We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to a perfect trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Echo Beach Hotel
Save Saved
You added Echo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Stonetown, Bwejuu 3109 , Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect end to a perfect trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Choosing an hotel is very much a matter of personal taste. If you want lots of activities or service verging on the obsequious then Echo Beach is probably not for you. They can, and do, arrange trips to Stone Town, spice tours, swimming with dolphins and trips on Arab dhows etc, but the real name of the game is to unwind. Great location, your classic palm-fringed white sand beach; terrific accommodation, good size, great showers and the choice of ceiling fan over air con which we prefer; and excellent food, well balanced meals with very fresh ingredients, well prepared and presented. The English owners, Sue and Andrew, make sure they get to know all guests to ensure they are getting the most out of their holiday without being intrusive. For my wife and I it provided the perfect combination of an informal ambience, fine catering and wonderful staff. We loved the dogs too.

Room Tip: All have sea views so choose solely on size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    28
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
114
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northleach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having just spent 8 days on safari in Southern Tanzania we went to Echo Beach on Zanzibar for a rest. We could not have chosen better! Turquoise blue sea, miles of white sand, comfortable accommodation and excellent food. The perfect final destination on an unforgettable holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in lodges around a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 as part of our honeymoon having just come off the back of a 4 day safari on the mainland.

It was exactly what we needed and much more than we expected. The location is stunning, the rooms well sized and the staff could not have done more for us.

A special mention, too, for the food. Every night were it was of a fantastic standard with imaginative menus you'd pay very good money for in London.

A lovely place if you need to relax and switch off. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Echo beach for 7 nights on our honeymoon following a safari in August 2012. We have very much mixed feelings about it, positive and negative.

Positives: Fab location, relaxing, quiet, hotel area was beautiful and colourful. The tide came in twice per day and the water was lovely in the evening when warmed up from the day. The dogs are a delight (if you like dogs). Staff and Zoe, manager were friendly. Perfect for honeymooners. We had our first meal on the beach of lobster and champagne, a real treat. Also had champagne and canapés in our room after arrival (but had to ask for these). Breakfast was great. It gets dark early so everyone tends to go to leave the bar area early (approx 10 - 10.30pm) but this was fine with us and we were up early every day to catch the most of the day. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and have some great memories of Zanzibar.

Negatives: Sue and Andrew were out of the country during our stay and I think this may have impacted on the quality of the personal touch/service that we read about prior to booking. We were taken to the wrong room initially but this was rectified soon after. We booked Echo Beach mostly due to reports that the food was amazing, we love to eat and like good food. We were very disappointed the first 3 nights, the food was very salty and everything was covered in sauce, and bananas were the option for dessert 3 days in a row. The 3rd night the banana was completely unripe to the point of drying our mouths with one bite. The food did improve after this however and we had no complaints for the next 4 nights. The electrics were very dodgy in our room. We got electric shocks from the wall sockets, the tap in the bathroom and through the water from the tap and the shower head. We reported this to the manager and waited for about 2 hours for someone to come to check it out. We were unsure if someone had come (no-one knocked on our door) so we went for dinner. The next day we were assured someone did look at this but I got another electric shock from the shower head. I was terrified about having a shower and did not have one before flying back to Nairobi. When we were leaving in the taxi to go home a joke was made by management about getting a shock on the plane, this was meant as a joke but was in poor taste considering my fear of using the bathroom/shower and the fact that we both got multiple electric shocks. The air conditioning broke on the first day and it never quite worked properly after this despite being 'fixed'. We think it may have been linked to issues with the electrics. Lastly, the rug in our room was quite dirty/stained. Our room was the lower price granted, but we would still expect things to be clean. I left all the above comments in written form before I left therefore none of this should be a surprise for management. I advised Zoe verbally to get the electrics sorted before she let anyone else use this room as I was afraid someone could get seriously hurt. Despite the negatives we would stay at echo beach again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Echo Beach. First, the place looks absolutely nothing like its web page and is considerably more run down. The quality of the service was not all that good and requests for the rooms were not done unless I chased after it. Management was nowhere to be seen and probably accounts for the reasons requests were not followed up.

When requested, indeed day trips were arranged. However, I would never use their man again--he is not totally honest, confusing in his discussions over costs and certainly not used to residents who know what is going on and seems to believe that all foreigners accept being ripped off.

The food was outstanding and would be the only reason we return.

Other than that, I felt like my kids and I were more of a bother than welcome guests. On the day we left, we were the last guests (after a very quiet Easter weekend) and I would have put a bubble over everyone's head saying ''can't they just leave now?''

Beaches are abundant in Zanzibar. I think there are better places to stay comparable to the cost of Echo and will probably go somewhere else on my next visit to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

As part of my safari trip the second part was on Zanzibar at Echo beach, this hotel was just what I needed after the safari, getting to relax and unwind. The room, number 3 was great and to a very high standard, I had a lovely afternoon snooze on the veranda bed. The food was superb and as it was my 40th while there we had a lovely last night meal on the beach, with chocolate pudding cooked especially. The different cocktail each even was lovely and refreshing with the fresh fruit. The staff could not have done more when asked and was very polite. Sue & Andrew were great and there dogs were just like being at home. Echo beach is a great place to get away from it all, where you can be active if you want or you can while away your time on the beach or by the pool with a good book

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants, england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I would echoe (!) Everything that has been said: wonderful food, perfect setting and fabulous hosts. The sea is a private turquoise bath..the island was a welcome relief from Kenya loved Stone Town too. Taxi driver was so trustworthy you knew exactly what you were paying for. Prison Island great too.
The island vibe is so much more pleasant than Kenya. I have to go back, I have to!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Echo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Hotel

Address: Stonetown, Bwejuu 3109 , Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of ParadiseThe new Echo Beach Hotel resort offers visitors a slice of paradise on the dreamy tropical island of Zanzibar. The very name Zanzibar evokes a sense of mystique and adventure.Sue and Andrew Page, the owners of Echo Beach bought a 5 acre stretch of unspoilt beach to create a unique boutique hotel. There are now 13 individual villas combining unpretentious African architecture with state of the art technology, interior design, fixtures and fittings.Beach Villasin Unspoilt SurroundingsThe individually designed Bandas are constructed from local stone, capped with Makuti roofs and painted in the Little Green Paint Company's iridescent white to reflect the sun.Each dwelling boasts exquisitely hand carved balconies and verandas where guests can enjoy a drink in the shade. The Bandas are completely private and not overlooked, allowing visitors to relish the unspoilt surroundings and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Indian Ocean.Beachside diningDining in the beachside restaurant, decorated with designers guild fabric, in the white and turquoise of the seashore is a highly pleasurable experience, with discreet and efficient service.With a refreshing breeze blowing in from the sea, guests can unwind and relax with a decadent cocktail in the stylish bar area, where designer fabrics are teamed with Zanzibar carved furnishings. Or wander down to the unique bar on the beach, and enjoy refreshments by the sea shore.Local Dishes & International FavouritesFor those who want to get the true taste of Zanzibar there is a wealth of fresh local food on the menu, not to mention some carefully selected International favourites.The ultimate in fresh fare, produce is purchased daily, including lobster, crab, prawns and squid straight from local fisherman who come to the beach.Relax at the Beauty SpaZanzibar is the perfect place for a complete break from the hectic life most people live nowadays. If you want professional, unobtrusive service, peace and privacy to relax, then why not try our professional beauty spa and treat yourself to a complete pampering.Tours and TransfersEcho Beach is happy to arrange transfers to and from the hotel.Whilst on your holiday why not let us arrange for you to explore the magical island taking in the legendary Spice Tour. While spices no longer dominate Zanzibar's economy as they once did, there are still numerous spice plantations in the centre of the island, which make an interesting visit.Friendly and informed guides will escort you on a walking tour of the spice farms, picking bunches of leaves, fruit and twigs from bushes and trees, inviting you to smell or taste them to guess what they are.Swimming with Dolphins is also a magical experience that will not be forgotten and can easily be arranged. The Jozani Forest Tour with the colobus monkeys that are unique to Zanzibar. These are just some of the adventures you can enjoy as well as diving, fishing and snorkelling in one of the most unspoilt areas of the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Echo Beach Bwejuu
Hotel Echo Beach
Echo Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.