We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having a GREAT time with GREAT services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe

Save Saved
You added Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe
Paje, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paje
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Having a GREAT time with GREAT services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The service, location etc is absolutely great. The beach is clean (and that is not everywhere in Zanzibar). The bedrooms are nice and enough space for clothes etc. The food is mainly Italian, there might be more variation in the food. Sometimes nice dance0acts during dinner. We had a great time!

Room Tip: All rooms are situated the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    122
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
40
236
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived as a family of four (2 adults 2 children) having booked and paid in full 6 months earlier only to be told there was no room for us and fobbed off with an excuse about a 'technical' problem. We specifically chose Paje for kite-surfing and a beach bungalow holiday but were told the only option available to us was an 'upgrade' to MyBlue Ora in Nungwi. We explained this was not a suitable alternative and waited while supposedly the management tried to find a solution...We were offered lunch - which was the saddest buffet we'd seen during our 2 weeks in Tanzania. Very poor offering of fruit - which is plentiful in Tanzania.Thank goodness we didn't have to eat there again! The toilets were scruffy and not very clean. Didn't get to see a room so can't say what they were like inside. The pool was badly maintained. After four hours of waiting in the lobby we accepted to have a look at this 'upgrade' alternative (we needed to sleep somewhere!). We arrived after a total of 5 hours driving (to Paje and then to Nungwi). Needless to say the 'upgrade' was anything but, but that's a different review! This is an Italian chain catering for cheap Italian package tours. If you go to Zanzibar there are many other better places to stay. I would strongly disuade anyone from going to Ora Resorts. The beach at Paje however is wonderful. Unfortunately, we never got to do the kite-surfing we had planned to do. We have since been told that this type of treatment happens frequently at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OraHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear customer has written a review without being a guest in our house, how to write as the service without actually trying it.
You must not publish reviews of alleged holiday stays.
Thanks anyway.
best regards

Alessandro Zanetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Hakuna Majiwe for our last vacation night after a very unfortunate experience in Coral Rock Hotel just down the coast in Jambiani. Right from our arrival General Manager Giovanni made sure that we inmediately felt at home, that we regained the Zanzibar traquility feeling and that we could relax to the fullest extent. The rooms were very clean and spacious. An example of the attention to detail that this hotel has is shown in the excellent turn down service at night (sheets are pulled back on the bed, muscito nets are put down). The italian food was superb and the massages were excellent. All staff are very friendly and extremely service oriented. Only compliments for this hotel and we hope they keep up the good service!

Room Tip: We had a bungalow close to the swimming pool, but if you have the chance you can also get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

If paradise on earth exists, this places comes really close! Wake up and fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing against the reef. Take off your shoes as soon as you arrive and forget about them till you leave. Masai staff are welcoming and friendly. White sand, turquoise waters. Personal bungalows with private terrace and "magical" hammock. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Room Number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Jonny, Claudia and the team were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We arrived very late at night due to a flight delay and were greeted with a drink and a smile.
I took my shoes off there and then and didn’t put them back on until we left 7 days later.
The staff were SO NICE!!
The main lodge is lovely, wooden floors and comfortable seating. All open plan which means you get a nice breeze and can hide from the sun without missing out on the view.
The rooms are sizable and clean. There isn’t air conditioning which would really fit here. There is a fan and the windows don’t have glass just mozzy screens so again you get a breeze. The beds were fine for me. I did request another couple of pillows which arrived a few mins later.
We were all inclusive and my only complaint here was the quality of the food was very good and my husband finds it hare to refuse something for ‘free’ so came home a bit heavier than he arrived.
Breakfast was fresh fruit and eggs of your choice with toast. I didn’t like the coffee instead went for the hot chocolate. Lunch and dinner had two/three choices for each of the 4 courses. Yes, these Italians know how to eat!
There was a huge mix of nationalities when we were there; French, British, Irish, Danish, Dutch and Spanish.
The beach was yards from the lodge and rooms and you felt secluded which was nice. There were small trees and bushes between you and the beach. The beach was magical. Very few ‘beach boys’ but the ones we met were pleasant. The area is great for kite surfing and there are several places up the beach.
Can we go back now please?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Overall we had a good holiday here but only because we checked out trip advisor and realised that dinner at the hotel would be poor. So we went B & B and ate at the guest house next door where the Swahili food is excellent. We had one evening meal at the hotel but the food was expensive and very disappointing.
The beach was amazing especially at high tide, and breakfast was good at the hotel. Room cleanliness was good. Watch out for the cost of trips where the hotel seems to add on a high commission - but you can barter with them!
If you want a very quiet and chill out break then this beach is for you but
the hotel really needs to get it's act together on food quality in the evening.
Check out the young artist - Max behind the bar.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

I am afraid that I simply can't advise anyone to go to this resort. There were some good things about it but the overall experience was desperately disappointing. My family and I were having a very special holiday and Hakuna Majiwe was to be its culmination. After a magical vist to Saadani Game Lodge on mainland Tanzania and then a memorable visit to Hakuna Matata on the west coast of Tanzania, we headed to Hakuna Majiwe. The only reason our stay there did not completely ruin our holiday is that we did not let it - we had too many wonderful memories from the preceding ten-or-so days.
Nothing hideous happened - unless you count having cash stolen from the hotel's 'safe' deposit boxes and a couple of bouts of diarrhoea (and I don't count those as hideous, just stuff you have to deal with on holiday) - but it was the overwhelming feeling of a resort without character, direction or ambition that did my head in. We all enjoyed the swimming pool - the best by far we saw on this trip; the rooms were immensely stylish - presumably the legacy of the original owner who, we were told, was 'an Italian fashionista' (whatever that is); and we had a great snorkling expedition with Alex - although the turbid waters were some way short of the turquoise perfection that Zanzibar sells itself on. Maybe during the Italian fashionista's day Hakuma Majiwe lived up to its potential and was the first choice of leathery Italian jet-setting euro-trash of a sub-Flavio Briattore type, but now it is just lost. Most people seem to only stay a couple of nights and so can't be bothered to complain and the complacent hotel management seem to have exploited this. The food was laughably bad. I am a million miles away from being a food snob, but when the diners do not know whether they have been served fish or chicken, and the waiters do not know, and the only way the fish or fowl debate can be resolved is by a return to the kitchen for a quick post-mortem, you know something is wrong. Two meals we had were bland mush, two were inedible. When I spoke quietly to the manager after our second bad dinner, he fobbed me off. When I spoke to him - less quietly - after our fourth bad dinner he would have fobbed me off again but by then the other guests had shared their bad-food experiences with us and came and shared them with the manager. One of our co-complainers was a well-heeled, well-travelled American woman who had stayed at Majiwe the previous year and so could not only compare Majiwe with other, similarly priced hotels but also with itself. The decline in a year had been extraordinary, she said, and there was no comparison with the other, swanky, hotels she visited. I can cope with bad food, but not when I am paying a lot of money for it. We eventually decided to cut our losses and ate next door, at an understated guest house run by Dina, a South African (see wanderluste's review). The food cost significantly less than Majiwe's and was invariably delicious. The atmosphere was relaxed, friendly and unpretentious, unlike Majiwe's glum characterlessness. We were compensated for the money that was stolen (which I did not expect or ask for - and new combination-lock safes were being bought after our loss, so that problem, at least, will be solved) and we were given a free lunch (good) and our bar bill was torn up (but as we only drank water and soft drinks this was not significant). In other words, we were fobbed off again, but by that time I realized that I was talking to a manager who was irredeemably complacent and that it wasn't worth the aggrevation. He asked us to eat our final dinner in his restaurant which we rather reluctantly did and were rewarded with delicious Swahili food - and a bout of diarrhoea. So appropriate. In conclusion: Atmosphere: nil, could be anywhere. Food:dire. Only even think about going to Majiwe if there is a complete change in management and you read about six months worth's of good reviews.

  • Liked — Stylish rooms
  • Disliked — No sense of character
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe

Address: Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paje
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe Hotel Paje
Hakuna Majiwe Hotel
Hakuna Majiwe Paje
Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe Zanzibar/Paje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ora Resort Hakuna Majiwe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.