We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Restaurant

Ocean Restaurant
Arabian Nights Annex, Paje 791, Tanzania
689316472
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 restaurants in Paje
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Mediterranean, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ocean Restaurant, on the beach in Paje, Zanzibar, serves fantastic seafood, grills and pastas, with desserts to die for! Come straight off the beach and enjoy a cold drink, a lazy lunch or laid back dinner. We also serve breakfast and a cafe menu during the day.
Dar es Salaam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fresh,and well done food. Taste nice, excellent texture and presented nice. Friendly and quick serviced. Family enjoyed and we returned next day. Will for sure come again when in Paje!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    37
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited Ocean twice on our recent visit to Zanzibar and were not disappointed. Very welcoming Manager, Humphrey and attentive staff. Try the fish cakes , the crab balls and definitely the grilled prawns , amazing !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“6 nights in a row!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ocean is definately the best place to eat in Paje! I enjoyed it so much i ate here 6 nights in a row! As a solo traveller I was welcomed by Humphry, the lovely manager, and made to feel at home. The food was delicious, very fresh and clean. The service was great and the food was served very promptly, which isnt often the case on the island. The wine was also really good. For about $20 you can have a two course meal and wine, which is probably quite a bit compared to some other restaurants, but definately worth it! Cant wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Paje”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff here were so welcoming and lovely, they always ensured that we were very happy. The food here is by far the best on Paje beach and definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food Delicious. Service AMAZING (best in Paje by FAR)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The staff here bent over backwards to be welcoming, helpful and friendly. We felt really spoilt when we came here and the food is WONDERFUL. Fish curry, fish cakes and crab cakes are especially good. Ambience wonderful too and owner and chef fantastic. Could not rave more about this place. BEST FOOD AND SERVICE IN PAJE!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
Michamvi, Zanzibar
 

Been to Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.