We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Echo Beach Hotel
Save
You added Echo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Stonetown, Bwejuu 3109 , Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here over New Year as part of our honeymoon to Tanzania. It really was a fantastic place and nothing was ever too much trouble for Sue, Andrew and Zoe.They even arranged champagne and canapés on our first night and a private dinner another night. The food is of a very high standard and uses the most of the fresh local produce. It is in a perfect location with views of the beach from your room and a white sandy beach to enjoy evening strolls along. It was like staying in paradise! We stayed there 7 nights and wished it could have been longer. This really was a perfect place to spend our honeymoon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    28
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
115
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karatu, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is an ideal spot for an affordable getaway in Zanzibar. The drive from the airport is only about an hour. The beach is exquisite and the service 5-star. With only 10 rooms you can be sure that you will not feel overrun by other guests. Sadly the pool water was not terribly inviting (murky and dirty) when we were there but with the ocean right there - no problem! The food was fabulous. My only complaint - I wanted to stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A big thank you to everyone at Echo Beach for the best holiday my husband and I have ever had. We stayed in room 3 which was decorated absolutely beautifully, I loved the paintings and antique furniture all very stylish. The location is idyllic pure white sand and turquoise ocean that is as warm as a bath tub, quite surreal. The pool is gorgeous as are the mature tropical gardens.

I can not fault anything from my treatments in the beauty spa to the delicious food and drink. Thank you to all the wonderful staff for attending to our every need this place makes you feel really indulged and relaxed. Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We loved the hotel, staff were excellent and food was fantastic as were the happy hour cocktails!! Definitely a must visit for Zanzibar! A very small hotel, so we received very personalised service which was great! The rooms were tastefully decorated and very well equipped!
And to top this off, this is where I got engaged!! A beautiful moonlit beach dinner with champagne was set up and everything was just perfect! I highly recommend this hotel, and particularly this part of Zanzibar is beautiful and quieter than the busy northern coast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The position of the echo beach is stunning and for most of the time you have the beach almost to yourselves.
The rooms are well decorated and each one with a personal design touch from Sue.
The Hosts Sue, Andrew and Zoe are exceptional - nothing is too much trouble and they are always ensuring you are making the most of your stay.
- we did have some issues with one of our showers working but this was dealt with quickly.
The best bit apart from the location was for us the food - it was innovative, using the local ingredients and changing day to day.
The only thing we would change was the mattress which was a bit lumpy but we coped.
A great few days in a little bit of paradise - hope we get to go back some day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in February 12 and it was excellent. Our Room was excellent complete with 4 Poster Bed great Shower Day Beds outside!! Fab Pool and Beach is how you see it in the pics. If your after total relaxation this is the place to be. The hardest thing you have to do in any given day is get up !!!! Resturant only steps away from our Room food was amazing and varied you could walk for miles on the Beach without encountering another Human Being!!! Forgot about the rest of the World here and chilled out reading and relaxing, work in a stressful environment and have to say after this holiday was ready to Bring It On !!!!! I will be back and thanks to Sue and Andrew for their wonderful hospitality !!!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We live in Dar es Salaam and went to Zanzibar for Christmas. After researching MANY hotels we chose Echo Beach. From the first enquiry Zoe (the manager) was incredibly helpful and answered any questions I had.
We were travelling with my father in law and his family and our teenage son and 20 month old toddler. Room 1 (and 1A) is ideal if you are with a baby as it is only steps away from the bar/restaurant and pool areas so we could have dinner while our toddler slept and could easily keep checking on him. They were also very accomodating about filling bottles for him and keeping them in the fridge.
The rooms are very nice with working AC and the bathrooms are excellent, with plenty of water (hot if you want). They do not turn off the electricity at any time, unlike many resorts.
The food was lovely but there was a buffet on the 26th which was mostly fish which my husband doesn't eat (note: the sides- chips, potatoes etc were not enough- one serving between 3 people and we did have to ask for more).
The pool is fantastic and deep at one end and there are plently of loungers at the pool and on the beach. The sea was a hot as a bath but the tides meant that you could only swim at certain times.
I would certainly recommend this hotel- especially to families but I imagine that some of the other rooms would be more private.

Room Tip: Room 1 is nearest the bar area so ideal if you have children to keep an eye on, but not the most pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Echo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Hotel

Address: Stonetown, Bwejuu 3109 , Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of ParadiseThe new Echo Beach Hotel resort offers visitors a slice of paradise on the dreamy tropical island of Zanzibar. The very name Zanzibar evokes a sense of mystique and adventure.Sue and Andrew Page, the owners of Echo Beach bought a 5 acre stretch of unspoilt beach to create a unique boutique hotel. There are now 13 individual villas combining unpretentious African architecture with state of the art technology, interior design, fixtures and fittings.Beach Villasin Unspoilt SurroundingsThe individually designed Bandas are constructed from local stone, capped with Makuti roofs and painted in the Little Green Paint Company's iridescent white to reflect the sun.Each dwelling boasts exquisitely hand carved balconies and verandas where guests can enjoy a drink in the shade. The Bandas are completely private and not overlooked, allowing visitors to relish the unspoilt surroundings and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Indian Ocean.Beachside diningDining in the beachside restaurant, decorated with designers guild fabric, in the white and turquoise of the seashore is a highly pleasurable experience, with discreet and efficient service.With a refreshing breeze blowing in from the sea, guests can unwind and relax with a decadent cocktail in the stylish bar area, where designer fabrics are teamed with Zanzibar carved furnishings. Or wander down to the unique bar on the beach, and enjoy refreshments by the sea shore.Local Dishes & International FavouritesFor those who want to get the true taste of Zanzibar there is a wealth of fresh local food on the menu, not to mention some carefully selected International favourites.The ultimate in fresh fare, produce is purchased daily, including lobster, crab, prawns and squid straight from local fisherman who come to the beach.Relax at the Beauty SpaZanzibar is the perfect place for a complete break from the hectic life most people live nowadays. If you want professional, unobtrusive service, peace and privacy to relax, then why not try our professional beauty spa and treat yourself to a complete pampering.Tours and TransfersEcho Beach is happy to arrange transfers to and from the hotel.Whilst on your holiday why not let us arrange for you to explore the magical island taking in the legendary Spice Tour. While spices no longer dominate Zanzibar's economy as they once did, there are still numerous spice plantations in the centre of the island, which make an interesting visit.Friendly and informed guides will escort you on a walking tour of the spice farms, picking bunches of leaves, fruit and twigs from bushes and trees, inviting you to smell or taste them to guess what they are.Swimming with Dolphins is also a magical experience that will not be forgotten and can easily be arranged. The Jozani Forest Tour with the colobus monkeys that are unique to Zanzibar. These are just some of the adventures you can enjoy as well as diving, fishing and snorkelling in one of the most unspoilt areas of the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Echo Beach Bwejuu
Hotel Echo Beach
Echo Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.