We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chin Loong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chin Loong
Upper Luke Wright Street, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines
63 35 422 6933
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice resto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We got here thinking tha the prices of food are expensive because it's situated just across the Boulevard stretch but we were surprises that their foods are so cheap and not to mention nice to the taste

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Chinese ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Not what we consider Chinese food and the service left a lot to be desired.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I came back again to Dumaguete on vacation last June and found Chinloong has finally built a new tiled toilets .It was clean ,it freshens up the place.I must say this is a big plus factor I've ever seen for Chinloong over the decades .Thumbs up to Chin Loong on it's new rest room face lifts .

With regards to food ,there seem a little difference .I heard rumors when I met my brother on same vacation time that my cousin had succesfully got the main Chef from ChinLoong to work for her resto abroad. Ouch! From that time on I was kind of disappointed in a way because I used to enjoy the food of Chinloong .I'm pretty sure over the years that missing Chef whoever he is , is a good one .Whether that news has affected my tastebuds ,can't be sure . I tasted the difference ,but not much . In summary for the food ,it is still of good value.

Cleanliness...I never find Chinloong with muddy floors .I guess it might just be bad days and it is a hit and miss .

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“taste fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

as the restaurant is walking distance from where we stay, we decided to give it a try during lunch time.as the hotel staff recommend it also.We were the only one eating that time and we ordered crab omellete and mixed vegetables which are all OK and serving good enough for 2.the price isreasonable too.while waiting for our order the waiter entertains us with stories about the city.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nothing special actually lousy chinese food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

lets start with what we order

Siomai- too starchy
Kilawin na isda - not too fresh
Birds Nest soup - filipino standard, it's ok
Crispy bata - ok (pass)
Camaron rebosado (too starchy)

We ordered a pork, i can't remember what it was, but the meat has some smells, i m sure they tried to cook meat that are not fresh anymore and still sells it.

The next day, two people in our parties got stomach flu, vomitting and diarhea.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Loong also viewed

Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 

Been to Chin Loong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chin Loong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.