We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean rooms,value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tulsi Chowk,Opp.Railway Station, | Shravan Nath Nagar, Haridwar 249401, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 76 Hotels in Haridwar
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“clean rooms,value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Rooms were clean, staff was always willing to listen and help-good value for money

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelHaridwar, Manager at Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

The team at Sun Hotels joins me in thanking you for your compliments.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we appreciate you sparing time and posting a motivating review on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely
Sun Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

"Not Bad" I'd say, rooms are clean and has everything you need but are very small, As soon as I entered the room, I asked myself, did I pay too much for this? Good thing is, it is close to the 'Har-ki-pauri; so you can take a rikshaw and reach there in 10 minutes, or u can choose to walk but road is a bit uphill... Bad thing is that it is in a very narrow street, a street where u'd not expect a big hotel but to ur suprise it comes all of a sudden, All in all, I had a nice stay but didn't find it value for money...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We (myself, wife and two kids 7 and 4) stayed at Sun hotel on 26th and 27th Nov. My first impression about the hotel wasn't great and i was like 'oh my god !'. However it changed within 5 minutes of check-in.

Few good things about the hotel,

1. Room service is quick and the food is good, bit oily if you are a weight watcher.

2. Rooms (we stayed in super deluxe) are spacious and have running hot water. Although you need to keep the tap open for 5 minutes befor you get hot water.

3. Best part is the proximity to important locations like Har-Ki-Pauri and local bazaars. You step out of hotel and you can hire a rickshaw / auto to anywhere you like.

Few not so good things,

1. Do not book Taxi's from the hotel, rates are very high. We were charged Rs. 1000/- for trip to rajaji national park, chila range. Guy turned up in an old ambassador !!

2. Staff, although helpful needs sensitivity training while talking to guests. They are a bit rough, however helpful.

3. Pillows are very hard, if you prefer soft pillows either request in advance OR carry your own.

Overall, i am happy with the place and would recommend it to anyone looking for a stay in haridwar.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

If you are in Haridwar staying near Har-Ki-Pauri is extremely important for you to attend all aarti's, Sun hotel is just few minutes of walking distance from Har-Ki-Pauri and hence we chose it, although the rates here are a bit on the higher side for what this place offers in terms of rooms etc, but its still a good and clean option to stay in Haridwar as compared to other similarly priced hotels around this place. Staff is OK, We did not eat here as there are many mouth watering eating joints around Ganga Ghat. Once more advantage of this hotel is its proximity to the Haridwar railway station. Would recommend this hotel for its price and proximity.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I visited Haridwar in the month of May with My husband & stayed in Sun Hotel , It is fantastic hotel with good location , Just a 10 min walk to Har - Ki - Paidi & 5 min walk to railway station , Rooms are good , Clean & spacious . Staff is very familier & proffessional . Food quality is very good. I personally reccommend to have an experience of best hotel in the city with affordable prices.

Nidhi
Senior Sales Coordinator
Kaashvi Industries (A JP Minda group Co.)
Pitampura , Delhi

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

we arrived in haridwar for the 2010 Kumbe Mela on 12 April 2010.
The room had been booked for 3 people (2 + 1 Extra bed). we had been promised that a guide would help us on arrival with our luggage at Haridwar. when we got there and called the hotel they said someone would be with us in 10 minutes. One hour later no one had come. When we called again we were told to try abd get there ourselves. When we finally got to the hotel our room was not ready. we had already paid 10500Rs per night for the room for 3 nights(normal rate is 2500Rs) after waiting for another half an hour we were given a partly done up room. the service was poor hotel was very dirty, management was very rude. It traspired that we could not help on the night of arrival in haridwar as preference was given to the white tourists and we were just ordinary Indians. I had also spoken to the staff on arrival and told them that I did not need an extra bed but on check out they still wanted to get the money for an extra bed that was never given to us in the first place. They also charged us ofr items that should have been complimentry.
I would never reccomend the hotel to anyone ever. some emmbaressed staff said that the hotel had paid money to other corrupt officails to get a star rating otherwise it is a just passable hotel. the lifts were not working for the duration of stay at this hotel and the light was continously being cut from this filtty hotel that reckons its got 4 stars????. If you want the worst experince you could imagine then be it on your head to book at this hell hole.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed for one night at the sun hotel not the cheapest,but could not fault them friendly helpful, good food in there restaurant,free late check out 2pm and a free ride to railway station.i would book direct with hotel next time ask for some discount

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel

Address: Tulsi Chowk,Opp.Railway Station, | Shravan Nath Nagar, Haridwar 249401, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 76 Hotels in Haridwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly built up (50 well appointed A.C rooms) four star category “SUN HOTEL” a group owned by Marvel Hotels & Builder Pvt. Ltd. Unveiled its debut at Haridwar (a place of holiday with God), which is in front of Railway station next to Hariki Pauri. Our Brand “Sun Hotels” is a group of growing chain of hotels of modern urban design, uploading is blend of business, pleasure & finest lifestyle experience for you, at our all centrally located hotels, a perfect place to be.A whole new experience of warmth & hospitality awaits you at Sun Hotel, a new finest hotel in heart of city. Check-in-today for a truly refreshing Sun Hotel experience.Sun Hotels are the keepers of the tradition. We believe in showering the best services to our guests. But this doesn’t stop us from introducing new and innovative services and facilities from time to time. We move with the technology and keep on introducing new service standards and latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.