We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, boutique and fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Echo Beach Hotel
Save Saved
You added Echo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Stonetown, Bwejuu 3109 , Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unique, boutique and fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have just returned after spending 12 nights at this wonderful boutique 'resort', which is probably longer than a lot of people stay but we felt really lucky to be staying so long. We chose Echo Beach because we don't like big, busy all inclusive resorts but we do want good food, attentive service, a bit of TLC and also we look for dive facilities. Echo beach had all this and so much more. We had a very stressful journey to Zanzibar after Kenya Airways saw fit to cancel our flight and so taking 48 hours off our 2 week holiday - don't fly with them if you can help it!! I think it is fair to say I was not in a good mood on our arrival and I did find fault with a couple of minor points but these were immediately put right and I managed to get into a more relaxed frame of mind.
We had a very large room with 6' four poster bed, with quiet and very efficient air conditioning,huge bathroom/wet room, a lovely balcony with a day bed, sofa and coffee table and a wonderful view straight across the pool and gardens over the beautiful ocean and reef beyond. The tide does go out a long way but when it comes in it is truly beautiful. We were lucky during our first week with the tides and managed to go snorkeling right in front of the hotel and saw some lovely fish - not very big but more than we thought we would and the water is so very very warm. The second week the tide was a very high one and so the water came right up to the hotel but this meant the visability was not good for snorkeling - but it was great for swimming! When the tide goes out it reveals lovely rock pools etc and it was great to put on sandals and wander through it and see the local people looking for shellfish etc. When the tide is out you can turn either left or right from the hotel garden and walk either into the local village of Bwejuu (about an hours walk) or you can go in the other direction and pass a few larger resorts - none of which looked particularly inviting compared to ours. If you walk towards the village you pass a few beach bars and back packer type resorts and it made a lovely outing stopping for a beer etc. We used African Blue Divers who have a base at the hotel and our dive master was called Bakari. We only ever dive when on holiday and so not very experienced but Bakari was great and we felt very well looked after and we saw a good selection of fish and lovely corals.
Water and electricity are in short supply in Zanzibar but when the power goes off the hotel generator kicks in and so there's no problem. The water comes from a well and so can be a bit salty which takes a little getting used to and it does cause a few decorative issues in the bathrooms where it splashes the wood and chrome but the shower was very powerful and there was always a good supply of lovely hot water - take some good shower gel though as it is quite difficult working up any lather with regular soap! Lovely thick towels are changed regularly and beach towels are also provided. The plugs are normal UK three pins so all our chargers/hair dryers worked fine. There is free wi-fi but it worked best when near the bar area rather than in the rooms.
There are only about 10 rooms here and so it never feels busy so each evening everyone gathers in the cosy bar for drinks and nibbles before dinner. It was a lovely time where you could chat with other guests if you wanted to, or play cards , check e mails etc. The bar prices are extremely reasonable. The menu changed nightly and and there was always a choice of three starters, 4 or 5 main courses followed by a dessert or various ice creams. The food was absolutely delicious - the chefs do a fabulous job and the waiting staff were superb and very friendly - they all try and remember your names and make you feel so very welcome. It was truly like going out to a lovely restaurant for a meal every night - not like turning up for yet another buffet which is becoming so normal these days in big resorts. Susan and Andrew were always around during the evening and they made everyone feel like true friends - they are indeed perfect hosts and they both work so very hard and nothing seems too much trouble for them. I stupidly forgot to take some prescription medication with me but Sue arranged with a pharmacist in Stonetown to get me some and it was flown in from Dubai the next day and Andrew went to fetch it for me - what service- they wouldn't even take any money for it!
I am not a dog lover and I was a bit concerned at first when I saw the Great Dane but he is so very well behaved and just lies down and ignores you unless you make a fuss of him.
The pool is great and is filled with fresh water and kept immaculately clean. The sunbeds I thought looked a bit 'rickerty' - but they were actually very comfortable - just made by the locals with wood and ropes but with a cushion on they were so much more comfortable than the 'posher' wooden versions. There are plenty of them both around the pool area and along the beach frontage where there was also lovely thatched umbrella/rondells for a bit of welcome shade. The waiting staff brought drinks out to the beach and were also quite happy to serve lunch to you on the beach should you require it.
Echo Beach in our opinion was really wonderful and we will treasure our memories for a long time - thank you so much to all concerned and especially to Susan and Andrew who work so hard to ensure their guests have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    28
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
113
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is barefoot living. Right on the beach, which did have a lot of seaweed on it but this wasn't a problem. Probably not the place for folk who want excellent snorkelling and diving as the beach is very shallow. Rooms are fine if a bit dark, the verandah areas are excellent. Food is simple but generally very well cooked. Not the place to come if you don't like dogs as there are 3 around Lovely swimming pool..

It grew on us day by day and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Run by Sue and Andrew who are the most helpful and caring hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My friends and I came to Zanzibar expecting a quiet, reasonably priced holiday, but the hotel delivered so much more. We stayed for a week and I can say it was one of the most magnificent trips I've ever had. The staff were lovely, the food was amazing and we were occupied with one activity or another the entire time. The resort is right on the beach so one minute we could be snorkelling or out fishing with the locals, next moment we would be lounging in the sun by the pool. We rode bikes, kite boarded, several scuba dives, we simply couldn't have asked for more. Zanzibar is an amazing place and Echo Beach is simply a fantastic place to take advantage of

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We visited Echo beach as part of a large group as our son was getting married at another resort on the island. We were very well looked after by all of the staff who made sure that we had everything that we wanted. they arranged a couple of trips including going fishing with local fishermen in traditional boats and cooking the catch for us to try. They made my son and daughter in law really welcome even giving them a room on the night after the wedding free of charge so that they could spend more time with all of us.
The setting was fantastic - the rooms were lovely, the beach pure white sand and the bar and restaurant were well stocked

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My family and I have just spent five amazing nights at Echo Beach and all we can say is THANK YOU! The staff and service were fantastic and the food to die for, seriously I think I put on several kilograms. The location is beautiful and intimate and my five year old son had an absolute ball. As a family we visited national parks, snorkelled, went sailing on a dhow, rode bikes on the beach, and of course spent countless hours in the ocean and in the pool. We took a small fold-up kite and flew that at sunset. The massages were great and I did several dives on nearby reefs. We could not have asked for more, well aside from more time there! Again, thank you for a wonderful, wonderful holiday.

Jason, Megan and Will

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at Echo Beach hotel in early dec for 4 nights with our 14 year old daughter and our 11 year old son. The hotel was quiet as it was off season, but we didnt mind. The setting is really beautiful, right on the beach with lovely gardens, inidividual villas with big verandas and a nice big thatched roof dining/lounge area. In the center of the grounds is a ( smallish, by resort standards) pool. We chose Echo Beach because we were specifically NOT looking for a big resort setting with buffet style food. And we were looking for a truly idyllic setting. In all three areas Echo Beach did not disappoint. The food was lovely, incorporating fresh local ingredients into home cooked tasty dishes. For dinner, the menu offers a selection of al a carte items each night, normally there was one meat option, one vegetarian option and 2 fish options, as well as a selection of starters. Breakfast was also excellent and included in our half board package along with dinner. The staff were friendly and attentive but not overbearing, which can sometimes be the case when a hotel is not busy, but we did not experience this. Alex, the manager was lovely, very friendly and helpful, even preparing a fresh aloe mixture for my daughter one day when she got a bit sunburnt. We took two trips - one to see the dolphins, and one snorkling trip. Both of these we arranged with the guys that walk the beaches , instead of through the hotel - they were less expensive and we had no problems. Our snorkling trip actually turned out to be on one of the old wooden outrigger boats which the fishermen use instead of a tourist boat which we were not expecting, but we loved it! Our suggestions for travellers: this is a very chilled out place, proably mostly for couples and honeymooners, if you bring small children bring things for them to do - as it not a place with activities for kids. Our kids were fine as they are older, but little ones might get bored. There are dogs about the place,two of them that belong to the onwers and one stray that was around at the time when we were there. We like dogs so no problem for us and they were all really friendly, one is still a pup, so my kids enjoyed playing with him. The tide goes far out in the morning, so there is a portion of the late morning /early afternoon when you can really swim unless you wanted to walk all the way out - this is an interesting thing to do as you can see the exposed seabed and all the sea life, but bring some water shoes for this as there are spiky sea urchins about. Overall we loved our trip it was a perfect getaway for us in a truly beautiful setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We came to Echo Beach as day guests together with our three small children. Our oldest boy, aged 5, was playing in the sand on the hotel premises, when suddenly a young bull terrier jumped on him, barking loudly, and only letting go of him when my husband caught him by the collar and dragged him away.

The bull terrier is the hotel owner's. We brought him to the staff in the restaurant area and they were very apologetic. When we saw the owner later taking the dog (unleashed) for a walk on the beach, we approached her and told her about the incident. She was very defensive, saying as day guests we "didn't belong" there and she wasn't "responsible" for us. She advised us to "go home". She did, however, take the dog on the lead as she walked on.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Echo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Hotel

Address: Stonetown, Bwejuu 3109 , Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of ParadiseThe new Echo Beach Hotel resort offers visitors a slice of paradise on the dreamy tropical island of Zanzibar. The very name Zanzibar evokes a sense of mystique and adventure.Sue and Andrew Page, the owners of Echo Beach bought a 5 acre stretch of unspoilt beach to create a unique boutique hotel. There are now 13 individual villas combining unpretentious African architecture with state of the art technology, interior design, fixtures and fittings.Beach Villasin Unspoilt SurroundingsThe individually designed Bandas are constructed from local stone, capped with Makuti roofs and painted in the Little Green Paint Company's iridescent white to reflect the sun.Each dwelling boasts exquisitely hand carved balconies and verandas where guests can enjoy a drink in the shade. The Bandas are completely private and not overlooked, allowing visitors to relish the unspoilt surroundings and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Indian Ocean.Beachside diningDining in the beachside restaurant, decorated with designers guild fabric, in the white and turquoise of the seashore is a highly pleasurable experience, with discreet and efficient service.With a refreshing breeze blowing in from the sea, guests can unwind and relax with a decadent cocktail in the stylish bar area, where designer fabrics are teamed with Zanzibar carved furnishings. Or wander down to the unique bar on the beach, and enjoy refreshments by the sea shore.Local Dishes & International FavouritesFor those who want to get the true taste of Zanzibar there is a wealth of fresh local food on the menu, not to mention some carefully selected International favourites.The ultimate in fresh fare, produce is purchased daily, including lobster, crab, prawns and squid straight from local fisherman who come to the beach.Relax at the Beauty SpaZanzibar is the perfect place for a complete break from the hectic life most people live nowadays. If you want professional, unobtrusive service, peace and privacy to relax, then why not try our professional beauty spa and treat yourself to a complete pampering.Tours and TransfersEcho Beach is happy to arrange transfers to and from the hotel.Whilst on your holiday why not let us arrange for you to explore the magical island taking in the legendary Spice Tour. While spices no longer dominate Zanzibar's economy as they once did, there are still numerous spice plantations in the centre of the island, which make an interesting visit.Friendly and informed guides will escort you on a walking tour of the spice farms, picking bunches of leaves, fruit and twigs from bushes and trees, inviting you to smell or taste them to guess what they are.Swimming with Dolphins is also a magical experience that will not be forgotten and can easily be arranged. The Jozani Forest Tour with the colobus monkeys that are unique to Zanzibar. These are just some of the adventures you can enjoy as well as diving, fishing and snorkelling in one of the most unspoilt areas of the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Echo Beach Bwejuu
Hotel Echo Beach
Echo Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.