes in less than a minute. To send just one short email or make a booking took up to five attempts, and there was no back-up laptop computer available. The wifi worked a bit better in the restaurant, but I was very glad to leave this hotel after all the wifi frustration. I'm writing this review from the Quest Hotel in Cebu, and it's a relief to have a reliable wifi link.
I told the reception staff several times about the wifi problem, they were all smiles and said they would get it fixed. Whatever they did had no noticeable effect, and I had the feeling that these empty smiles were a cover-up fir the fact that their wifi is lousy and they don't intend to do anything about it.
If I had known their wifi was so poor I would not have stayed at this place, although it is otherwise quite good value at P988 a night (the special on-line deals from P388 are for bookings made months in advance). Although the poor wifi was a major problem, I was equally concerned at their smiling indifference and empty assertions that they would 'pass my comments on to management'.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

my 2nd time to stay here. always looking forward to dive into the bed when i get to dgte from a tired and sleepless taipei trip. the only thing that's a pain in the neck is the check in time which is @2pm--but they allow u to check in as early as 12 noon depending on available rooms.

gohotel dgte is by far the best budget hotel i've tried as far as price, quiet, coziness, and accessibility are concerned. i say price bcoz most hotels range between 800p and 1k or up. quiet bcoz it's a bit away from the roads/streets where pedicabs, motorcycles, & buses ply. most hotels are on busy & noisy streets. coziness bcoz it's new (just opened this yr), simple and comfortable. and accessibility bcoz it's in back of robinson's mall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is fairly new. It's not spotless, but clean enough.
It has the ambiance of a 3-star hotel and the price of a 1- to 2-star hotel -- a great deal indeed.

Eating is not allowed inside the room. You have to put the towels on the bathroom counter to be changed and place a sign on the bed for the sheets to be changed. Housekeeping will make their rounds between 2pm and 6pm.

Towels, soap and shampoo are provided. They don't replenish soap/shampoo supply during the succeeding days, but you can ask for it. Food in the hotel's "cafeteria" is on the expensive side. The hotel is just a few steps away from Robinsons Mall, so food and supplies are not a problem.

In-room massage services are also available at reasonable prices.

(+) PROS:
* Great location -- beside a mall, public transport (pedicab/tricycle) terminal near mall entrance;
* Comfortable bed and contoured + ordinary pillows;
* Free wifi (although it's pretty much useless other than for checking the news);
* Great bathroom for a budget hotel -- countertop space, handheld shower + overhead rain shower, hot & cold water, glass partition for shower area, bath towel + foot towel;
* Staff are accommodating and quick to respond; and
* Multiple mirrors in room.

(-) CONS:
* We stayed for 4 nights. I found some ants in the room and bathroom. There were days when the bathroom wasn't cleaned (except for the maybe fresh towels, the bathroom was as we left it -- hair, wet floor). There were also times when it seems that the sheets/towels were not changed. However, this could just be due to the slight discolorations on the towels/sheets;
* Very limited wifi usage;
* Needs more countertop space in the room; and
* Needs thicker curtains.

Housekeeping can do a better job at keeping the hotel clean.
Overall, the hotel is worth it.
We hope that the room rates will remain affordable. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I got a 4D3N deal in this Hotel for on Php 1400. Since I got it really cheap, I wasn't really expecting much. Anyway, I just needed a bed to rest for the night, and that's it. So a fancy-pancy hotel was not preferred. Surprise surprise! It's still not a fancy hotel, BUT it could very well pass as a 3-star hotel...allow me to tell you the reason behind this rating...

(+) 1. Location is soo near Robinson's mall, which means easy access to anything you'd need to buy (from grocery items to slippers you might have forgotten to pack); 2. it's easy to tell to bisaya-speaking tricycle drivers where you're heading, since you just need to say "Rob?" and they know it; 3. it's only 3-5 mins away from the heart of Dumaguete, costs Php 9.00/person/ride. 4. Bed is so comfy, clean white comforter sheets and 4-pcs of fluffy pillows; 5. Clean bathroom + LCD TV + good working aircon; 6. Front door is hi-tech, works on card scan. 7. Polite and accommodating staff

(-) 1. Additional toiletries need to be bought and airport transfers comes with an additional price (Php 100); 2. Check-out time is 11:00 (which for me is too early), while check-in time is 2pm. 3. Cleaning-lady did not arrive even though I left the "make bed" card out the door; 4. Breakfast is not included in the room price, but is offered at 99-Php. 5. Room acoustic is not that good...you can still hear people in the halls; 6. Curtains could have been doubled, as light still goes through; 7. Wi-Fi problems persisted often

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms are a bit small with just a standard selection,but for the rate that we paid it was adequate. No room service and rates are based on overall occupancy of the hotel during the time you book. A little flexibility might be needed, but its a more of a travelers hotel so system based rates is the most efficient thing to do in terms of protecting the room inventory. I was surprise the bathroom had drop showers that made my stay.

Room Tip: book in advance to get cheaper rates. all rooms are the same but if you get your reservation during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Go Hotels Dumaguete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Go Hotels Dumaguete

Address: Calindagan corner South Road | Dumaguete Central Business District, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Go Hotels Dumaguete 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go Hotels Dumaguete is situated neighboring Robinsons Place Dumaguete Mall. The hotel rooms look out to a calm view of nature and the city. A mere 15-20 minute drive will take you to the airport and nearby tourist destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Go Hotels Dumaguete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Go Hotels Dumaguete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.