We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my new fav destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dhow Inn

Save Saved
You added Dhow Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dhow Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paje Beach, Paje, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Paje
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
“my new fav destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

we had heard their food was great and we had seen pictures of the dhow inn before the refurbishment, (that was the exact reason why we had booked a week to stay) but we were pleasantly surprised to find luxury bungalows (with every bunch of bungalows having there own pool). The people were amazingly friendly.......exactly what we needed. Although it was rainy season (it then rains for two hours in the morning) in april, we still had great kiting weather...... and the sun bites like hell, so suncream that body always!!!! Paje is simply paradise..... & we will be back next year, but then for 2 weeks :))) can´t wait!

Room Tip: our superior suite had an amazing super king size bed. worth it for honeymooners :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    27
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
38
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Due to the nice reviews we were planning to stay at Dhow Inn.
The place is very clean and has a spanish flair, friendly staff and nice pools.
However:
It is situated 200m behind the beach and surrounded by very high walls.
Going to the beach we first thought that the way was a joke. You have a narrow, maybe 1 meter wide way between two disgusting walls that are at least 5 meter high.
Apparently this wall has been in place since the last 6 months.
With pricing well above twice the money of other nice places along the beach this place is a clear no go unless you like the flair of a luxury prison camp.

Room Tip: There are at least 5 other hotels in this class along the beach that have direct beach view and beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christiandhowinn, General Manager at Dhow Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear time2FlyNow,
Many thanks for your review. All of our guest opinions (being either positive or negative) are useful and constructive for us and thus very welcomed.
We sincerely regret that your stay in our hotel was not the pleasant that it should have been. We do perfectly understand and actually support your complaint about the wall constructed in the beach side of our property and we apologize for it. In order to offer the most complete and trully information, please let us explain that the said wall was built at the end of October 2012 by the owners of the land located just on the front of the hotel. This action (which, of course, was done without prior notice to us) was committed absolutely against the Zanzibar land property and construction related laws. After conducting the corresponding steps before the public administrations in charge, we obtained the official notice that the wall was going to be removed during the first weeks of December. We are currently still waiting that it is done due to some minor administrative delays. However, the wall is definitively going to be removed soon and, as soon as it happens, we are welcoming you to stay back in our hotel to check that this “flair of a luxury prison camp” does not exist anymore.
Concerning your comment about the prices, it is true that there exist other hotels in the beach at lower rates but none of them is the same category of Dhow Inn. The level of quality of amenities and the services cannot be compared.
In any case, we are happy that you were pleased with the amenities and services offered in the hotel. We are taking the maximum effort to keep our guests happy and thanks to the feedback from clients like you we are able to know better your expectations and try our best to reach them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Dhow Inn is a lovely setting and well done, but they are mid-way through a pretty serious renovation currently. Upon requesting the booking, I was told they were in a soft opening, so not all amenities were available. I inquired as to what that meant, but it was never disclosed. Staff are very lovely and extremely helpful, particularly a bartender named Serengeti. You should prepare yourself on entering though, lots of construction that is a bit of an eye sore. As you turn the corner there are white linens, tables, and a real transition to a nice place. The food, rooms, and service were great, but there were a few issues. The Inn is not beachfront. There is another resort in front, and you have to walk through essentially someone's yard to get to the beach. The 'private beach' is a roped off string and sign. I am hoping with the renovations this will improve as it is a stunning stunning beach. Our experience would have been better with a more refined walk to the beach, and it would be nice to be able to order from the bar/food while beachside. At night, the generator was off thus the AC didn't work. Though the staff was lovely, we had to change rooms later, and then ask for the generator to come on. This was frustrating. All said and done, this place has potential to be a real winner, but being open under this construction period really takes away from the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here in the quiet season,and they were in the process of building a new accommodation block, but this didn't affect our stay and it was all wonderful! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the room perfect, the setting and ambience superb. it is just a short walk (1 min) back from the beach, so no views of the sea from the room or bar, but that is a small price to pay for the overall atmosphere! It is essential to stay somewhere with a pool on Paje, as the low tides mean that swimming is impossible for much of the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I'm a little late in reviewing, but we stayed here in Feb 2012. We stayed a week. The rooms are a little small as the beds are massive, but the share sitting area out front and inside, plus the pool out the back means you won't want to be in the room unless you want to sleep. It is very safe and secure at night.

The breakfast was one of the best we had in Africa, great bread, local jams, good coffee and tea and a selection of cooked breakfasts to choose from through out the week, so we never got bored.

The staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms are amazingly clean, beds made everyday, and there is a turn down service where they spray for mosquitoes every night. Each bed has a great net over it too. The air con worked pretty well. They are expanding next door, I think it would almost be done by now.

They can organise tours too (we did safari blue). The lunch food was ok, the dinner food was pretty ordinary I hate to say. Just too much salt in everything. Otherwise the place was excellent and only a 5-10min walk down the beach to the main area of Paje, shops, other accommodation and restaurants. We walked at night between the two areas and it never felt unsafe, there was usually enough moonlight to guide the way, but I recommend bringing a torch anyway for those who like a little more light or for any powercuts.

We learnt to kitesurf too! It was great. Make sure you go eat at the Thai and Sushi place on the beach just past the main area (just a minutes walk). It is amazing, they have a Japanese Chef so the sushi is divine, so is the Thai - it's real Thai food!.

Dhow Inn, great choice if you can afford it. Otherwise Paje Beach Backpackers nearby has a deal with Dhow Inn, so you can use the wifi and pool for free, only a fraction of the price, but it's basic. We stayed there too, we had to come back to Paje for a few days to finish our Kitesurfing lesson.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Beautiful little 6 room hotel (getting bigger in a few months) with a very delightful swimingpool! Wonderful people working there, very friendly and helpful. Excellent food in its own restaurant for a very good price, but most of all, amazing surroundings! Everything you'll need, they will provide for you (taxi from/to airport or farry, tours, activities, massage, etc). Tastefully decorated and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Came here for dinner (so this review is for that only). Food was DELICIOUS and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Along with Ocean, this is the best place to eat in Paje. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dhow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Inn

Address: Paje Beach, Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at a 2-minutes-walk from the Zanzibar’s hotspot beach of Paje,Dhow Inn (4*)provides the perfect scenario for a chilled stay in one of our 28 new, comfortable and full equipped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dhow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje Dhow Hotel Paje
Dhow Inn Zanzibar/Paje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dhow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.