We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful beach retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar to your Saves list
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Paje, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Mwanza, Tanzania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful beach retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

A clean, well looked-after complex composed of small banda-style rooms. The location is fantastic seconds from the beautiful white sand beach and Indian ocean.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. A delicious breakfast served is included in the price, this includes pancakes and fresh fruit. The coffee isn't great but this is Tanzania!! The lunch and evening meals in the restaurant were also delicious and speedy (coming from Tanzania we were used to waiting 90mins for a meal, 10-15mins in the hotel was fab!)
I would recommend organising your own taxi when arriving on the island and barter them down... thats what they are used to the suggested $50 through the hotel is very pricey.
A really relaxing place to stay, would return!
Just a note: remember that Zanzibar is still in Africa (-obvious i know!) but a lot of people expect European style service, and you won't find it... patience always help - relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    60
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
71
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Ndame is humble, clean and queit place. Special thanks to Mr. Hans...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and I had 3 amazing days at Ndame Beach Lodge and would thoroughly recommend it if you are visiting Zanzibar. The beach is unspoiled and has the most amazing clear blue water you could ever imagine. The tide retreats over a kilometre when it is at its lowest and the result is that the water colour is bright aqua – unlike anything I had ever seen before!

We had a very peaceful room and were only a few paces away from the beach so it was the perfect launch-pad for morning and evening swims!

I don’t think I ever felt slightly hungry during the entire time we were there because the food was so delicious and there was so much of it that I couldn’t help myself but enjoy everything that was on offer!

If you’d like to experience a piece of paradise then head to Ndame Beach Lodge, you won’t regret it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stunning, peaceful place to spend a few days - probably the most beautiful stretch of ocean you could ever hope to see! The lack of loud music at the bar makes it the perfect place to relax on a couch and read a book just metres from the sea. Alternatively, the beach loungers or hammocks are an equally pleasant place to relax!

The restaurant serves amazing food, with big portions. Wood-fired pizza or fresh fish along with local Zanzibari fare are the order of the day and you won't be disappointed either way. If it's a colourful cocktail you are looking for, or a cup of Italian coffee, they won't disappoint.

We had the best night's sleep under the big ceiling fan where we couldn't hear anything but the rustling leaves in the breeze. Seven of the rooms are undergoing a major renovation and look like they will be really nice once they are finished in a couple of weeks.

Ndame Beach Lodge is the perfect, romantic or family vacation spot on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The beauty of the Paje beach along with the landscape is breathtaking.
In contrast to, the bungalow was plain furnitured and the bathroom needed to be refurbished.
If you're the sort of person that travels with HB, be aware of the breakfast offered in this lodge, which is continental, not the quantity expected on a buffet.
Just bear in mind that this is one of the most turistic places on the island, so according to the price, the service included is OK.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The hotel is an absolutely beautiful hotel directly on the beach. The staff and owners are extremely nice and will go out of their way to answer any questions you have, assist you in planning excursions and help you in any way to make your stay enjoyable. The food is also good, breakfast is included and complementary tea and coffee are available all day. If you are looking for a stress free, enjoyable place to stay, I truly recommend Ndame Beach Lodge!!

Room Tip: Hot water is not included with all rooms since there is a power shortage, however for a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at Ndame for 3 nights and loved it. The bungalows were right on the beach and the staff couldn't have been more friendly. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Paje!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 9 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paje by Night Hotel
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#5 of 7 in Paje
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domokuchu Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar

Address: Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ndame Beach Lodge in Paje Zanzibar has been a dream beach holiday destination for more than 8 years. Sun-seekers and Indian Ocean lovers from all over the world come to stay with us. Our 14 bungalows with 31 rooms are strung along in lush tropical gardens on the shores of one of the world's most beautiful beaches. Stretching more than 250 m along snow white beaches, where the warm, turquoise waters caress the shores. From Ndame you can start a variety of activities like swimming with the dolphins, kiting, diving, visiting the local markets, snorkeling, learning about local culture and the spices which grow here in abundance. The Arabs called it the Spice Island. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere in our restaurant and bar, have a chat with interesting people from all over the world. At times we accommodate guests from more than 20 countries. A much loved highlight is our bonfire grill below the sparkling stars of the southern hemisphere. In our local style beach bar we serve you fresh fruit juices, tasty cocktails or exotic local drinks for the daring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar Hotel Paje
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Paje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.