We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff and average rooms !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gmvn Rahi Motel

Gmvn Rahi Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haridwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gmvn Rahi Motel
Save
You added Gmvn Rahi Motel to your Saves list
Near Bus Stand, Haridwar 249401, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 76 Hotels in Haridwar
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff and average rooms !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Biggest pro for this hotel is the location itself - it is right next to the Haridwar main bus stand and opposite to the railway station. It is very convenient for people who have to take early morning or late night trains ( like me ).

I stayed in this hotel on our way to Badrinath ( yes, we were the few lucky people who had the Badrinath yatra just before the havoc in June 2013 ). The reception staff is very friendly and put us in the AC room. I had booked a Deluxe room based on the availability on GMVN website for 1 night and 1 more night for the AC room.

I was impressed with the service provided by the staff in particular Rakesh, who used to serve with a smile on his face. I even left a piece of luggage at the hotel when we traveled to Badrinath and it was secured until we returned. We also arrived a day early and we were accommodated as a room was available.

The food is average and mediocre - taste is not bad ! We ordered room service on 2 occasions and the food turned up on time and was hot....don't expect varieties and continental cuisines.

Overall, I had a good stay at this hotel and would recommend to travelers going to Haridwar. The rooms are average but clean - insist on daily cleaning if you are staying for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: I had taken the 2nd floor room but there is no lift so my mother had to face trouble climbing up &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed in Rahi Motel for 2 days in May 2013. The most important factor in choosing this govt undertaking hotel was the close proximity it to station, since we had to catch early morning train.
Rooms are very basic with old govt. style furniture and bathroom fittings. Staff was helpful.
We did not have food as other options like Gujarati & south Indian food was available near the Shiv Murti which is on the other side of the railway station and nearby. All the places of interest in Hardiwar are reachable with lots of cycle richshaws available all the time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I never expected any government enterprise to be as good as all GMVN hotels are. We did a 17 day long driving holiday in Uttaranchal and stayed at GMVN properties almost everywhere. Its a complete 'value for money' deal ... very very clean and huge spacious rooms / bathrooms. The food is very home made kinda food so good for the palate. The staff is courteous and welcoming too. One of the best things about GMVN properties is also their location - stunning locations everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Rooms are big but the bathrooms are in pathetic condition; unclean bedsheets which were not changed on the next day; even towels were not changed and one room had no bed sheets to use under the blankets. Limited menu in the restaurant but cheap. Typical govt. property with little service in a great location. Not at all value for the money. Do not book the four bedded room as it is very dirty with dampen walls and unclean bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have traveled extensively in India, as US Citizen female 55-60 traveling solo, that being said I am looking for convenience, safety & security, good food and friendly service, convenient locations and budget friendly accommodation, this GMVN Government tourist hotel is great in most all categories except the hotel maintenance is needed.. If you can look past that, the other components of the hotel make it worth your while, the highest rating goes for the location to bus and train and equally high was the cook in the kitchen will bend over backwards to fix you anything you want. they were exceptionally kind and trying very hard to do anything we wanted...(while this hotel is not a great as the Rishikesh GMVN at By pass road Bharat Bhoomi hotel, OR the GMVN Badrinath where I had the great good fortune to be stranded for 6 days doe to road wash outs and unseasonably late rains Sept 2010)..... the Haridwar cook more than makes up for other lacking areas. I have used double room and even once used the bunk room to rest for a few hours before train. they have carted my bags across the street by porter and arranged everything for me...I love India and my purpose is purely pilgrimage and spiritual..however getting things done and being happy and making others happy along the way is what my journies are all about. Jai India! Jai GMVN! Haridwar is marvelous I hope you enjoy your stay. my trip was in 2010 sept-november

Room Tip: if you have a small pillow and ear plugs just in case always while traveling you will be fine no mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Be careful, if you check in before 30 min of check in time 12.00 noon you may end up paying one day extra charge during check out. The Managers argue at everything. Probably he thinks that the hotel is his property. The attendants and waiters are good. But food is monotonous and dont expect variety. Hotel is situsted just opposite to the railway station. So communication is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This Hotel is just opposite to Haridwar Railway Station, to catch a early morning train or let getdown this is a good oprion.

A Garhwal nigam Hotel, co-operative staff and ten min. drive by auto to Har Ki Pedhi main Temple.

Food was nice. We stayed here on completion of our uttarakhand tour !!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gmvn Rahi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gmvn Rahi Motel

Address: Near Bus Stand, Haridwar 249401, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 76 Hotels in Haridwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gmvn Rahi Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.