We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star Hotel room at 3 Star rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel to your Saves list
Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haridwar NH-58, 12th Milestone | Badehri, Rajputn, Haridwar 249401, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Haridwar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“4 Star Hotel room at 3 Star rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had gone to Haridwar and Rishikesh for our family trip during the children's summer vacation and we wanted a comfortable stay during the holidays. We compared the rates with other Hotels located in Haridwar and found that it is much more economical than other good 4 Star Hotels in Haridwar whereas facilities appeared to be of a good 4 Star Hotel. We had hoped that it would live up to our expectations. So it did.

Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel has very good rooms. It can be compared to any good 4 Star Hotel with a room tariff of around Rs. 4000/- per day whereas we got a room here @ Rs. 2500/- per day only. We had very comfortable stay there during our two days' stay.

Only disadvantage of the Hotel is that it is 20-30 minutes drive from Haridwar but it was not a disadvantage for us since we had already hired an Innova from Delhi for the entire trip covering Haridwar, Rishikesh and Delhi. For someone coming to Haridwar by train, this Hotel may not be a good option due to its distance from the City. But those coming by road (by hired vehicles/ own vehicles), this Hotel is an excellent option especially in view of availability of good 4 Star Hotel room at 3 Star Hotel rates.

This Hotel being away from Haridwar has another advantage for non-vegetarians. Only vegetarian food is allowed in Haridwar but here, you may get both vegetarian and non-vegetarian food since it is outside Haridwar. Quality of food is very good and even the Buffet Breakfast is good.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this Hotel and recommend it to everyone going to Haridwar who have got a vehicle at their disposal.

Room Tip: Ask a room facing Crystal Water Park since the view is better for the rooms that side. Otherwise, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrosiasarovar, General Manager at Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Gupta

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Haridwar.

We thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor and are delighted to learn that you found our product, facilities and food to your satisfaction.

As mentioned by you, the hotel is strategically located on the highway before the hustle and bustle of the old city.

It was an honour to have you as our guest and encouraging comments from an experienced traveler such as yourself are most gratifying.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ambrosia Sarovar Portico in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Abhijit Nath
General Manager
gmsph@sarovarhotels.com
91-9720107171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
58
15
2
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I loved every bit of my stay at Sarovar Portico. It is an excellent property situated just a few mins outside Haridwar. My stay here was by chance. We were on our way back to Delhi after visiting Mussoorie, Rishikesh and Haridwar but were not able to continue our journey due to heavy rain and bad roads. So I stopped over for a night and it felt so good that I added another night up. It is a brand new hotel with all the latest amenities and technologies found in 5 star properties. The pricing was absolute value for money and it included a Breakfast buffet. The food was outstanding the there was a good spread of vegetarian dishes (It being a Pilgrimage center) along with a couple of non-vegetarian items. There was a marriage function happening that night but that did not disturb our stay as all the windows and floors are very well insulated. I was happily surprised by the excellent staff and rooms which by no extent is less that 5 Star category. This is definitely my choice of stay in the Haridwar-Rishikesh-Dehradun corridor. Keep up the great work guys.

Room Tip: You would not going wrong in any of these beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrosiasarovar, General Manager at Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Karthik

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Haridwar.

We thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor and are delighted to learn that you found our product, facilities and food to your satisfaction.

I shall definitely share your feedbacks with all my associates as this would encourage us to enhance our performance. It was an honour to have you as our guest and encouraging comments from an experienced traveler such as yourself are most gratifying.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ambrosia Sarovar Portico in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Abhijit Nath
General Manager
gmsph@sarovarhotels.com
91-9720107171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston,England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was a great hotel & the distance from Rishikesh was not too bad. We saw the evening festival which was brilliant & a must do for everyone.
We were pleased with the cleanliness & comfort of the rooms with good WiFi access.Staff were very helpful & accommodating.
The restaurant was pleasant but we found the breakfast limited & the selection at the evening meal dissapointing with little variety for our palate. Service was also rather slow & our meal came in 3 stages. So, I sent it back as the first part to arrive was cold by the time the rest arrived.
There was a water park next door which would be a great attraction for some.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrosiasarovar, General Manager at Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking out time to give us your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to receive your feedback and to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Your appreciation of our internet facilities, cleanliness & staff attitude is very rewarding and will motivate the team to create moments of delight for our guests.

I am equally concerned to learn your feedback about our buffet breakfast and services. It is our constant endeavor to extend services of the highest standards but we apologize for having fallen short of it on this occasion. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps us to continually improve the quality of our customer service.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Abhijit Nath
General Manager
gmsph@sarovarhotels.com
91-9720107171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. It is quite far from Haridwar at least 20 min. if you are lucky with the traffic and 30 min. more to Rishikesh. But for us was ok as we had our own cab driver and time to see the most important attractions in the area. We enjoy our stay at the hotel, all the facilities and room were very clean and nice. After a long journey we had our dinner there and it was great. We requested not spicy food (which is difficult to have in India) and we get it!! Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrosiasarovar, General Manager at Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Madam

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Haridwar.

We thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor and are delighted to learn that you found our product, facilities and food to your satisfaction.

I shall definitely share your feedbacks with all my associates as this would encourage us to enhance our performance. Not to forget, a very special thank you from our Kitchen and Housekeeping team for which you have mentioned separately.

As mentioned by you, the hotel is strategically located on the highway before the hustle and bustle of the old city.

It was an honour to have you as our guest and encouraging comments from an experienced traveler such as yourself are most gratifying.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ambrosia Sarovar Portico in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Abhijit Nath
General Manager
gmsph@sarovarhotels.com
91-9720107171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great place to stay but very far from Haridwar..It is almost 20 KM away from Haridwar and rikshaw would charge you 400 rs one way and taxi almost 1000 rs.But other than distance hotel is a dream and worth every rupee

Room Tip: Great place if you are on way from rourkee to Haridwar and worth the rating...But if you are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrosiasarovar, General Manager at Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to note your kind compliments on the hotel.

The hotel is strategically located on the highway – just (01 km) near Ram Dev Pathanjali Yogpeeth and adjacent to Crystal world Water Park. Despite being at Haridwar one can find tranquility - out of hustle and bustle of the old city.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ambrosia Sarovar Portico in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Abhijit Nath
General Manager
gmsph@sarovarhotels.com
91-9720107171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is an amazing hotel adjacent to the amusement water kingdom. It is located in beautiful surroundings. The rooms were excellent and so was their room service. We only had their buffet breakfast which was awesome. Overall an excellent hotel.

By the way on our way back to Delhi after our trip we again had a chance to have their Buffet Breakfast which was the same as the one when we stayed there, however; the price was very reasonable. Request the staff to change the menu every now and then.Anyways thanks for a wonderful and a memorable stay

Room Tip: When in Haridwar always try and book this hotel for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrosiasarovar, General Manager at Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Agarwal,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Haridwar.

We thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor and are delighted to learn that you found our product, facilities and food to your satisfaction.

We have taken a note of your comments on the breakfast buffet. The feedback has been shared with the concerned team and the department head for necessary improvement.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and valuable feedback and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Abhijit Nath
General Manager
gmsph@sarovarhotels.com
91-9720107171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice Property next to a Water and Amusement Park about 12 Kms From Roorkee and 20 Kms from Haridwar. Ambience & Service quality is Very Good. Suitable for families with children. No Swimming Pool but not a major factor as you have an amusement park nearby at reasonable prices. Veg & Non-Veg Food and drinks available at nearest to Haridwar. Fabulous hotel with clean rooms, quick check-in and adequate parking. Driver Rooms are available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrosiasarovar, General Manager at Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice and for taking the time to post a detailed review regarding your stay at Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Haridwar NH58.

It is heartening to note your kind compliments on the hotel, its facilities and we are glad you were able to enjoy a generous service experience during your stay with us. It was an honor to have you as our guest and encouraging comments from an experienced traveler such as yourself are most gratifying.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ambrosia Sarovar Portico in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Abhijit Nath
General Manager
gmsph@sarovarhotels.com
91-9720107171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel

Address: Haridwar NH-58, 12th Milestone | Badehri, Rajputn, Haridwar 249401, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Haridwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.