We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Shimei Bay Tourism Area, Liji Town, Wanning 571529, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Wanning
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I don't think I've ever met such amazing staff anywhere globally. They are not just friendly - they are very caring. Little things such as when you casually asked about a dish in the restaurant, they would check in on your in 20 minutes later to see if you want to order them, etc etc etc. I personally think true hospitality is not just a smiley face but a smiley face with a heart and most of the staff I encountered le meridien could definitely live up to that standard.

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms face some construction sites - you'll be better off picking garden view or res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENSMBONLINE, Manager at Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa. It is our great honor to serve for you. We are glad to know that you like here. And we believe you had a wonderful time with us here. By following the brand standard of Le Méridien, We dedicated to delivering the personalized service to our guests according to their different needs. We truly hope our smiley face can light your day up. You are very welcome to come back for a vacation again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    80
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Had a two days short break with my mom in April. Like the layout of hotel and the pool design. Water temperature was pleasant. Our room facing the pool on second or third floor was a bit wet. However a dehumidifier was provided. I found the room a bit cold and asked for a radiator. Room service was effective and kind. Also tried the spa there which was average.
Would like to highlight the authentic restaurant which was amazing and reasonable priced - don't mean it's cheap but not overpriced in a resort hotel. My mom love the food there and we might have a day trip again and enjoy some food and drinks.
Breakfast was a bit busy but taste good. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENSMBONLINE, Manager at Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa. It is our great honor to serve for you. We are glad to know that you like here. And we believe that you had a wonderful time here. We dedicated to delivering the personalized service to our guests according to their different needs. Shimei Bay is located on the Southeast coast of Hainan Island. It is an environmentally sustainable tourism site.
You are very welcome to come back for a vacation again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

it is 5 star hotel,having a beautiful sea and beach,you can use the recreation Recreation facilities and swimming pool for free.and also have comfortble room and sweet service.besides,i very like the spa in that hotel,when you try it you will love it

Room Tip: when you cheak in at low season,you also can ask the front office to improve you rooms for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENSMBONLINE, Manager at Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for choosing Le Méridien Shiemei Bay Beach Resort & Spa. We are glad to see that you like here. And we truly believe that you got a wonderful holiday at here. Look forward to welcoming you again in Shimei Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The Le Meridien Shimei Bay is a nice hotel, but not really a five star (or 4.5 star) property, as it is quite comfortable and good quality but a little rough around the edges.

PROS:
- amazing beach, which extends for miles and is great for walking or running (though there was a big pile of rubbish at a fence directly next to the hotel section of the beach, clearly visible)
- lovely pools (both a lap pool and a pool for lounging around)
- nice beachfront restaurant with friendly wait staff
- good gym
- nice, big hotel rooms
- secluded location, with a generally quiet feel

CONS:
- breakfast was disappointing, with conventional western items either cold or of low quality. Even basic stuff like the toaster was not working properly. Breakfast was also often busy, but as a consequence, the staff seemed to struggle to replenish key items (orange juice, etc)
- rooms had mold in the bathrooms, and ACs you could not adjust
- construction on all sides of the hotel (though you could not hear this from the rooms or the main part of the hotel)

Overall, the hotel was very good, but not up to a five star (or 4.5 star) standard. It was nevertheless a lovely break and we would recommend this hotel, but just keep the above points in mind.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENSMBONLINE, Manager at Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thanks for choosing Le Méridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, it's our honor to serve and stay with you. We appreciate for your coments and suggestions which will definitely lead us to better and better. The constructions around hotel will be coming to end soon and we are confident that you can enjoy the fabulous surroundings and vacation environment then.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at Shimei Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I visited the resort on December 11th 2012 (for 2 nights) and my journey began from Singapore to Guangzhou (approx 4 hours flight), had a transit in Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport for 2 hours, a continuos 1 and a half hours domestic flight from Guangzhou to Sanya and lastly, a dreadful almost 2 hours’ drive from Sanya airport to the Hotel! Very Tiring... But Checking-in was a Breeze..and it was definitely worth the journey upon entering the premier discovery pool room.. Huge & a Beautiful private pool at the balcony.. I especially love the bathroom! Marble flooring, spacious bath tub & shower! They also had a very long list of comprehensive local & international TV channels which was definitely a plus point since i was travelling alone! That night, i had a very long deep sleep on the thick & luscious bedsheets and comforter..
Breakfast was a wide spread of Asian and Western style meals at the Breakers restaurant & Lunch was absolutely amazing at the Ai Mei Chinese restaurant (I love the authentic Hainan cuisine).. The Horizon pool deck where guests will hang out drinking cocktail overlooks the beach and the small jiajing island.. Breath taking view..(weather was unfortunately not on my side, if not i would have gone to do watersports - khayaking & scuba diving at the island!)..
Getting around the resort from the lobby to the spa requires a buggy (The resort's compound is just too huge!).. the spa is located at a seperate building on its own, staffs were polite, professional and friendly.. Lucky me, I got onto the hands of a very good masseuse.. The entire spa experience was truly relaxing!
Overall, a very good resort to visit, (but travelling time for me was just too long-winded and rather tiring, and getting to the local town (which has nothing much) is another long journey) The only attraction that i went to was the Monkey Island and had to take an open-air cable car ride to get by.. Pretty much enjoyed myself there eventhough it was a quick visit.

Room Tip: Choose the Premier Discovery pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENSMBONLINE, Manager at Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing Le Méridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa! It's our pleasure to stay with you. From your reviews we can see that you are really enjoy the resort life here.

Look forward to welcoming you soon at Shimei Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful oceanfront resort in October for six days and we had a wonderful time. The staff couldn't have been nicer, especially Jeremy Ho, the manager who treated us like old friends and really made us feel welcome. The food in all the restaurants was delicious, and the pool is amazing - 40 meters long with a beautiful view of the ocean. If you like taking long walks along beautiful and mostly deserted beaches while staying in a five star resort, this is the place for you. The only gripe I have, and the reason I don't give the resort a five star rating, is that the hotel doesn't permit anyone to swim in the ocean, even when the waves are small and the current mild. This was extremely disappointing because the water temp is perfect, and the ocean floor smooth and sandy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENSMBONLINE, Manager at Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear reviewers,

Many thanks for choosing Le Méridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, it's our honor to staying with you. Also we are very gald to hear that you enjoyed staying here and highly encouraged by your comments. Due to the underwater condition current is strong and we don't recommend our guests to swim in the sea, meanwhile we have one ocean view swimming pool, one lagoon pool and private pools for some rooms, hope you can enjoy it.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at Shimei Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was our first time to visit Hainan,we stayed at The Royal Begonia Sanya for the first two nights,and then we moved to Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa.The Royal Begonia Sanya was amazing and we loved to stay longer,but a few years ago my hubby's friend told us that Le Meridien Shimei Bay was fantastic,so we had a high expectation on this resort and wanted to stay here for a few days.

The resort is far away from downtown,it provides the free shuttle service from Sanya Phoenix International Airport to the resort.When we arrived,a band was singing at the entrance of the resort,we were greeted by a warm welcome,the staff put the necklaces around our necks and gave us the welcome drinks.That was so sweet!

After check-in,the staff led us to the room and showed us around the room.The room with private balcony was nice,roomy,clean and comfortable,it looked like Japanese style.

The resort was terrific,the lobby was gorgeous,morden and chic.Just like other Le Meridien,there were some works of art in the lobby.In the afternoon and evening,a band would sing in the lobby.They sang very well,we loved to sit in the lobby and enjoy their music after dinner,what a wonderful evening!

There were two outdoor pools---Horizon Pool and Lagoon Pool.In the Horizon Pool,there were some small heated Jacuzzis surrounding the large pool,they were very comfortable.There was a "small pool" at the end of Horizon Pool,we could enjoy the wonderful seaview from this "pool",we thought it should be an unheated Jacuzzi,but it was not working,so we asked the pool staff if that was a Jacuzzi,they said it was the pool for children(-_-!!!)Just now,I checked their official website of this resort,it mentions that a large Jacuzzi is set at one end of Horizon Pool,I don't know why the staff said that was a pool for children,so weird!The Lagoon Pool was very large and beautiful,there were some Jacuzzis,but they were closed as well,that made us feel a little bit disappointed,although there were few people in the pool,as a upscale hotel,they should keep the normal service running.

The private beach with a very long coastline was stunning,the seaview was fabulous,the sea was clean and blue!Because the beach was pretty large,it took a few minutes from the resort to the sea,well,sometimes we thought that we were walking in the desert.(-_-!!!)The sand was fine,it was pretty comfortable when we walked barefoot on the beach!

The resort provides some complimentary activities,such as bicycle.When you check in,they will give you a card which lists the complimentary activities.

During our stay,we went to their Ai Mei Chinese Restaurant for dinner two nights in a row,all the dishes were tasty,most of them were well priced.The service was very good,especially the beautiful tall lady who served us on 19Sep2012.

Like other Le Meridien,there was a complimentary coffee coupon in room,so we enjoyed the illy coffee in Latitude 18 Lobby Lounge on the second day.After we checked out,we spent our time in Latitude 18,we ordered their set of afternoon tea,it cost only RMB78 per set,as a upscale hotel,it was inexpensive and it was really delicious.We also ordered the cocktail——Yao Tai,it was nice!

Overall,the service of the resort was good,most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

During our stay,we felt great,we love this resort!There is no doubt that we will come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENSMBONLINE, Manager at Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Ms. Penelope

Thanks for taking your time to give us a great feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Le Méridien Shimei Bay!
Comments like your’s will definitely help us improve our product and services.
Your concerns have been forward to our management team and we will take the necessary steps to satisfy our valued guests even further.

Hope to welcome you back to our Resort in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Shimei Bay Tourism Area, Liji Town, Wanning 571529, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Wanning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Wanning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Hotel Wanning
Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Wanning
Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa Hainan, China - Wanning

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.