We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult reservation, perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe

Save Saved
You added Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe
Paje, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Paje
Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Difficult reservation, perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

At the beginning we had big problems: we made a reservation directly on the hotel web sites half a year in advance. We gave our credit card details and on the next day our credit card was charged the exact amount of money. From this moment the problems started. Mrs. Daniela D´Annunzio from Ora Hoteles Group repeatedly sent us emails that our card is not valid and demanded another credit card (of course our credit card WAS valid and WAS already charged). After 3 months of sending emails and even phone calls to Ora Hoteles Group in Italy without any success we decided to send final email explaining this situation and we attached a copy of our bank account statement with the payment. We sent this to all email addresses related to Ora Hoteles Group we found. After this Mrs. D´Annunzio replied "Your reservation is confirmed". There was not even a word of appology. Two days before our arrival to Hakuna Majiwe we were contacted by Ora Hoteles Group with the information that we will be "upgraded" to My Blue Ora Resort in Nungwi. We spent half a day rearranging our program in Zanzibar because of this unexpected change. On the last evening before our arrival we were contacted again with the information that accomodation in Hakuna Majiwe is possible... We arrived to Paje on the next day and since that time everything was perfect. The general manager of the hotel Mr.John does a perfect job. He took a wonderful care of us and so did the rest of the staff. The hotel is beautiful, the food was perfect, the pool is great, the beach is excellent. Nothing was a problem. On the last day there was a Masai show after dinner and Johny even printed the program for us in our language! Finally we were very satisfied and we would love to spend our holiday in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    118
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
39
231
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were 2 nights at the Hakuna Majiwe and had a lot of fun. The beach is lovely and you can walk safely to both ways and see the Paje side (north) and Jambiani side. Each room has a great hammock and sofa on the balcony which we used extensively.
The hotel provides 3 generous meals that were very good Italian style. Jhonny is the owner and a live spirit in the place. He brings good energy and warm hospitality that can be also felt from the entire crew.
We strongly recommend.
Shai & Yael

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Pros:

- Very friendly local staff
- beautiful, clean and wide beach
- tides make for some amazing color changes of the sea throughout the day
- pretty resort made with local material
- pretty grounds with nice vegetation
- good location away from the maddening crowd but still within a pleasant stroll to the village of Paje.
- mostly ideal for couples or families/people looking for a relaxing environment. There is no all-inclusive resort-style entertainment.
- large rooms with lovely private patio looking towads the sea and comfortable hammock
- barefoot resort with silky white sand
- good security
- clean
- The resort faces east so no idyllic sunsets but you can catch the sunrise if you are a morning person
- free wifi


Room for improvements:

Food is average. Edible but nothing to write home about apart from a couple of nights when they made some seafood and one theme night when they provided a selection of local dishes to try out.
Breakfast selection was rather poor. They could be a bit more creative with the ingredients (for example the pastries were dry and all the same; just different shapes!)
Overall I found the food a bit disappointing. Everything else was lovely.

Room Tip: I had a room at the far end from the reception however I think that all rooms are similar and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The service, location etc is absolutely great. The beach is clean (and that is not everywhere in Zanzibar). The bedrooms are nice and enough space for clothes etc. The food is mainly Italian, there might be more variation in the food. Sometimes nice dance0acts during dinner. We had a great time!

Room Tip: All rooms are situated the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived as a family of four (2 adults 2 children) having booked and paid in full 6 months earlier only to be told there was no room for us and fobbed off with an excuse about a 'technical' problem. We specifically chose Paje for kite-surfing and a beach bungalow holiday but were told the only option available to us was an 'upgrade' to MyBlue Ora in Nungwi. We explained this was not a suitable alternative and waited while supposedly the management tried to find a solution...We were offered lunch - which was the saddest buffet we'd seen during our 2 weeks in Tanzania. Very poor offering of fruit - which is plentiful in Tanzania.Thank goodness we didn't have to eat there again! The toilets were scruffy and not very clean. Didn't get to see a room so can't say what they were like inside. The pool was badly maintained. After four hours of waiting in the lobby we accepted to have a look at this 'upgrade' alternative (we needed to sleep somewhere!). We arrived after a total of 5 hours driving (to Paje and then to Nungwi). Needless to say the 'upgrade' was anything but, but that's a different review! This is an Italian chain catering for cheap Italian package tours. If you go to Zanzibar there are many other better places to stay. I would strongly disuade anyone from going to Ora Resorts. The beach at Paje however is wonderful. Unfortunately, we never got to do the kite-surfing we had planned to do. We have since been told that this type of treatment happens frequently at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OraHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear customer has written a review without being a guest in our house, how to write as the service without actually trying it.
You must not publish reviews of alleged holiday stays.
Thanks anyway.
best regards

Alessandro Zanetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Hakuna Majiwe for our last vacation night after a very unfortunate experience in Coral Rock Hotel just down the coast in Jambiani. Right from our arrival General Manager Giovanni made sure that we inmediately felt at home, that we regained the Zanzibar traquility feeling and that we could relax to the fullest extent. The rooms were very clean and spacious. An example of the attention to detail that this hotel has is shown in the excellent turn down service at night (sheets are pulled back on the bed, muscito nets are put down). The italian food was superb and the massages were excellent. All staff are very friendly and extremely service oriented. Only compliments for this hotel and we hope they keep up the good service!

Room Tip: We had a bungalow close to the swimming pool, but if you have the chance you can also get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

If paradise on earth exists, this places comes really close! Wake up and fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing against the reef. Take off your shoes as soon as you arrive and forget about them till you leave. Masai staff are welcoming and friendly. White sand, turquoise waters. Personal bungalows with private terrace and "magical" hammock. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Room Number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#3 of 6 in Paje
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Paje by Night Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Arabian Nights Hotel
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 141 in Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 10 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe

Address: Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Paje
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe Hotel Paje
Hakuna Majiwe Hotel
Hakuna Majiwe Paje
Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe Zanzibar/Paje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.