We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here! :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sta. Monica Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sta. Monica Beach Club to your Saves list
Sta. Monica Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Banilad, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines (Formerly Sta. Monica Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Dumaguete City
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love it here! :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here in Sta Monica. All the staffs are very accommodating. I have to give credits especially to Camille, Marwin and the other guy who assisted my surprise dinner for my boyfriend. They had the table set up at the garden and served sumptuous food from their restaurant (Lanai). The room is very cozy although there are some mosquitoes inside. The pool area is very relaxing. I just dont know why there are still mosquitoes even there. The set buffet breakfast was very yummy! :) Also, they have private tricycle if you wish to go out as their place was situated at the end of a long alley. The driver was very nice too. Some staff delivered some complimentary sweets to our room before dinner. If I may suggest also that they put phones inside the room to connect with the staffs for request. Overall, I love the place and will recommend this to those who wish to have a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Request for a room that is near the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear Kringab,

Thank you so much for the review! We remember you very well, and we thought it was such a sweet thing to do to arrange a surprise for your boyfriend. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We have already shared your review to them and we all can't wait to welcome you back to our Dumaguete boutique resort. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Iloilo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I was just browsing for a place to stay for a brief stay in Dumaguete with my husband and daughter when I stumbled on this resort Sta. Monica. From my first call to make an inquiry and reservation, Lyn, their reservations staff was so courteous and so accommodating..I knew Iwas choosing the right place...Our trip to Dumaguete was not an easy one first taking an hour ferry ride then the long 6.5 hours by bus to Dumaguete.. But all the tired muscles disappeared when we saw the place and we were met by Joy who was very welcoming.. Next day we had the chance to meet the very amiable RM Mr. Mac Guerrero who became an instant friend to us. He even drove us personally to the nearby mall when the resort van was not available.Can you believe that? Next day, he invited us for breakfast and he made us try the specialties of the house to my husband's delight!.Highly recommend is their Seafood Putannesca! The staff were so attentive to your simplest needs. When I mentioned that I think rooms in the other wing was better, without thinking twice, Ms Joy had a room prepared and told us that we could move in in a few minutes. While having dinner at the city, we were late in coming back to the hotel since the tricycles were not much at night time, I got a call from the resort staff, Lyn if we were ok and if we needed to be picked up..Ohh I could go on forever with good things to say.. Thank you Sir Mac, Lyn, Joy, Art(our van driver) and the whole gang who made our Sta Monica experience something to cherish for a long long time!!! Looking forward to our next visit soon!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Dear MarieDoromal,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Sta Monica Beach Club during your brief stay in Dumaguete. We’re thrilled to learn that we’ve exceeded your expectations. Your inspiring review has already been shared to the entire SMBC family. We hope to see you again soon in Dumaguete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Though it was raining all throughout, the experience was still made wonderful as management was really nice, staff were all very friendly and accommodating and food was excellent! Ambiance was very relaxing and refreshing. Definitely the best in Dumaguete. oh and the food was excellent! oh wait... Seriously, food. was. excellent.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear EazyPeazyBreaz,

Thank you very much for recently staying here at Sta Monica Beach Club. Though the weather was quite unpredictable, we are very happy to learn that you had an amazing experience with our boutique resort here in Dumaguete. Thank you also for your inspiring words about our accommodations, food, staff, and the management. We will continue on doing our best to deliver infinite experiences to you and our future guests. You are always welcome here in Sta. Monica Beach Club. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Love the place... The tranquility of the place lets you forget the worry some work in Manila which I needed badly.The food was superb and the room was very comfortable...Love to stroll the beach specially in early morning and the staff are courteous and attentive. Feel so refresh when I returned in Manila.. Definitely would recommend to my friends and relatives this place.. Thanks for making my stay a wonderful one.. Hope to see you again guys and good work Mr. Mark Guerrero and your staff..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Yamskinorte,

Thank you for staying at Sta. Monica Beach Club during your recent trip to Dumaguete! We’re glad you enjoyed the food in our Dumaguete resort. The restaurant team works hard every day to provide each guest with a memorable dining experience. We can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

had a great time with my friends at this perfect place.Mac Guerrero the manager was so friendly and was good to us. This place is perfect : delicious food, employees are so friendly and nice ambiance,what more can you ask for? I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Dear Georgina,


Thank you very much for staying at Sta. Monica Beach Club! We're glad you liked the food and the service at our Dumaguete resort. Thank you even more for recommending us to the entire TripAdvisor community. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

It was a great place to ring in the New Year! Delicious food, relaxing ambiance and a great staff headed by Mac Guerrero. Check it out next time you're in Dumaguete, Negros Oriental. Satisfaction guaranteed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Dear Adie P

Thank you so much for your great review of Sta. Monica Beach Club. We remember you and your friends during your stay at the start of the year. Why not ring in 2015 at our Dumaguete hotel? Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guimaras Island, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I love the tranquility of this placeThe food was really good...the service was so impressive with genuinely great staff..rooms are very clean with its shabby chic design....i will certainly recommend this to my friends

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Bhibarbs,

Thanks so much for the great review of our Dumaguete hotel! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. By the way, the Buglasan Festival is coming up later this month. If you are joining the festivities, we'd be glad to once again host your stay. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sta. Monica Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sta. Monica Beach Club

Address: Banilad, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines (Formerly Sta. Monica Beach Resort)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sta. Monica Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully situated amidst nipa plantations in a quiet fishing village in Dumaguete City, Sta. Monica Beach Club offers a revitalizing resort experience in the heart of the "City of Gentle People." Managed by boutique hotel group One-Of Collection, the Dumaguete beach resort is one of the provincial capital's most iconic and elegant leisure, events, and wedding destinations. Utilizing the finest local materials and craftsmanship - with contemporary coastal design themes and a modern Filipino aesthetic - Sta. Monica Beach Club features a three-bedroom Beach House, plus 18 deluxe rooms and lofts that integrate seamlessly with the surrounding natural environment. Sta. Monica lies on the coast of Negros Oriental's southern peninsula, only 10 minutes away from the Dumaguete Airport and Seaport and a one-hour flight from Metro Manila. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sta. Monica Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Beach Hotel Dumaguete City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sta. Monica Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.