We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic, beautiful and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen Bungalows
483, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic, beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I also stayed at Evergreen very recently. It is completely idyllic, beautiful and peaceful. Please don’t let the bad review below put you off, I’m guessing that was a one off bad experience and totally wrong expectations. This place is not 5*, it is simple yet comfortable and very clean beach huts, on a beautiful Indian Ocean setting.

The food here is also extremely good. I would say that the longer you wait for the food the better and more flavoursome it is. I recommend the chili calamari and coconut octopus.
The staff here are awesome, friendly, helpful and not at all pushy. But they can help you out will all Islands trips, bike hire and also have their Diving centre onsite.
But don’t take my word for it, check it out yourselves!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My fiancé and I just returned from 11 nights at Evergreen Bungalows (we had initially planned on staying for 3-4 nights) and I cannot recommend it more highly. We were initially concerned having read the previous, non-balanced and thoroughly unhelpful review but those concerns turned out to be unfounded. This is not luxury accommodation but if you're looking for a relaxing stay on a beautiful, quiet beach in quirky fun beach huts then look no further.

And then there are the people (I was going to write 'service' but these guys are so warm and helpful that they seemed like friends by the end): warm, welcoming, helpful, fantastic. There is quite a lot of seaweed during some parts of the year but the Evergreen guys rake it away every morning so you’re left with flawless white sand. A small difference which is indicative of the level of effort these guys put in. They also make the beds up every day and lay flowers next to the fresh towels.

I miss Zanzibar and Evergreen a great deal. Thanks guys

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We couldn't believe the location when we arrived - perfect white sands, turquoise sea, hammocks - all yards from our bungalow door. Quirky fun accomodation - very comfortable. Booked only one bungalow (room) - but they gave us a second room (upstairs) for the children when we asked (no extra charge - but quiet season). Very helpful staff. Comfy bar area - open to beach. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The staff was friendly and always had smiles. They were very accommodating with the children even to the point of entertaining the kids (even the owner)! The price is excellent especially considering the fact that you are beach front. When the tide is in at night you fall asleep to the sound of the waves hitting the shore. Magnificent phosphorescence light up like stars in the sand. There are wild Red Colobus Monkeys quietly swinging in the trees outside our room. Jozani Forest is a quick trip (and organized by the hotel) from Evergreen Bungalows. My kids talk about Evergreen Bungalows because they can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

A hidden gem, nicely isolated from bigger towns. Beautiful palm-tree coastline, very nice rustic accomodation and a cosy bar with a very good restaurant offering locally-caught seafood. Idyllic. It's a nice bus trip from Stonetown, too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Evergreen is super chilled spot. Placed after Bwejuu, a bit out of main stream, makes it perfect hide away. There are few types of bungalows, depending on your preferences. I found all of them cute, either you wanna front row, back row, ground floor, open air style upper floor, etc. You have to understand that some things are simply "Zanzibar style" and this is how it is here, it is not hotel specific. Cool thing about it is that you have selection. If you're freaking out because of bugs, then don't take upper floor open air room, as...bugs will be there, you're in Africa!
Food in Evergreen was great and even cheaper then in other places. For example, octopus main dish was TSH10,000 while in other mid range places is more likely TSH13,000.
There is no wi-fi available, but you can get laptop to use whenever needed.
Staff is super nice and relaxed.
If you're couple, they cam make very special romantic dinner for you right there on the beach.
Regarding the price, very basic Zanzibar rule - do not book online. Come there and find your place, you will get it much cheaper then in advance, especially if lower season which is always better to go for if you can make it. Once resorts are empty, they will agree even for USD20 per person including breakfast :-)) Same rule applies here in Evergreen.
Beach is nice, but be aware that "tide issue" is again Zanzibar thing, it happens all around.
You can book nice trips from Evergreen. The problem is that most tourists complain about the prices expecting to pay each thing less then USD3 just because...they are in Africa and USD3 should be a lot of money here. Nope, totally wrong, Zanzibar is not Africa as you know it from UNICEF advertisements. Zanzibar is super pleasant and developed place and has nothing to do with "other Africa" you imagine. Trust me, if you find that "other Africa" in Zanzibar, you would never come back - nobody wants to see hunger and feminine on their nice honeymoon trip.
So, accept prices as they are or simply travel to Asia where you can still get things half price :-)
...most important...enjoy your holidays! Zanzibari people are extremely nice and easy going, so, if you are complaining about Zanzibar.....hmmmm

Room Tip: so many styles to choose from, depends on your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

In July 2011, three of us spent $80 per night for a second-floor room in a beach-front bungalow. Sleeping was not the most comfortable, as the mosquito nets had many holes, and the ocean breezes did not blow through as we thought they would. Use your bug spray at this place! We dined on premises the first night, and were pleased - but we had better seafood elsewhere on Zanzibar, including the crab at the place just next door. We were very disappointed that a managing employee tried to rip us off big-time by trying to arrange a taxi ride to town (Paje, a few km down the beach) with his friend, for 3+ times what it should have cost. We finished bargaining with somebody else in the area (many "independent" businesses can operate on/around the beach and resort grounds), and the employee from Evergreen Bungalows went out of his way to shut down our negotiations, because we weren't happy with the price that he tried to force us to pay his friend. As on most of Zanzibar, you should do some research ahead of time about reasonable prices to pay for transport, amenities, etc. For example, a taxi across the island from the airport should cost around 50,000 schillings ($30-35 US) - most will try to charge at least $50 - and three of us rented snorkeling equipment (with transport by car and boat out to the "blue lagoon," a few km to the north) for about $50 total.

Room Tip: Bargain for your room rate. Three of us paid a total of $80/night for a double/single bed combo in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evergreen Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Bungalows

Address: 483, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 14 rooms in 9 bungalows. 5 double storey bungalows direct on the beach offer 9 self contained rooms, each with a different touch. Furthermore there are 3 garden bungalows and a banda with 4 beds.All the rooms have been decorated using local materials to give them a unique Zanzibari feel and come complete with mosquito nets and fresh running water. Coconut wood fixtures and fittings give an exotic feel to the suites. Each bungalow has its own balcony with chairs and a table and all rooms have their own en-suite bathroom hot water.We accept credit cards and we have free Wi-Fi for in house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Evergreen Bungalows Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Evergreen Bungalows to your Saves list