We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise it is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domokuchu Beach Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Domokuchu Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Domokuchu Beach Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Jambiani Rd, Paje, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Beerse, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paradise it is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I had a wonderful stay of 2 nights in a beach bungalow. I really enjoyed it because the magnificent views over the sea all day long, the most friendliest staff I have ever met, the quiet location in exotic Zanzibar. Special thanks to Shebi and his lovely little daughters for making my stay feeling like home!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fira, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent there 16 days(our honeymoon) and it was a really nice experience..it is a private part of the beach but it's far from any restaurant except of one.also that part was full of seaweeds and it was't possible to swim over there.furthermore there is nothing to do after 6.00 pm as it is not safe for tourists to walk to the beach after dark.the owner was helpfull enough but asking for prepayment was not agreed before and we didn't feel very good about that as we had to spend 100$ to go to town and find an atm and then come back.Kombo was very helpful and the housekeeping was really good too.it would be perfect if we had a fridge in the room.as a conclusion it was a perfect place to spend there our honeymoon as it's a peace of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnodar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The best place ever to disappear from civilization on the beach. Good, romantic place, will visit it again though there are many alternatives in the world.. This is a real paradise we could ever imagine. 10 unforgettable days.. Recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed in that bungalows few weeks ago, all the bungalows have a sea view. we were in the first line in front of the sea, the bungalows were big and had a fan (that was enough for the weather) and a kettle. they don't have pool but in every hotel next to it you can swim in their pool if you buy something from the bar.
also they serve breakfast to the rooms, but they don't have a resturant there, so you need to walk to other hotels to eat lunch and dinner. dinner was a bit problematic because it isn't recommanded to walk outside when it's dark (around 18:30)...
The tide down makes the water go a bit far from the hotel but if you go 10 minutes north on the beach there is a good access to the sea.
In our opinion that is a nice place to stay and you have a lot of quite in the beach.
p.s.
Watch out from the beach boys, they offer good deals but try to fool you all the time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piatra Neamt, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

we staied at Domokuchu for 7 nights and we felt like paradise..the stuff the owners...everything just great.Don t expect to feel like in big resorts it s diffrent so if you look for something special don t miss Domokuchu.

Room Tip: front bungalows spacious nd cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

these bungalows are incredible value. we were beach front, which was literally on the sand. it gets a bit windy (as you expect) but we weren't bothered by it. the rooms are basic but comfortable and clean - the shower was the best pressure we've had in tanzania! staff are a little non-existent, which suited us as it made it peaceful post hectic stone town. but as the location's pretty isolated we would have been a lot happier if they had a booklet in the room that gave you basic 101s like how to get a taxi to come, where on the beach isn't safe at night, activites you can do in paje etc. etc.... as there is zero information/internet on-site.
biggest negative is that breakfast is pretty lack lustre, (couple of boiled eggs, cold chippati and some pieces of orange), probably one of the worst we've had in Africa, so that definitely could be improved. retaurant next door has nice basic food for lunch/dinner but service is reaallly slow..
despite all the little negatives, we really enjoyed our time here and wish we had more days! the bungalows were lovely and relaxing, the view is incredible.. and for what we paid, this place is definitely excellent value and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Be careful. Staying at this place may cause some serious problems!!!
Me and my husband stayed at Domokuchu for our honey moon 9-23 of August 2013.

Pluses:
1. Reasonable price
2. Right on the beach
3. Quiet, away from main hotels

Minus:
1. During 2 weeks of stay, bed sheets and towels were changed only ones!!!
2. Poor breakfast, which they bring to your room to attract birds, ants and rats!!!
3. The beach is full with seaweeds and rocks, you can only swim in front of the hotel when it's high tide. Forget about kiting here.
4. Half of the time there were not hot water in the room.
5. Rats!!! During our stay 2 rooms had to move out because of the rats. One - from family banda and another couple from the superior bungalow next to ours. In fact, Zoe refused to make the refund for the nights they didn't stay!!! Don't pay the full summ in advance!
6. No beach towels.
7. Stealing!! It's not safe to leave your money in the room. I had 200$ in my wallet, which was in the room all the time and somebody has stollen my money and replaced it with two false bills. I'm sure, that it was 2 different bills, because I couldn't change it in dar es salaam due to the old year - 1996 and when I found out the stealing the bills were 2006 year. We report it to the police. The case number 197!! If this happens to you: don't hesitate to make another report to the police! Another case with the false money from Domokuchu was in the restaurant near by - Kilima Kidogo, they had a guest from Domokuchu, who payed his bill in the restaurant with the false 50$ bill.
8. The owner never showed up! At the end, we have never seen Zoe and we've seen Shabi only twice, one of this time was in the police department. They seem not to care about their guests at all.

A few words about Paje. The place is great! Though its overpriced. Still it's very dangerous at nights. Don't walk in the dark, use a taxi. We've been told this so many times, even by a policeman.
If you want to eat nearby: Domani Lodge: nice food, good price, but be prepared to wait to 1,5 hours to eat.
Kilima Kidogo - great place!! It's 'like home' atmosphere, tasty food and drinks, very nice and helpfull owner - Dina! Actually, I would defiantly recommend this place to stay for a holidays. It's clean and safe, right on the beach, has a SPA zone and brilliant cook. See more in my review in Kilima Kidogo.
Kiting: we stored our equipment in Paje by Night! Very nice place to hang out. The have everything you need for kiting, chilling and having fun! The restaurant is also very nice, especially for pizza and pasta (Italian owner). The prices are also very pleasant. The best season for kiting: July and December! Another good restaurant next to Paje by Kite is Ocean. Very good food! Lemon cheesecake is a must!
Have a great time and be careful! If any questions - find me on a Facebook - Marina Buchatskaya, I'll be glad to help.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domokuchu, Owner at Domokuchu Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
It’s sad and shocking that someone would go to the effort of writing a thorough list of lies and that Tripadvisor will publish it. Tripadvisor claims to offer support to hotels who receive threats of blackmail and we have followed their procedure reporting the unpleasant incidents with these guests.
This review appears so detailed and with its praise for other hotels that it sounds quite plausible but is in fact a list of lies. The danger for a hotel when replying to malicious lies is that we risk giving them more legitimacy but we obviously cannot ignore this review. I seriously hope Tripadvisor will consider the evidence we have submitted and will remove it.
In the 2 years we are open we have welcomed and enjoyed so many great guests and never come across such horrible behaviour. We have a laid back beach vibe and were in no way prepared for this sort of behaviour. Most of it was alcohol fuelled, seriously unpleasant and distressing for staff and even other guests. We are trying to work out a strategy for how we should cope if we ever receive such a terrible group of guests again.
Firstly they were a group of 7 guests originally, 2 apparently on their honeymoon with their 5 friends. 2 guests cancelled before arrival and the group were unhappy that the ‘non-refundable’ 10% deposit was not refunded.
The reviewer’s anger is on behalf of her friends who after moving from the hotel returned but had to be requested to leave by security after an outrageous drunken incident where they ran riot, creating disturbance, abusing staff, guests and damaging property.
These 3 friends shared the standard ‘Family’ banda, our cheapest most basic room with open air bathroom and makuti weaved walls. On check-in we informed guests that they cannot store food inside these rooms as it will attract creatures from ants to even mice. They stored bananas, cookies and potato chips in the room and after 7 nights saw a mouse and ants. We offered 2 other upgraded Superior rooms but they preferred to move to the next door hotel and we agreed a partial refund for the remaining nights. However when we tried to refund via PayPal they refused the payment and instead lodged a claim for the 100% return of their 14 nights payment they had paid via PayPal. Paypal investigated and rejected their claim and the guests threatened us repeatedly in person and by phone with terrible Tripadvisor reviews, promising to destroy our business if we did not refund 100%. They also stole towels and left an unpaid drinks bill for their 7 nights stay.
The other claims:
The reviewer and her husband stayed the whole 2 weeks in our nicest Superior Bungalow, we spoke to them almost daily and they did not once complain about the standard of cleanliness or bed linens, etc. They could have no reason to because even though they slept off their alcohol fuelled nights until almost noon most days our housekeeping staff paid extra special attention as they were ‘honeymooners’. Their beds were re-made daily with lots of flowers, towels shaped as swans etc.
They did not make any complaints about breakfast during their 14 nights stay, even though they often slept till midday we still served breakfast as usual and it was eaten without any complaints.
Their nearest neighbour guests, not in their group, did not check out due to rats or experience any problems. I have verified this is completely untrue.
To say our beach is full of rocks and one cannot swim or kite surf is 100% completely untrue. The photos on this site are proof enough, taken at high and low tide directly in front of our hotel.
We did not receive any complaints about water temperature during their stay.
It’s true we do not have a limitless supply of beach towels. We are a small hotel and when full we do our best to offer as many extra towels as possible.
The accusation of stealing is taken very seriously but the reviewer’s claim came after another night of drunken incidents and disturbance at the end of their stay. The guest dropped the claim when asked by the police to provide a full account of their accusation. They also would not explain to us directly what they thought had occurred with their money and I’m unhappy we were unable to find the truth of what happened. There was a lockable cupboard in their room which no staff member can access. We offered as a gesture to waive their 14 nights drinks bill but they angrily insisted on paying throwing the money down as they left. We were very sad indeed that their stay ended in such sour circumstances.
We do care very much about our guests, providing comfortable accommodation and a relaxing secure environment so they enjoy their holiday is the number one priority our business is built upon. This review is written in anger and not at all true. For example we spoke to these guests almost daily so it is in fact a complete lie to say they did not meet us! I can’t imagine why the reviewer wrote this, perhaps only to further exaggerate their claims.
It is also not true to say that Paje is extremely dangerous. Bag snatching incidents have occurred from time to time, the last we are aware of was 4 months ago and the culprits were caught. The local police, community and hoteliers continue to work together to keep guests safe along the beach. We have an agreement for 5,000Tsh/ 3$ taxis with a local firm and some restaurants offer a free taxi ride home. The reviewer has not experienced a problem on the beach themselves but is again exaggerating for the purpose of this negative review.
Finally the only positive note I can end with is that I’m pleased that they at least enjoyed some of their holiday in Zanzibar in other establishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domokuchu Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domokuchu Beach Bungalows

Address: Jambiani Rd, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domokuchu Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful bungalows on an incredible beach. Barefoot paradise for the independent traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Domokuchu Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domokuchu Beach Bungalows Zanzibar/Paje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domokuchu Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.