We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse to your Saves list
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Jambiani Road, Paje 0000, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Number ONE guest house
Ranked #1 of 10 Paje B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had the most amazing time here. Absolute paradise and a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean. The food was delicious and breakfast was more than substantial. All my needs were met and the service was always with a smile. Paje is a beautiful beach and the hotel was located at the end where it was private and quiet but close enough to restaurants and bars just up the beach. Thank you to Dina who made me feel so welcome and at home. And thank you to everyone who worked there too. Definitely recommend it to all especially honeymooners.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
82
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Back again, for the fourth time in 4 years. After the resort burnt down and the owner Dina build it up again i decided to go back again, for several reasons.
Dina and i became friends over the years and we were always in contact and i tried to do my best to help her during the hard time of the new start. She invited me and my girl to her house as soon as it was finished and we got there in october 2014 for 14 days. It was a warm welcome again and as always i met lots of friends that i made over the years and had an absolut great time!!! my girl was overwhelmed by the resort, even though not everything has been finished yet. We knew that some things were still in progress, but when it comes to us, all we need is a cosy bed, a nice beach, sun, good food, good drinks and most of all hospitality in a none mass tourism area. And even though tourism at Zanzibar is developing fast, i recognized so many new resorts were build or are in building process, at Kilima you still have the feeling to be on your own. Beside amazing trips to sunset, snorkeling with the dolphins or the blue safari we enjoyed relaxing at the resort, having some good cocktails and beers. The food was good again and if you are looking for a quiet place to find time to relax, you are absolutely right!!!!!! I would always come back, for the Resort and for Dina, she is to me hospitality in person!!!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa River
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

The thing about tripadvisor is that one cannot rate a place according to the stars it has. Kilima Kidogo for example is really a 2 star venue but it deserves a 5 star within its category. The first KK burnt down and in its stead the owner built a concrete hotel, presumably to make it hard for it to be burnt down again. This takes away any possible charm and incorporates a raft of teething problems with plumbing and electrics, such is the woeful build local build standard. What the owner then does is to paper over the inadequacies with outstanding hospitality and personal attentiveness. She is everywhere, all of the time and while we were there had co opted another lady to help in the kitchen, which turned out delicious grub consistently. The staff must drive her to drink but she bats them into place without turning a hair.

The rooms are OK. They could have better mattreses and more efficient fans according to a couple of the guys I was with. You get lovely hot water.

Great place to stay if you are on a tight budget. I shall be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilimaKidogo, Owner at Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good morning Copper,... Thank you for your comments, some sounds bitter and some sounds sweet. We really take our guests serious in comments,... even if 99% says their bed is good (may be they are polite) and their fan is good, and when we receive one comment like yours, we make work on it. I went myself into every room and through myself onto the beds, and I agree with you, those brand new mattresses from DUBAI must be out.... the 3rd world fans must be out,... and hook by crook, all is in our budget to replace in the next month. I always wants my guests to eat well and to sleep well. Thank you for your comment, I just wish you have told me this while you were in the house. For the price you pay at Kilima Kidogo and for what you get at Kilima Kidogo must leave every guest with a happy satisfied mind. Owner Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 via mobile

One of the best holidays by far... I cannot fault the guesthouse, the food or the host. Peaceful, beautiful, clean and I cannot wait to return to that gem!!! Thank you for an amazing holiday, Jeanne Speck

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We loved the old Kilima Kidogo, but we can´t be sentimental anymore! The newone is built very generously and you get enough place for your vacation...Dina the chief was the same woman we have known in 2010,OMG the time is runing so fast!You are heartily welcome everytime. The only thing we are not satisfied is the time waiting for the praparation of your meal order! Dispite of this the food was delicious, only you have to order with halffull stomach:-)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I enjoyed every moment of my time spent at Kilima Kidogo. I had been looking for a place to stay without a reservation the other places I looked at were cold and unwelcoming, however when I walked into Kilima Kidogo I received the warmest welcome by the entire staff. They made my stay there wonderful! The rooms were spacious and clean. The shower head was perfect for tall people (me). They had a number of rooms to entertain for when it was raining or I had had too much sun. The food was delicious and they are willing to make things on special request (as long as they have the ingredients). The chapati and breakfast pancakes were the best I have had in Tanzania! The owner Dina was wonderful and I enjoyed the time she spent conversing with me and all of the other guests. She really cares about her guests and making their stay top notch!

Room Tip: From what I could tell they were all good! The rooms at the front have a balcony and receive the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Pictures can only show you so much of what to expect, the rest is happenstance and guess work. Well, rest assured you have a slice of heaven here, and rest we did. Dina, the owner, takes personal responsibility for making sure you have an outstanding time. She will do everything she can to make your stay hassle free and fun filled - and she went to every length with us to make sure we had 5 days of bliss. We actually extended our stay because of how relaxing and easy it is. It's clean, very safe, beautiful, calming with food probably too good for the place. All for a great price - I could not recommend it more highly. We'll be back.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse

Address: Jambiani Road, Paje 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse is situated on the east coast of Zanzibar between the villages Paje and Jambiani. This mini boutique has great spirit, value and is situated right on the white beaches and great views of the crystal blue seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse Hotel Paje
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse Zanzibar/Paje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.