We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Echo Beach Hotel
Stonetown, Bwejuu 3109 , Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Echo Beach is stunning, a truly idyllic setting. My bungalow was beautiful, with a spacious room, comfortable bed and en-suite shower room, and very close to the pool and beach. The owners Sue & Andrew are lovely, attentive but not obtrusive, as were the staff, nothing was too much trouble. I felt like family instead of a visitor. And last but not least, the food, it was absolutely gorgeous, worthy of a Michelin star.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 3, but I think they were all very good and close to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    26
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
107
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Echo Beach was quite simply stunning, from the moment we arrived we felt right at home.
The room was incredible located right on the beach I did not even wear my flip flops most of the time. The food was fantastic and all of the staff went out of their way from the get go including Ben the new manager who we met on the plane on the way to Tanzania a week beforehand! Highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to do absolutely nothing, strangely over a month later I am still fairly relaxed so Echo Beach did wonders for me! Thanks to Sue, Andrew and Team in a word Echo Beach is Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We explored several hotels on Zanzibar and Echo is a true gem. Upmarket yet cozy family-run feeling, boutique interior design blends lovely with beautiful nature.

Excellent food makes you wanna stay longer, no desire or need to go to any other restaurant during your stay.

Echo has made our Zanzibar stay so memorable as you'd hope, thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our second big family journey (we are from Germany) and we felt like a part of a big family in Zanzibar. The two rooms were so beautiful and you can see how the staff loves the detail in everything. I have loved it that there is sand on the path that leads to our rooms and not only on the beach, that was a big plus point for us.
We sometimes spotted the two little dogs in front of our rooms and it was so sweet to see they played so much during our vacation. The whole family loves dogs and it added to the family feeling we had at Echo Beach.
We have booked a half board vacation and wanted to go to other places in Zanzibar on the coast during lunch but then we tasted the food and we threw the planes overboard because it was so amazing. I don't think anywhere in Africa you taste better food (we were in South Africa earlier). The food is like a taste explosion and different everyday with different menus and innovative cusine ideas. This alone should receive a extra star in your traveller choice.
My mother is allergic to certain things and the South Africa chef asked us about our food taste and she afterwards only prepared delicious meals that my mother could eat with her allergy. She also came out after dinner and lunch and asked us about our stay, that normally doesn't happen everywhere else we have travelled. We were so well cared for.
The other staff members did not really speak English well that we could have a chat but there is a German speaking girl who conversed with us and cared for us during our whole vacation. She knew everything about the hotel and trips and how we can travel in Zanzibar. We could chat to her every night but we also wanted to chat to the Zanzibar staff.
Our rooms were so clean every day and the beach was clean too. We were in Australia before and thought this was the best beach but Echo Beach and its white sandy beach is topping it by far. We felt so relaxed that it was so hard to think about home and work.
We want to come back next year again. Thank you for this amazing time, Echo Beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at Echo Beach Hotel, Sue and Andrew ( and the dogs )could not have been more hospitable. Without prior warning they produced a surprise birthday cake and Happy Birthday sung in Swahili by the friendly staff for my wife. All the meals were varied, beautifully presented and tasted even better.
The relaxed atmosphere and lovely setting makes you very reluctant to leave. We're now planning our next trip there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I spend a lot of time travelling and staying in hotels with work and I can definitely say that this was the perfect antidote. It is an intimate hotel full of charm and character with superb hospitality. It is somewhere where you feel at the end you have been so well looked after by Sue and Andrew, you have to remind yourself this is a hotel and not someone's home (especially with the friendly dogs). The food was fantastic (the chef was kind enough to share some recipes with me) and one night for our anniversary they made a special meal just for the two of us which was served in the boat next to the beach.If you want a piece of paradise where you can really get away from it all this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have good locations and being honest the only difference appears to be your taste in furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Paradise or what? We stayed for a week early September 2013 and loved the place. Very, very friendly and Sue and Andrew who run the place could not do enough for us. The food was simply to die for being fresh, well cooked and well presented. There was always a great choice and I did not stray from fish all week. Even saw the fish arriving each morning courtesy of local fishermen.

So it's about an hour from Stone Town/airport and is smack on the beach. Really smack on. It was about 15 seconds down from the room to the beach. And the beach is one of those empty, white sand things we all dream of. There are some bigger places a few hundred yards up the beach which frankly looked totally OTT compared with Echo Beach which is so laid back. Take your choice over laid back v holiday camp. I know which I prefer. A nice pool with beds around it, by the beach and some nice shady areas when required. Given the hotel only sleeps about 20 folk, it is never going to get overly busy. It's nice not to have to be amongst too many people sometimes.

The rooms are lovely and all look similar. There are some that have an upper and a lower and ours was an upper with a patio bed outside which was great for afternoon snoozing. Rooms are nicely done and comfortable rather than plush and sumptuous. Just right for me.

The staff are all lovely and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. And Sue (Mama Sue) sorted a load of things out like taxis, trips etc for us. It was nice to have this done easily and the guy who took us to Stone Town waited all day until we were ready too come back. Although there were lots of things to do on the island, we chose to chill out and do minimalist. Walking along the beach, snorkelling and eating did it for me.

All told, this is a great place to stay and enjoy. I would say chose between lots of fellow travellers and loads of "motivator" staff or a smaller, laid back with great food. Latter is the obvious answer in case you need help. Thanks to all for a great break.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Echo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Echo Beach Bwejuu
Hotel Echo Beach
Echo Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Bwejuu
Address: Stonetown, Bwejuu 3109 , Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of ParadiseThe new Echo Beach Hotel resort offers visitors a slice of paradise on the dreamy tropical island of Zanzibar. The very name Zanzibar evokes a sense of mystique and adventure.Sue and Andrew Page, the owners of Echo Beach bought a 5 acre stretch of unspoilt beach to create a unique boutique hotel. There are now 13 individual villas combining unpretentious African architecture with state of the art technology, interior design, fixtures and fittings.Beach Villasin Unspoilt SurroundingsThe individually designed Bandas are constructed from local stone, capped with Makuti roofs and painted in the Little Green Paint Company's iridescent white to reflect the sun.Each dwelling boasts exquisitely hand carved balconies and verandas where guests can enjoy a drink in the shade. The Bandas are completely private and not overlooked, allowing visitors to relish the unspoilt surroundings and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Indian Ocean.Beachside diningDining in the beachside restaurant, decorated with designers guild fabric, in the white and turquoise of the seashore is a highly pleasurable experience, with discreet and efficient service.With a refreshing breeze blowing in from the sea, guests can unwind and relax with a decadent cocktail in the stylish bar area, where designer fabrics are teamed with Zanzibar carved furnishings. Or wander down to the unique bar on the beach, and enjoy refreshments by the sea shore.Local Dishes & International FavouritesFor those who want to get the true taste of Zanzibar there is a wealth of fresh local food on the menu, not to mention some carefully selected International favourites.The ultimate in fresh fare, produce is purchased daily, including lobster, crab, prawns and squid straight from local fisherman who come to the beach.Relax at the Beauty SpaZanzibar is the perfect place for a complete break from the hectic life most people live nowadays. If you want professional, unobtrusive service, peace and privacy to relax, then why not try our professional beauty spa and treat yourself to a complete pampering.Tours and TransfersEcho Beach is happy to arrange transfers to and from the hotel.Whilst on your holiday why not let us arrange for you to explore the magical island taking in the legendary Spice Tour. While spices no longer dominate Zanzibar's economy as they once did, there are still numerous spice plantations in the centre of the island, which make an interesting visit.Friendly and informed guides will escort you on a walking tour of the spice farms, picking bunches of leaves, fruit and twigs from bushes and trees, inviting you to smell or taste them to guess what they are.Swimming with Dolphins is also a magical experience that will not be forgotten and can easily be arranged. The Jozani Forest Tour with the colobus monkeys that are unique to Zanzibar. These are just some of the adventures you can enjoy as well as diving, fishing and snorkelling in one of the most unspoilt areas of the world. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Echo Beach Hotel to your Saves list