We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult reservation, perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hakuna Majiwe Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hakuna Majiwe Lodge to your Saves list
Hakuna Majiwe Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paje Beach | South-East Cost, Paje, Tanzania (Formerly Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Difficult reservation, perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

At the beginning we had big problems: we made a reservation directly on the hotel web sites half a year in advance. We gave our credit card details and on the next day our credit card was charged the exact amount of money. From this moment the problems started. Mrs. Daniela D´Annunzio from Ora Hoteles Group repeatedly sent us emails that our card is not valid and demanded another credit card (of course our credit card WAS valid and WAS already charged). After 3 months of sending emails and even phone calls to Ora Hoteles Group in Italy without any success we decided to send final email explaining this situation and we attached a copy of our bank account statement with the payment. We sent this to all email addresses related to Ora Hoteles Group we found. After this Mrs. D´Annunzio replied "Your reservation is confirmed". There was not even a word of appology. Two days before our arrival to Hakuna Majiwe we were contacted by Ora Hoteles Group with the information that we will be "upgraded" to My Blue Ora Resort in Nungwi. We spent half a day rearranging our program in Zanzibar because of this unexpected change. On the last evening before our arrival we were contacted again with the information that accomodation in Hakuna Majiwe is possible... We arrived to Paje on the next day and since that time everything was perfect. The general manager of the hotel Mr.John does a perfect job. He took a wonderful care of us and so did the rest of the staff. The hotel is beautiful, the food was perfect, the pool is great, the beach is excellent. Nothing was a problem. On the last day there was a Masai show after dinner and Johny even printed the program for us in our language! Finally we were very satisfied and we would love to spend our holiday in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    131
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
46
251
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were 2 nights at the Hakuna Majiwe and had a lot of fun. The beach is lovely and you can walk safely to both ways and see the Paje side (north) and Jambiani side. Each room has a great hammock and sofa on the balcony which we used extensively.
The hotel provides 3 generous meals that were very good Italian style. Jhonny is the owner and a live spirit in the place. He brings good energy and warm hospitality that can be also felt from the entire crew.
We strongly recommend.
Shai & Yael

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Pros:

- Very friendly local staff
- beautiful, clean and wide beach
- tides make for some amazing color changes of the sea throughout the day
- pretty resort made with local material
- pretty grounds with nice vegetation
- good location away from the maddening crowd but still within a pleasant stroll to the village of Paje.
- mostly ideal for couples or families/people looking for a relaxing environment. There is no all-inclusive resort-style entertainment.
- large rooms with lovely private patio looking towads the sea and comfortable hammock
- barefoot resort with silky white sand
- good security
- clean
- The resort faces east so no idyllic sunsets but you can catch the sunrise if you are a morning person
- free wifi


Room for improvements:

Food is average. Edible but nothing to write home about apart from a couple of nights when they made some seafood and one theme night when they provided a selection of local dishes to try out.
Breakfast selection was rather poor. They could be a bit more creative with the ingredients (for example the pastries were dry and all the same; just different shapes!)
Overall I found the food a bit disappointing. Everything else was lovely.

Room Tip: I had a room at the far end from the reception however I think that all rooms are similar and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The service, location etc is absolutely great. The beach is clean (and that is not everywhere in Zanzibar). The bedrooms are nice and enough space for clothes etc. The food is mainly Italian, there might be more variation in the food. Sometimes nice dance0acts during dinner. We had a great time!

Room Tip: All rooms are situated the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived as a family of four (2 adults 2 children) having booked and paid in full 6 months earlier only to be told there was no room for us and fobbed off with an excuse about a 'technical' problem. We specifically chose Paje for kite-surfing and a beach bungalow holiday but were told the only option available to us was an 'upgrade' to MyBlue Ora in Nungwi. We explained this was not a suitable alternative and waited while supposedly the management tried to find a solution...We were offered lunch - which was the saddest buffet we'd seen during our 2 weeks in Tanzania. Very poor offering of fruit - which is plentiful in Tanzania.Thank goodness we didn't have to eat there again! The toilets were scruffy and not very clean. Didn't get to see a room so can't say what they were like inside. The pool was badly maintained. After four hours of waiting in the lobby we accepted to have a look at this 'upgrade' alternative (we needed to sleep somewhere!). We arrived after a total of 5 hours driving (to Paje and then to Nungwi). Needless to say the 'upgrade' was anything but, but that's a different review! This is an Italian chain catering for cheap Italian package tours. If you go to Zanzibar there are many other better places to stay. I would strongly disuade anyone from going to Ora Resorts. The beach at Paje however is wonderful. Unfortunately, we never got to do the kite-surfing we had planned to do. We have since been told that this type of treatment happens frequently at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OraHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hakuna Majiwe Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear customer has written a review without being a guest in our house, how to write as the service without actually trying it.
You must not publish reviews of alleged holiday stays.
Thanks anyway.
best regards

Alessandro Zanetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Hakuna Majiwe for our last vacation night after a very unfortunate experience in Coral Rock Hotel just down the coast in Jambiani. Right from our arrival General Manager Giovanni made sure that we inmediately felt at home, that we regained the Zanzibar traquility feeling and that we could relax to the fullest extent. The rooms were very clean and spacious. An example of the attention to detail that this hotel has is shown in the excellent turn down service at night (sheets are pulled back on the bed, muscito nets are put down). The italian food was superb and the massages were excellent. All staff are very friendly and extremely service oriented. Only compliments for this hotel and we hope they keep up the good service!

Room Tip: We had a bungalow close to the swimming pool, but if you have the chance you can also get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

If paradise on earth exists, this places comes really close! Wake up and fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing against the reef. Take off your shoes as soon as you arrive and forget about them till you leave. Masai staff are welcoming and friendly. White sand, turquoise waters. Personal bungalows with private terrace and "magical" hammock. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Room Number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
25.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paje by Night Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#5 of 7 in Paje
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
28.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 145 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
41.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuna Majiwe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuna Majiwe Lodge

Address: Paje Beach | South-East Cost, Paje, Tanzania (Formerly Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hakuna Majiwe Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overview The Hakuna Majiwe Lodge is a beautiful resort located in Paje, on the South East coast of Zanzibar. 'Hakuna Majiwe', means 'place without stones'. As individual as its name, this beach hotel has a special atmosphere, being different to other hotels. Set on a fabulous 6 kilometers white-sand palm-fringed and desert beach, cooled by the ocean breeze, it is the perfect gateway to an exotic African paradise. Accommodation The hotel consists of 20 rooms in beach bungalows, facing the ocean. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms with hot water, wardrobe, double or twin beds with mosquito nets, ceiling fans and a spacious veranda. All rooms are big enough for extra beds and perfect for families. The rooms have all been individually designed to offer style, comfort and personality. Facilities The restaurant, facing the ocean, is situated under a large thatched roof which also houses the lounge and bar. Cuisine is a blend of Italian and African food. Meals are varied and generous with fresh fruits and vegetables sourced locally, a large choice of pasta, meat, fish and other seafood. The Bar is well stocked with beers, a wide selection of South African wines, cold drinks and cocktail ingredients. It serves cocktails throughout the day, in the evening offers a relaxed atmosphere for before and after dinner drinks. The perfect location for the aperitif is the delightful open-air palafitta built directly on the beach, touched by the sea, with superb views. You can lounge on sofas and enjoy cocktails or tea while admiring the horizon or the dazzling beauty of the night sky. Hukuna Majiwe houses a large fresh water swimming pool, massage corner, and boutique. In addition the hotel offers bicycle hire - a perfect way to explore the island. Environment and local community Hakuna Majiwe has an outstanding attitude towards the local community in Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hakuna Majiwe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe Hotel Paje
Hakuna Majiwe Hotel
Hakuna Majiwe Paje
Hakuna Majiwe Lodge Zanzibar Island/Paje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakuna Majiwe Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.