We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Paje by Night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paje by Night Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paje by Night Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paje by Night Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paje by Night Street, Paje, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Paje
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Loved Paje by Night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent a night at Paje by Night and loved it! Wished I had spent more time as it was a really nice, fun and comfortable place to stay. The staff were very friendly and relaxed. The pool was nice and the overall atmosphere was great. I'd love to go back and learn how to Kitesurf!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    20
    19
    25
See reviews for
17
100
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

GREAT PARTIES, GOOD COCKTAILS & FOOD, CLEAN ROOM, SO CLOSE TO THA KITE SPOT (with beach boys & a shop)
IT WAS A GREAT TIME HERE, Marco, the owner is LEGENDARY !
the staff is SO nice, SO helpfull and smiling, they make you feeling good from the breakfast till the night !
Everything was perfect for me, really.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

First, the place is really neat with nice bungalows and relaxed restaurant and pool.

The staff is the problem. They seem to be pretty bored and everything works only if it's exactly according to their routines. As soon as anything goes beyond that, your bound for problems. They are in no way service minded.

We had to check out very early in order to get to the ferry in time. The night before we inquired if it was possible to get breakfast a little bit earlier than usual. No problem said the italian manager.

The next morning we could not even check out, not to mention the impossibility to get even a sandwich before the sceduled breakfast start. The staff could not take our payment but had to wait for the manager and in no way could they fix anything to eat for us, not even a fruit.

It was just thanks to extremely helpful staff at the ferry company we made it aboard the trip back to the mainland.

To bad since the place itself is neat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajebynightzanzibar, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hey pwillen,

thank you so much for your review.

So happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation, restaurant and our 24/7pool.
But unhappy to hear that you had some issues when it came to checkout.

Life is a journey and we were lucky to offer you a little holiday-trip on our boat. Our ship is not perfect, and sometimes we have troubles on board, but we constantly look to improve.
As your review shows, you also experienced helpfulness by our staff. But we are sorry for the occasional matter.
Our crew is strongest asset, hired based on their ability to smile and passion to serve. I know that it would never be their intention to upset a guest and I am extremely sorry that you were made to feel the way you did. I shared your comments with the team and we are all genuinely disappointed but determined to prevent such an occurrence from happening again. Since you left, we have implemented a plan to have at least one person from the management available for checkouts. Be sure we address such issues to prevent from happening again in the future - maybe for another visit for you...

All the best and thanks again!
/nadja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raunheim, Hessen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

First time in Zanzibar. I must say, I picked the right place. At the hotel, my room was nice...air conditioning, very comfortable bed, clean linens. The managers, the waiters, the bartenders, even the cleaners, were all so kind and helpful. My only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer

I couldn't ask for a better staff at the the Kite center. Never any attitude or arrogance. Always warm and friendly. It makes a huge difference when you're a Kiting beginner, traveling alone and haven't found a good comfort level yet.

The place attracts a young crowd, but there were also several families, and a few middle aged people like myself. Not once did I feel out of place though. It felt like one big happy family and they made me feel part of it. Habiba, Annamaria, Brad, Shane and all the rest, thank you for a wonderful stay. Marco, you're the best!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed there one night. Loved the atmosphere, even if the place was full of sweet youngsters who "owned the world". I have been that young and cool myself one time. But not anymore. Would not go there with my family, but loved the location, close to the beach. And the staff are great. Its an easy place and very good food.

Room Tip: try to find one with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in Paje by Night for 7 days over the New Years holidays and we highly recommend it. The bunglows are a perfect size and have very simple facilities inside, but you dont need anything else. Each room has a fan or A/C, which you can opt for, paying alittle more. We had a fanned room and it was fine for us. The breakfast is filling and tasty, as well as all the food there. We reccommend to try a new dish everynight as the variety is amazing. Cocktails are great and the alcohol is not measured...so they can be pretty strong. The rooms are cleaned everyday and there are hammacks, sofas and beds for you to sleep on. The hotel organises events during the holidays and weattend the Glitter Party!!! which was fab. The staff are nice and friendly and will help you with your needs. The general manager Anna Maria is excellent and will accomodate your needs. General service is slow here, but that is Zanzibar culture...polepole and everything is worth waiting for!!! The hotel is not the cheapest, but if you get half board you get breakfast and lunch/dinner included and that is something worth getting.You can find the hotel on facebook under Paje by Night. We met alot of foreigners here too and it is a very freidnly atmosphere and a holiday for everyone. There is a small pool but 2 mins walk takes you to the breathtaking white sand beach and this is why the hotel is in such a great location.The tide comes in and out, so great for walking! Then of course you have Paje by Kite where you can rent kites as well as book lessons. The wind is perfect, but check for the windy seasons (January, June and July) and remember the tide takes 5 hours to come in again. If you are not a kiter, I recommend the day tours, Safari Blue, Spice tour and swimming with dolphons!!! All worth every penny. You can book the tours through the hotel, but we actually booked through tour guides on the beach. They are local people who hire out boats and buses and cars to take you on an amazing and memorable tour. You should ask for Giacomo or Andriano who will accomodate you with all your needs and requirements. They are great guides and people who speak many languages!!! Please remember that this country is poor and the local people there would appreciate anything you can give them. They work very hard and are paid very little. They are extremly gentle, helpful and are always smiling. My advice is to bring things that you don't use anymore for example, pens and paper for the children to use while attending schools, old sunglasses, t.shirts, hats, shoes etc. I know it can be a pain to carry things in your luggage but think of the reward you will give them. Another advice is to remember about the airport visa and tax. To enter the country, the visa application is $50, which you can pay on arrival and when you leave the airport you have to pay tax of a total $46 all prices are subject to change, so remember to save some money when you leave. The airport is extremly small and facilities are limited so be patient.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are in a great location, you just need to decide whether you would like a/c or a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here on couple of occasions on october 2012. Even though we more prefer backpacker style places we felt there were some really nice things about this hotel and it was quite worth the price as Zanzibar isn't the cheapest island. We payed 75usd/night for double.

Pros
- Well decorated stylish place including rooms
- Good food at the restaurant
- Well working WiFi at the restaurant
- Really nice pool area
- Really nice garden area

Cons
- Restaurant staff seemed sometimes very lazy
- Bees at the breakfast table. Every morning our breakfast was ruined by an attack of the bees. We told the restaurant staff about this many times. They can't seem to do anything about this.
- Package tourists? A lot of families and people who just stare their iPads 90% of the time. well not the hotels fault, but sometimes we felt the atmosphere is not right for a perfect beach destination... Maybe they should make the wifi work not so well :)

All and all, the pros overcome to cons and we would definedly stay here again if visiting Paje.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paje by Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paje by Night Hotel

Address: Paje by Night Street, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paje by Night Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paje by Night is not just a resort but also a lifestyle. So many guests dream about us when they leave....until their return visit...it has been shaped by us from our hearts and it represents our desire to be free, unconditioned, barefoot, in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled tropical beaches of the east coast of Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Paje by Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje By Night Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paje by Night Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.