We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on a beautiful beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dhow Inn

Save Saved
You added Dhow Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dhow Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paje Beach, Paje, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Paje
southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on a beautiful beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here in the quiet season,and they were in the process of building a new accommodation block, but this didn't affect our stay and it was all wonderful! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the room perfect, the setting and ambience superb. it is just a short walk (1 min) back from the beach, so no views of the sea from the room or bar, but that is a small price to pay for the overall atmosphere! It is essential to stay somewhere with a pool on Paje, as the low tides mean that swimming is impossible for much of the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    27
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
41
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I'm a little late in reviewing, but we stayed here in Feb 2012. We stayed a week. The rooms are a little small as the beds are massive, but the share sitting area out front and inside, plus the pool out the back means you won't want to be in the room unless you want to sleep. It is very safe and secure at night.

The breakfast was one of the best we had in Africa, great bread, local jams, good coffee and tea and a selection of cooked breakfasts to choose from through out the week, so we never got bored.

The staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms are amazingly clean, beds made everyday, and there is a turn down service where they spray for mosquitoes every night. Each bed has a great net over it too. The air con worked pretty well. They are expanding next door, I think it would almost be done by now.

They can organise tours too (we did safari blue). The lunch food was ok, the dinner food was pretty ordinary I hate to say. Just too much salt in everything. Otherwise the place was excellent and only a 5-10min walk down the beach to the main area of Paje, shops, other accommodation and restaurants. We walked at night between the two areas and it never felt unsafe, there was usually enough moonlight to guide the way, but I recommend bringing a torch anyway for those who like a little more light or for any powercuts.

We learnt to kitesurf too! It was great. Make sure you go eat at the Thai and Sushi place on the beach just past the main area (just a minutes walk). It is amazing, they have a Japanese Chef so the sushi is divine, so is the Thai - it's real Thai food!.

Dhow Inn, great choice if you can afford it. Otherwise Paje Beach Backpackers nearby has a deal with Dhow Inn, so you can use the wifi and pool for free, only a fraction of the price, but it's basic. We stayed there too, we had to come back to Paje for a few days to finish our Kitesurfing lesson.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Beautiful little 6 room hotel (getting bigger in a few months) with a very delightful swimingpool! Wonderful people working there, very friendly and helpful. Excellent food in its own restaurant for a very good price, but most of all, amazing surroundings! Everything you'll need, they will provide for you (taxi from/to airport or farry, tours, activities, massage, etc). Tastefully decorated and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Came here for dinner (so this review is for that only). Food was DELICIOUS and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Along with Ocean, this is the best place to eat in Paje. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed at an enchanting little inn of 6 rooms, but a large inn is being built nearby, with a capacity of around 35. Zanzibar is not cheap like southeast Asia, so the comparison is not justified. The place itself could not be better situated. The beach is exceptional, a 2 minute walk away. There are excursions and taxis to other parts of Zanzibar. Now about the hotel - the rooms are small but the restaurant and bars (indoor and out) are terrific. There is a village nearby, so one can feel part of a community. The manager of the hotel, Christian, will do anything to make you feel comfortable. Being Africa, things happen, such as power cuts. But the hotel has a generator. Christian, with experience throughout the world, has the charm and humour (and professionalism) needed, and can help you with anything. I found his choice of staff to be exceptionally warm and kind.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I think if we'd stayed at this hotel when it wasn't right before the rainy season, and extremely humid and hot, I might have had a different experience. But for the money, compared to our lodging in Stone Town, it was a bit disappointing.

The not so good:

The rooms are extremely small - basically just enough room for the rather big Tanzanian bed.

The a/c doesn't really work and when the electricity went out in the night, the generator was not put in service so that meant a couple of hours or more (felt like a long time) of non-sleep because it was incredibly hot with no fan, no a/c and no cross wind - there is no opening for ventilation on three walls. Not ideal at all in this climate.

As I said, seemed a bit pricey for what you get. If we'd paid $50, it would have been okay.

It wasn't all bad:

The fruit juices at breakfast were divine and the food in general is good. There is also a bar and places to sit and relax outside your room, as well as a pool that we didn't use.

The staff is pleasant and helpful.

They are building new rooms, so perhaps those rooms will have better air circulation.

Other notes:

This is not directly on the beach, you have to walk a short walk to the beach from the hotel but there are lounge chairs, umbrellas and towels for the use of guests on the beach.

We enjoyed Paje in general. Enjoyed seeing locals on the beach - it's a working beach and not just for tourists.

I probably would not stay here again, but my husband enjoyed it more than me so we might.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Decided to head to Zanzibar for kitesurfing. Then thought about going somewhere else due to the wind forecast. Emailed manager (Christian) and told him we were not sure what we were going to do. He told us what the wind has been, and told us he understood he hoped the wind would be up, but of course you won't know till then. He simply asked us to email him if we decided not to come.
He was so friendly, easy to work with, relaxed yet got the job done when we needed something - he was awesome. Christian set up transportation from the airport. Would recommend as it is a bit of a drive. Van was roomy, driver was safe.
The staff at Dhow Inn were very friendly and smiling and made us feel at home. We so enjoyed the delicious breakfast. Fresh mango, pineapple and passion juices. Fresh fruit. And breakfast was served til late morning, so feel free to sleep in.
The internet was fast. The room were a bit small, but the bed was big and comfy. We decided to stay an extra night at the very last minute. Christian could not have been more accommodating - simply the best! We had a very nice relaxing time time. We enjoyed the staff, the atmosphere and the other guests. Guess it is your turn to go.
BTW - kiting was pretty good. Went everyday but one and the last day was definitely the best - wind all day long!! Used a 12m, 10m and 8m.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dhow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Inn

Address: Paje Beach, Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at a 2-minutes-walk from the Zanzibar’s hotspot beach of Paje,Dhow Inn (4*)provides the perfect scenario for a chilled stay in one of our 28 new, comfortable and full equipped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dhow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje Dhow Hotel Paje
Dhow Inn Zanzibar/Paje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dhow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.