We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the answer to a much needed week-end get-away...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cove Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Cove Sands Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Abacaca, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6219, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Bacolod, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the answer to a much needed week-end get-away...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

we arrived at the resort right after the summer season here in the Philippines... the very first impression that i had upon arriving at Monarch sands was; it did not match the photos shown in the web..but having a second thought though and realizing that it was the start of the rainy season (we actually did not know that there was a typhoon)... i realized that the place was actually a great place to free your mind of from the daily grind of the city life...it was actually at Monarch sands where i get to see the might of god's creation upon seeing and hearing the beauty of the fast crashing waves upon the beach; the very first thing i did was pray...(especially early in the morning where the tide is high)

with regards to the staff; service was great... they are very flexible with your requests,we actually arrived to the resort without any rooms available..but they were able to provide win-win solutions to each guests ..from room service to food preparations..the pizzas.... AMAZING!

We never got to talk with ron the owner.. but the staff were courteous enough to tell us about the couple owner..

i never got to enjoy the diving, snorkeling, my dear girlfriend really wanted to try the kayak but due to the big waves we were not able to do so... but the experience that i got was well enough the six hour trip of the capital city of occidental, negros.

overall; Monarch Sands is a great place to visit if you want to have a break in the daily monotony of the city life and just enjoy raw,secluded and special nature as it is...

cheers to ron and the staff at monarch sands...

(hope we can visit you again; this time during the summer months)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was great the food was great everything was wonderful. We actually came back again in january when my sister from the states came to visit. Ron was very accommodating to all our needs as well as a staff!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I will never recomend this place. Over-priced. Overrated. Website was deceiving, there was no white sands, paradise etc.. Monarch Sands is simply TERRIBLE. Beware of the transportation costs to and from the resort. Based on their website, the resort lies south of Dumaguete City. They didn't mentioned that it was located close to hell - very far from the city and no where to go. Food was not so good, very expensive and the service takes a lot of time. If you wish to eat something, you must order at least an hour or you'll die in hunger waiting for your food. The most terrible part is their accommodation/cottages. There were lots of ants and mosquitos. No trash bins. Rusted fans. Dirty closets. Dirty linens. Insufficient lightings. Poor customer service.No safety deposit boxes. Cliff cottages are basically open to anyone who can enter to bug you during your sleep. We booked 3 cottages but we only occupied 2 as the cliff cottage #1 seems to be horifying!

Room Tip: i will never recommend this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonCoselman, Owner at Cove Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank You for staying and writing a review. We are are a little baffled that you did not find it to your liking,. As during the same day we received a raving review fro a guest who stayed in the cottage next to you. Titled "We Loved It". 5 stars! While it is true the meals may take awhile to prepare, however, everything is freshly made just as your mom would do it if you were at home. We do not attempt to be a McDonalds fast food, nor should we. Our prices are higher then McDonalds but lower then any of our competitors and for the quantity and quality meals are a bargain. As you arrived during a storm, (Typhoon) the beach and ocean was not as pleasant as it is during calm weather. We know that your trip was scheduled, cancelled, rescheduled. The Tours you scheduled then you cancelled. Transportation rearranged and in general a very stressful over night trip. We hope that you can return when your schedule is a little more leisurely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Short and to the point: Jen (my wife) and I wanted some "couple" time, away from work, the city and our 3 great kids. Looking for a private beach resort (with diving as an option) no more than a 60 minute flight from Manila, we found Monarch Sands online. With 4.5 out of 5 ranking on TripAdvisor at rates below $50 per night, it was simple to book direct with their website www.monarchsands.com. Top 3 things we liked: 1. private cove with soft white sand and clear, calm waters; 2. super accommodating staff and very good food, all 3 meals served to us sitting under the shade of a palm tree with our feet in the sand; 3. everything (room, food, beers, diving, airport transfer etc.) was put under 1 bill without ever signing anything, magically under 1 itemized bill at the end - mindless and very convenient. Oh, also free wireless. Top 3 things for improvement: 1. there were a few electricity outages, though never lasting long (less a resort issue, more city-issue); 2. food when ordered can take some time (though always worth the wait, suggest you simply pre-order asking that it be ready at x time, it always was); 3. nestled into vegetation, there are bugs; not a major issue...just don't expect a bug free experience as would be the case in most any resort that is so integrated with nature. All in, we loved the place, friendly service, diving on Apo Island...for the price, HUGE value. For our next visit we're bringing our kids and friends with kids...

Room Tip: For instant access to the beach, cottage #1 and #2 each with their own shaded tree in front. For fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

To the price you wont find it better. Nice sandy beach in a small bay next to a fishing village, beautifull view, Fine cottages, friendly and smiling staff and wonderfull food. Try their crepes with mango and banana :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I will try to keep it short & sweet : location - nicely isolated & quite; food - very tasty for both Asian & Western cuisine with good portions; service - they do their best e.g. they prepared my breakfast craving even if it wasn't on the menu, accomodated our diving requests, gave us a nice quick tour of downtown before we got on our bus for the city; room ( cabin 1 ) - clean with a few curious tropical creatures e.g. geckos, basic with hot shower, nice bamboo furniture, great ocean view from balcony, diving & snorkeling - all diving requests were accomodated despite not having an on-site dive guide, the only place i know so far to see a ghost pipefish while snorkeling ( they placed a poontoon a few meters from shore and enjoyed a few macro stuff). Tip: shore night dives not recommended due to the super low tide unless they could arrange a boat dive. Overall: Great value for your money resort!!! Best of luck to you Ron, your family, staff and future kids !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Frankly, if I tell everyone how much we truly love this place, the great accommodation, the faultless service, the great food, and the simply outrageous sunsets, they'll all come and we won't be able to go back to Monarch ourselves, ever again.
So I won't mention how much this place totally relaxes you, unwinds the knots and clears out your mind like a breath of fresh sea breeze.
And I certainly won't talk about the great meals, made from scratch, and the reasonable prices, or the way the staff make you feel special by being attentive, but never 'in your face'.
No, let's just say that if you want fussy staff, overpriced meals and over-pampered accommodations, then go elsewhere, and leave Monarch as our secret, 'special place'.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cove Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Sands Beach Resort

Address: Abacaca, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6219, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cove Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cove Sands Beach Resort is the perfect vacation haven for the entire family . Located just 40km drive from the local airport, North of the sleepy town of Siaton, Negros Oriental. Nestled on a secluded cove lies the peaceful and beautiful Cove Sands Beach Resort. We have various native style cottages made of Nipa, Bamboo and local materials, and cottages of Conventional build with aircon which all face the blue waters of the Bohol sea. Each cottage has a large porch to watch the local fishermen sail their small Bangka boats out for the nightly catch. The string of a hundred lights fill the horizo as they cast their nets.Snorkel our scenic cove, or have a dive in our pool or just simply unwind and enjoy one of the most beautiful sunsets in Negros. Cove Sands Beach Resort is a cozy place to spend a quiet time by the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cove Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Sands Beach Hotel Dumaguete City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.