We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Echo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Echo Beach Hotel
Bwejuu | East Coast, Bwejuu 3109, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Meath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in February 12 and it was excellent. Our Room was excellent complete with 4 Poster Bed great Shower Day Beds outside!! Fab Pool and Beach is how you see it in the pics. If your after total relaxation this is the place to be. The hardest thing you have to do in any given day is get up !!!! Resturant only steps away from our Room food was amazing and varied you could walk for miles on the Beach without encountering another Human Being!!! Forgot about the rest of the World here and chilled out reading and relaxing, work in a stressful environment and have to say after this holiday was ready to Bring It On !!!!! I will be back and thanks to Sue and Andrew for their wonderful hospitality !!!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    31
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
121
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We live in Dar es Salaam and went to Zanzibar for Christmas. After researching MANY hotels we chose Echo Beach. From the first enquiry Zoe (the manager) was incredibly helpful and answered any questions I had.
We were travelling with my father in law and his family and our teenage son and 20 month old toddler. Room 1 (and 1A) is ideal if you are with a baby as it is only steps away from the bar/restaurant and pool areas so we could have dinner while our toddler slept and could easily keep checking on him. They were also very accomodating about filling bottles for him and keeping them in the fridge.
The rooms are very nice with working AC and the bathrooms are excellent, with plenty of water (hot if you want). They do not turn off the electricity at any time, unlike many resorts.
The food was lovely but there was a buffet on the 26th which was mostly fish which my husband doesn't eat (note: the sides- chips, potatoes etc were not enough- one serving between 3 people and we did have to ask for more).
The pool is fantastic and deep at one end and there are plently of loungers at the pool and on the beach. The sea was a hot as a bath but the tides meant that you could only swim at certain times.
I would certainly recommend this hotel- especially to families but I imagine that some of the other rooms would be more private.

Room Tip: Room 1 is nearest the bar area so ideal if you have children to keep an eye on, but not the most pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My partner and I had about 17 days in Unguja and Pemba (jointly called Zanzibar) and I think Echo Beach (stayed 3 nights) had to be our favourite beach resort. It was very quiet (November) but I think at any time, this resort would retain its very personal, intimate atmosphere. The individual bungalows were really lovely - clean, great bed, huge bathroom and walk-in shower with loads of hot water. Above all, the food was fantastic! Breakfasts were the best anywhere in Tanzania. It was very luxurious at a very good price. The tide goes out a long way here so swimming in the ocean is only possible twice a day but they also have a lovely pool so that you can enjoy a dip at other times.

I chose this place because it sounded good on TA but also because there were lots of other places that sounded good but didn't have pools and we were worried about the tides. It was a fantastic choice.

Thanks so much Sue, Zoe, Alan and all the staff at Echo Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed great as they're single bungalows facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was a 4 day trip to Echo Beach, linked to a safari trip to Tanzania. We were both very happy with the excellent Echo Beach Hotel with an amazing location and wonderful laid back atmosphere. As the owners were away in UK, Zoe was our charming host who looked after us amazingly well. We feel that she really made the effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. For a young lady she has a great future in the hospitality business.

The whole Echo Beach experience was as we expected - good room, great beach, amazing diving and wonderful food where the chef spoke to us each day discussing our options and choices for lunch and the evening meal. Yes, this was low season, so we could expect some extra effort from the staff but it was clear that they really cared about our stay and tried to make it as special as possible.

A word about the dogs - yes the owners do have dogs but they are very friendly and well behaved and in no way detract from a wonderful experience. in my view, much better to have a couple of nice dogs than screaming kids!!

Overall top marks - highly recommended. Many thanks to Echo Beach for making my birthday so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great rooms with seaview. Me and my boyfriend googled Great Food Zanzibar and got recommended to stay at Echo Beach, and we did not get disappointed. Adding to the delicious food, we got to stay in a nice cottage with a wonderful little porch where you could lie on the daybed and listen to the sea. The hotel lived up to its Echo name in a good way, it was simply up to the guests to choose how environmental they wanted to be and I really appreciated the chance for me to make good decisions. One thing I missed was a fruit buffé at breakfast but rather that then to expect lots of food being thrown away.

The hotel felt very personal, the beach was nice and quiet and the staff was very helpful and service minded. I would especially recommend this place to couples and groups who would like a quiet and peaceful (romantic) stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms, food beyond reproach, stunning views. Huge showers with lots of hot water. Just loved the place and the staff was warm and welcoming. Had an amazing massage....just can't say enough about this place! Thanks Sue!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at the Echo Beach for 3 nights after Kilimanjaro Climb and Safari Tour.
Perfect choice!
Even thought I arrived late after dinner, the office manager Zawadi asked the kitchen stuff to wait for me and prepare a dinner whenever I'm ready. She and her co-worker Prosper took my luggage to my Ocean View Bungalow and explained everything about the bungalow and the resort. The room was clean, with good air condition, nice linen and soft towels.The four post beds were comfortable with firm mattrace. Beds had mosquito nets, but during my stay there were no mosquito.
My dinner was delicious. I met the chief Shadow, such a caring man. On my last day i had to pack and did not come for a dinner. He was concerned that I might be hungry on my way home.
My favorite drink although I'm not a drinker, was Mohio prepared by Prosper. All bartenders were pleasant and made great drinks. The waitresses were little slow and not always understood what it was to them but it didn't bother me that much.
I met the owners of this boutique resort; Sue and Andrew and their cute dogs.
They were always interested how my day was and if everything was to my liking.

I booked this resort with a meal plan (breakfast and dinner) which I would recommend. Good choices on the menu, delicious food, coffee, juices, and fruit cups for breakfast.

My bungalow, #6 was very close to the beach, massage hut and the pool. It was situated in the best part of the resort and very private.
This resort is situated on a long stretch of white sand beach, however, when I was there, there was a lot of sea weed.
For those who enjoy water activities, you can go for a snorkeling tip or scuba diving. There is a dive shop on the property. I payed $35,00 for nearly 2 hours of snorkeling off a rustic wooden boat :-0)
I enjoyed the excursion and appreciate the extra time I was allowed to stay. My guide dove down to show me and let me feel a red starfish, beautiful shells an pointed unique coral. s
The next day I went scuba diving . It was awesome dive! There was just me and another person from another resort, I prefer to be in small group What i have seen on this one dive, I have never seen anywhere else! I have aprox 85 dives behind me, and dove in Hawaii, Tahiti, Carribean Sea (many countries). The soft coral around Bwejuu is spectacular! The variety and abundance of it blew me away!!!
Thank you Leonard for organizing my dive, this experience will stay with me for a very long time.

For those who enjoy loud music and dancing, you can take a taxi to town and spend your energy dancing all night. Sue and Andrew or a stuff member can arranged a drop off and a pick up for you.
This resort was perfect to rest and recover after roughing out on the mountain and safari.
Gentle winds, soft white sand, warm water, delicious food, hot but not scorching sun.....
Ah...all I need before getting back home to busy life and cold weather.

Thank you Sue, Andrew, Zawadi, Prosper, Shadow, Maria, Suzanna and all stuff for making the end of my vacation complete and memorable one. You will stay in my thoughts and hard like a tattoo, for a long long time.

Jola B.
Toronto

Room Tip: If I was going to come back to this resort, I would pick bungalow #6. It is a ground floor room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
1.0 mi away
Anna of Zanzibar
Anna of Zanzibar
#3 of 13 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
25.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 148 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
20.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
36.0 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Hotel

Address: Bwejuu | East Coast, Bwejuu 3109, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of ParadiseThe new Echo Beach Hotel resort offers visitors a slice of paradise on the dreamy tropical island of Zanzibar. The very name Zanzibar evokes a sense of mystique and adventure.Sue and Andrew Page, the owners of Echo Beach bought a 5 acre stretch of unspoilt beach to create a unique boutique hotel. There are now 10 individual villas combining unpretentious African architecture with state of the art technology, interior design, fixtures and fittings.Beach Villasin Unspoilt SurroundingsThe individually designed Bandas are constructed from local stone, capped with Makuti roofs .Each dwelling boasts exquisitely hand carved balconies and verandas where guests can enjoy a drink in the shade. The Bandas are completely private and not overlooked, allowing visitors to relish the unspoilt surroundings and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Indian Ocean.Beachside diningDining in the beachside restaurant, decorated with designers guild fabric, in the white and turquoise of the seashore is a highly pleasurable experience, with discreet and efficient service.With a refreshing breeze blowing in from the sea, guests can unwind and relax with a decadent cocktail in the stylish bar area, where designer fabrics are teamed with Zanzibar carved furnishings. Or wander down to the unique bar on the beach, and enjoy refreshments by the sea shore.Local Dishes & International FavouritesFor those who want to get the true taste of Zanzibar there is a wealth of fresh local food on the menu, not to mention some carefully selected International favourites.The ultimate in fresh fare, produce is purchased daily, including lobster, crab, prawns and squid straight from local fisherman who come to the beach.Relax at the Beauty SpaZanzibar is the perfect place for a complete break from the hectic life most people live nowadays. If you want professional, unobtrusive service, peace and privacy to relax, then why not try our professional beauty spa and treat yourself to a complete pampering.Tours and TransfersEcho Beach is happy to arrange transfers to and from the hotel.Whilst on your holiday why not let us arrange for you to explore the magical island taking in the legendary Spice Tour. While spices no longer dominate Zanzibar's economy as they once did, there are still numerous spice plantations in the centre of the island, which make an interesting visit.Friendly and informed guides will escort you on a walking tour of the spice farms, picking bunches of leaves, fruit and twigs from bushes and trees, inviting you to smell or taste them to guess what they are.Swimming with Dolphins is also a magical experience that will not be forgotten and can easily be arranged. The Jozani Forest Tour with the colobus monkeys that are unique to Zanzibar. These are just some of the adventures you can enjoy as well as diving, fishing and snorkelling in one of the most unspoilt areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Echo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Beach Bwejuu
Hotel Echo Beach
Echo Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.