We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Teddy's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paje
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Teddy's Place
Save
You added New Teddy's Place to your Saves list
P.O. Box 3564, Paje, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

If you like sand and by like I mean have an almost obsessive love for, then Teddy's place is for you. There really is no escaping the sand, it's everywhere, but that may not necessarily be a bad thing. Certainly the staff were very friendly and helpful, the drinks were cheap and the variety of relaxing places to chill out was great not to mention the fact that the beach is beautiful.

This being said however, $20 a night can buy you a bungalow on the beach with AC and en-suite on other parts of the island whereas Teddy's is essentially a hut in the sand. Sleep was nigh on impossible with the heat and was not helped by the creature living within the walls of our hut that came alive at 3am and partied until the sun came up. Furthermore the food options were pretty weak and the $10 BBQ wasn't really worth the money, we ended up walking the 2 hours to Jambiani just to get a decent lunch.

On the whole I would recommend Teddys Place as it has a great atmosphere and nice staff but you certainly don't get much for your money so I'd try and haggle them down on price, way down. Quite how other travellers have rated as the best place in the world I do not know but it's well worth a visit if you're in Paje.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    18
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
23
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Had a great time at Teddy's during Christmas and New Year's. Staff is very friendly & fun to hang out /go out with, food is delicious and it's very easy to meet other travellers. Will def come back next time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I stayed at Teddy's Place in July 2010 and I still dream about this place. I was with a group of other volunteers and we happened to find the place by accident and they just happened to have room for all of us. I am an epicurean to the death so don't let the fact that this is a hostel fool you, I really enjoyed the peacefullness of Teddy's Place. You have your own room but you do share the bathroom with the other guest. It was so peaceful on the beach and in the room that the bathroom sharing is an after thought. I could hear the waves from my bungalow. The white linen and sand floor made for the best sleep ever. The beach was heaven, there was no one ther but me and my group. The water was clear blue and the sand, untouched powder. The best keep secret in Africa. Oh and the food!!! I am a self proclaimed gastrnome and the food far exceed my taste. The breakfast, the lunch, the dinner!!! It was all good. I highly recommend this place for those that like the finer things in life but live on a tight budget. Please go to Paje on the east side of Zanzibar and check out Teddy's Place you too will dream about this place long after you've left.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Teddys place is just the best place you can go spend some time. The place is very tidy, the little bingalow are clean and comfy. The employees are super smilling, really helpfull and really welcoming. We felt at home right a way. The location is perfect, very quiet place, the kite surf spot is right in front and really amazing. Teddys food is delicious, the wednesday party is great, and the patio to chill is hard to get away from!!! Go without hesitation. I have travelled the world back packing several time, and Teddys is one of the most marvellous place to be. Very friendly atmosfere with lots of interesting traveller to exchange with. Not only a touristic place, you have a true feeling of Zanzibar there Bravo!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Teddy's Place is the best accomodation on the island. The location just meters off the picture perfect beach in Paje is great. All staff are extremely helpful and friendly. It feels like you're with friends. The chef, Teddy, serves Zanzibar's best Swahili buffet and other small meals. The managing couple has tips and advice for all of your inquiries and host Paje's Hakuna Kulala Party Night on Wednesdays when locals and travelers get together. I highly recommend this chilling and relaxing place with its fun effluent staff. Stayed 8 nights. It's definitely THE place to hang on Zanzibar. Thanks for an awesome time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed at Teddys Place for 4 nights. If we have had more time, we would definitely have stayed longer. Teddys Place is more than a place with some bungalows to sleep in. The staff is so great, you will always have someone to talk to or help you out, whenever you need something. The food is delicious and even if you have special wishes, they will try to make it happen. For the nights there are different parties to go to, or barbecues, concerts or even movie nights "at home" - theres always something to do. And if you don't feel like joining there, you can just sit down at the beach or at the cute porch and enjoy the evening night with the nice breeze of Paje. Thanks for the great time we had there!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morogoro, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I spent there a few days with my mum and it was perfect. Nice backpacker place, quiet to relax, lovely beach and don't miss the party on wednesday. The current managers are very friendly and helpful in all respects. Family feeling. The bandas, shared washrooms and toilets are very clean, the food from Teddy is delicious and even internet is available. So do not hesitate and drop by, its easy to find.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Teddy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Teddy's Place

Address: P.O. Box 3564, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect accommodation for all who want to travel on a backpacker's budget and experience real Zanzibar vibes. Stunning Zanzibari food, cooked by one of the best chefs on the island, cozy bar with chilled music and plenty of space for relaxing, traditional makuti bandas and of course the breathtaking beach of Paje.Our aim is to make it possible for everyone to enjoy this beautiful island. Especially for backpackers it is really hard to find cheap accommodation on Zanzibar. So we have adjusted all our prices for a backpacker budget.All prices include our delicious Teddy’s breakfast. Choose from yummy pancakes or delicious eggs and famous chapati, both served with fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teddy`s Place Hotel Paje
New Teddy's Place Zanzibar/Paje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Teddy's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.