We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savanna and Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Savanna and Ocean to your Saves list
Savanna and Ocean
Paje east coast, Paje 0915, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Paje B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Nice and easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Savanna and Ocean is a very nice litle hotel with charm and lot of soul. it have nice rooms for a small price and are close to the beach of your dreams. the water on the beach is newer really deep so it is a good beach for kids. the hotel has a nice cheap reastaurent and the waiters and staffs of the hotel are very, very nice. in the reception it is possible to buy most things that you would need on a daily basis. also the lokal super market of paje is close to the hotel and the walk trhough paje to get to the super market is a big experience itself. everything is nice and chill around and inside this hotel and i give my best recomendations. also the hotel can arange any kind of trips and tours that you would like and i´had some good experiences with them aranging dolphin tours and tours to prison island for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paje
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Savanna and Ocean is a very good place to be. It is placed in a cosy small village called Paje, It's a place for everyone, couples, familiy and friends. There is a good atmosphere at the hotel, it is a warm and relaxing place to be. The staff at the hotel is also very friendly. The hotel is placed very close to the most beautiful beach, where there is many opportunities for bathing, kiting and diving. I have enjoyed my stay at the hotel very much and I will recomand this hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Åbyhøj
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Savanna and Ocean is a really nice hotel. It is very african with a little "garden" in the middle where you can lie in the hammark and enjoy the weather. The food is really good and so is the prices.
The staff is so sweet and helpful, they joke with you and make you feel at home.
There is 2min to the beach which is very beautiful and lovely. You can kitesurf, snorkling and dive in the fantastisc Indian Ocean.
The rooms are neat and cosy. I will definently comeback back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I love to stay in the African inspired hotel with the palmtrees around me while lying in the hammak or sitting in the restaurant drinking an icecold milkshake or eating some of the delicious food the staff serves with a smile on their faces. And with only 50 metes to the beach where you can kitesurfe, eat in one of the nice restaurants or plan a dive to one of the million spots around Zanzibar, or take a walk to Paje town only 10 minutes away, you can easely spend a whole day in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Savanna and Ocean is a great charming hotel in the heart of a little village called Paje, which is located on Zanzibar. The hotel is placed in a walking-distance to the beautiful zanzibar-beach and there are good opportunities for bathing, kiting and diving. The atmosphere at the hotel is warm and cosy. And the people who works here are so friendly and will do anything for your wellbeing. So i give my warmest recomandation of the Savanna and ocean hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having stayed at Savanna And Ocean for some time, I have experienced the great rewarding cousy feeling you can get at Savanna And Ocean. The Hotel is the cheapest in Paje and located only 100 yards from the beach. Unfortunately you don't have a view of the Indian Ocean. This however is also very nice sometimes and helps with the cousy little feeling you get at savanna and ocean. The staff is very nice and likeable. It is easy to talk with them and some of them know a few danish phrases (my nationality) because of the adventure school located just beside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Good value for money - $60 for an ensuite, double room with air conditioning and mosquito nets. Hot water a bit hit and miss but not really a problem in a hot country. Not on the beach but only about 2 mins walk away. Thoughtfully designed, little oasis with plenty of room to relax. Is at the northern end of the beach but only 10mins walk to a cluster of restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savanna and Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savanna and Ocean

Address: Paje east coast, Paje 0915, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Savanna & Ocean Hotel in Paje on the beautiful east coast of Zanzibar. Here you can relax in the peaceful surroundings, while you are being swept away by the adventurous Zanzibar with its countless senses of impressions. When Zanzibar a few years back was given an honour by the BBC for being the world’s best holiday island, this was mainly because of the combination of paradise, adventure, history and the grand hospitality. Words that we do not just agree with 100 %, but also really believe meet the values of what we have to offer here in our little paradise hotel. We wish to inspire our guests with an authentic atmosphere and give them the opportunity to experience the many facets of Zanzibar and Tanzania. Our friendly and obliging staff will make sure that you get exactly what you wish for, out of your stay. We offer you one of the world’s most beautiful beaches, where you can relax and just dream away for a while, we are specialists within a big range of experiences for those who wish to explore that inner adventurer, we have local African art visible everywhere in the hotel area, and we offer short afternoon courses for those who would like to be introduced to the local language, Swahili or if you simply have interest in the Swahili culture in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Savanna and Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savanna And Ocean Zanzibar/Paje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savanna and Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.