We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paje by Night Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Paje by Night Hotel to your Saves list
Paje by Night Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paje by Night Street, Paje, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paje
Trondheim
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed there one night. Loved the atmosphere, even if the place was full of sweet youngsters who "owned the world". I have been that young and cool myself one time. But not anymore. Would not go there with my family, but loved the location, close to the beach. And the staff are great. Its an easy place and very good food.

Room Tip: try to find one with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    63
    21
    21
    26
See reviews for
18
110
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in Paje by Night for 7 days over the New Years holidays and we highly recommend it. The bunglows are a perfect size and have very simple facilities inside, but you dont need anything else. Each room has a fan or A/C, which you can opt for, paying alittle more. We had a fanned room and it was fine for us. The breakfast is filling and tasty, as well as all the food there. We reccommend to try a new dish everynight as the variety is amazing. Cocktails are great and the alcohol is not measured...so they can be pretty strong. The rooms are cleaned everyday and there are hammacks, sofas and beds for you to sleep on. The hotel organises events during the holidays and weattend the Glitter Party!!! which was fab. The staff are nice and friendly and will help you with your needs. The general manager Anna Maria is excellent and will accomodate your needs. General service is slow here, but that is Zanzibar culture...polepole and everything is worth waiting for!!! The hotel is not the cheapest, but if you get half board you get breakfast and lunch/dinner included and that is something worth getting.You can find the hotel on facebook under Paje by Night. We met alot of foreigners here too and it is a very freidnly atmosphere and a holiday for everyone. There is a small pool but 2 mins walk takes you to the breathtaking white sand beach and this is why the hotel is in such a great location.The tide comes in and out, so great for walking! Then of course you have Paje by Kite where you can rent kites as well as book lessons. The wind is perfect, but check for the windy seasons (January, June and July) and remember the tide takes 5 hours to come in again. If you are not a kiter, I recommend the day tours, Safari Blue, Spice tour and swimming with dolphons!!! All worth every penny. You can book the tours through the hotel, but we actually booked through tour guides on the beach. They are local people who hire out boats and buses and cars to take you on an amazing and memorable tour. You should ask for Giacomo or Andriano who will accomodate you with all your needs and requirements. They are great guides and people who speak many languages!!! Please remember that this country is poor and the local people there would appreciate anything you can give them. They work very hard and are paid very little. They are extremly gentle, helpful and are always smiling. My advice is to bring things that you don't use anymore for example, pens and paper for the children to use while attending schools, old sunglasses, t.shirts, hats, shoes etc. I know it can be a pain to carry things in your luggage but think of the reward you will give them. Another advice is to remember about the airport visa and tax. To enter the country, the visa application is $50, which you can pay on arrival and when you leave the airport you have to pay tax of a total $46 all prices are subject to change, so remember to save some money when you leave. The airport is extremly small and facilities are limited so be patient.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are in a great location, you just need to decide whether you would like a/c or a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here on couple of occasions on october 2012. Even though we more prefer backpacker style places we felt there were some really nice things about this hotel and it was quite worth the price as Zanzibar isn't the cheapest island. We payed 75usd/night for double.

Pros
- Well decorated stylish place including rooms
- Good food at the restaurant
- Well working WiFi at the restaurant
- Really nice pool area
- Really nice garden area

Cons
- Restaurant staff seemed sometimes very lazy
- Bees at the breakfast table. Every morning our breakfast was ruined by an attack of the bees. We told the restaurant staff about this many times. They can't seem to do anything about this.
- Package tourists? A lot of families and people who just stare their iPads 90% of the time. well not the hotels fault, but sometimes we felt the atmosphere is not right for a perfect beach destination... Maybe they should make the wifi work not so well :)

All and all, the pros overcome to cons and we would definedly stay here again if visiting Paje.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spend one week in paje by night in June 2012.

We took the kitesurfing lessons, which are good. Too bad the courses depend too much on the tide and the wind. So with some bad luck you have to wait all day for the perfect moment.
But the kite location is good, shallow water, good sideshore wind.

About the hotel, we had a basic room, but was very good. Breakfast is plenty and very good, only to bad the coffee is really not good. (except if you pay for the espresso...)
The restaurant is the best of paje (we've tried them all), only the drinks are a bit expensive compared to the others.
Staff is friendly!

Don't take a tour with the one of the guys on the beach, especially the skinny young guy. (he drives with the hotel driver, when they pick you up at the airport)
Maybe he is cheap, but he only cares about the money, and he doesn't know anything.
Waste of money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AUST
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Firstly, let me start by saying how great the staff are, particularly the friendly lady whom we met upon checking in and the locals who work there - no issue or gripe with them!

If I didn't have anywhere else on Zanzibar to compare this place to (for the money we paid), then I probably would have been naive enough to think this was the standard you get throughout the island, but when we moved to Kendwa to the north of the island, it was made clear to me how much this resort was a rip-off.

The room we stayed in was very basic, but that's not the issue. I had more of a problem with the fact that the sheets looked like they were 20 years old (and felt unwashed), the toilet had problems flushing, there was only cold water in the showers... and don't be fooled, you still need warm running water in Africa if you want a proper shower, the cupboards wouldn't close and needed maintenance and finally, the room just had a general smell of dampness which was quite unpleasant.

I don't know what the owner is doing with the money received from the guests, but it's certainly not going towards maintenance of the rooms.

For the same amount we paid at the Sunset Bungalowns in Kendwa, we stayed in a clean, modern room (with hot running water) and the beach was just as beautiful (if not better), than the beach in Paje.

Here's a tip: the resorts in Paje are very close together, so if you're into kiteboarding, but not wanting to live like a teenager, or a hippy - then I recommend you stay elsewhere, but still use the kiteboarding facilities here.
And make sure you visit the Japanese/Thai fusion restaurant next door - the food there was delicious!

Room Tip: If you can score a room other than the one I stayed in, then good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

A tale of two halves. Ate here 2 nights andon the whole the food was good, with the lamb shank and pizzas being very good. The carbonara was very varied, one night lovely and the next just spaghetti with some scrambled egg added in!

The waiter was the worst we saw in 3 months of backpacking Africa however. He told us we had to leave (a table of 8) and pay because it was the end of his shift and he wanted his tip - a comment which lost him his tip! He returned 2 minutes later and when he realised we hadnt worked out the bill yet picked the cup for the money up and jangled it next to his ear and went "cmon pay now", unbelievable!!

We spoke to the manager who sounded as if she was well used to hearing complaints about him. SACK HIM and get this nicely done up place back where it should be!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were so glad that we picked this place - it had such a chilled atmosphere, staff were friendly and helpful, perfect place to relax. Has a young, hippy vibe, but there were also some families staying. The pool is lovely and always has some part in shade, with plenty of loungers around the edge, and we spent many an afternoon lazing in a hammock with a book. The food was very good overall (although one night clearly a different chef was on shift and was not nearly as good!) - the breakfast was truly great, with fresh juice, fruit, cake, bread, jam and choice of pancakes or omelette! And of course the beach was outstanding, only a short walk away. Through the hotel we also organised trips swimming with dolphins and snorkelling. We stayed in a Jungle Bungalow and were really happy with this accomodation, although the shower was slightly confusing...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajebynightadmin, Owner at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Heidi...
thanks a lot for the nice review ( still looking for the wrong chef..we will make him wear a mankini for punishment : )
Really, thanks
Happy to make you feel so good
ciao
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paje by Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paje by Night Hotel

Address: Paje by Night Street, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paje by Night Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paje by Night is not just a resort but also a lifestyle. So many guests dream about us when they leave....until their return visit...it has been shaped by us from our hearts and it represents our desire to be free, unconditioned, barefoot, in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled tropical beaches of the east coast of Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paje by Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje By Night Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paje by Night Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.