We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better. Far better.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added White Beach Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
White Beach Hotel Zanzibar
P.O.Box 3748, Bwejuu 3748, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Mussoorie
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You can do better. Far better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

After arriving, my friend and I waited for around 90 minutes for our room to get ready. We were told nothing except to sit down and wait for a few minutes. Once we got our room, a 10 minute walk down the beach, we saw that there were no electrical outlets and the room seemed unfinished. We asked for an extra towel (since there was only one) and an extra mosquito net for the second bed and were told "later." They never arrived. We were moved the next day to a better room and the first night was discounted.
We tried to have lunch the first day and an hour after ordering were told that it will take some time to get the food. They told us to wait until "half past." We asked what time it was now and the server didn't know. It turned out that there was no food in the restaurant which we only found out after 90 minutes of waiting.
The staff seem completely disinterested in doing their jobs. The servers will nap while there are tables needing cleaning. They do not seem to understand that direct answers will make Westerners less angry than stalling and indirect answers. Another case is the wifi. Every time it cut out we were told that the password must have changed. It cut out frequently.
The room (the second one) was hot and like others mentioned, the water was salty. I left after four days on the beach feeling dirty and exhausted.
On the positive, the beach is pretty. You won't be able to swim except between around 2PM to 6PM. The tide goes out so far that to get to water you will need to negotiate 45 mintues of walking around sea urchins and coral. Again, pretty, but I wanted to swim.
In general, everything is overpriced, moves at a snail's pace, and I will not return to Bwejuu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    5
    3
    9
See reviews for
3
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

All information, photos, with this hotel is not true!

This hotel is not for people who want rest and take sun! Total crap everywhere!

- the rooms are very dirty (I saw 2 rooms)
- water from the shower is out of the ocean (salt), and there is no pressure
- there is no air con
- windimills are scattered on the ground
- towel's are dirty
- a lot of dust
- everything is rusty
- a lot of insect's
You can see my pictures from white beach hotel

People beware for this man and this hotel. If you want have good hotel you can find near this place at the same price (with AC, where is clean, where is pool, and people are friendly)

Łukasz Dębiński

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The White Beach was a brilliant place to stay. Friendly staff, great food and gorgeous scenery. If you book, make sure you ring ahead, as we had trouble finding the place and taxi drivers don't seem to worried about taking you to other hotels!
Radek made us very welcome and we're already starting to plan another trip back. Miss it already!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zvolen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Zanzibar is wonderful. It`s really white beach. Beatiful sunrise, strong delicious drinks (try native Konyagi with coconut milk), delicious seafood, that were in the ocean last night, friendly staff... what do U need more for ideal relax? U can see chef preparing Your octopus in coconut (but only if U really want:D) To my surprise african beer is better then I though before. I hope I`ll be back again. And again. And again:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place is excelent.I love this hotel,staff.Everything was amazing.I´m gonna come back!Staff were fantastic,very tasty mealsWonderfully friendly staff !!! Hotel is in beautiful location.The rooms were so clean and beautiful.I thank the whole team of White Beach Hotel Zanzibar most beautiful vacation of my life ! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Beach Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Address: P.O.Box 3748, Bwejuu 3748, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Beach Hotel is a new small family hotel on the East Coast of the tropical island of Zanzibar. The hotel is situated directly on the beach and overlooks the beautiful fine white sands.We are about 50 km far from Stone Town airport and are easily reachable in about 50 min of transfer on paved road. The White Beach Hotel offers 6 deluxe rooms of different sizes. The rooms are exceptionally clean and all have modern, attractively tiled bathrooms. The showers have hot and cold water.We prepare seafood for you in the traditional Swahili style. There are also plenty of meat and vegetarian options on our menu. Our fully stocked bar offers a variety of cold beers, selected wines, cocktails and tropical juices.Our staff are always friendly and courteous and do their best to provide an impeccable service to all our visitors. We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your White Beach Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Beach Hotel Zanzibar Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Beach Hotel Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.