We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speechless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant to your Saves list
Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 870, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Speechless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I spent only a few days there with my very good friend and we couldn't have asked for anything better. I could not believe the amazing views, just breath taking. The staff were so nice, they did not disturb you, if you did not want them to clean your room they didn't but the offer was there every single day. The food was lovely and fresh it was so good and full of lovely flavours that to this day still make my mouth water just when I think of it. The first evening I parked our Jeep outside of the gate and they came to our room, in a very nice manor and advised us to move the Jeep to the inside where it would be more safe, i have never been to a place where any of the staff would be so caring for our safety.
The owners are very friendly as well, they give great tips not just about the surrounding areas but also about other places to visit. They have managed to create a very relaxed, stress free atmosphere which draws you in and keeps you feeling the same way. Hakuna Matata

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    58
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
99
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Perfect rustic holiday, away from the 5 star holiday set. Excellent long walks and bike rides up and down the coast. Our accomodation was on the beach, cleaned every day, had an intact mozi net, fan and wet room and big bed. The managers/owners (Laura and Renato) where more than helpful whilst being hands off perfect for a relaxing holiday. The food was fresh from the sea and if you needed it quickly you can pre order for a time slot. But why you would want anything to happen quickly here beats us! Whilst it is a malarial zone we didnt get bitten once (a first for me as I even get bitten in England) we saw no cockroaches or Rats etc and never had any illnesses. If you want activities they are easily arranged and not far away. If you want to read a book with white sand between your toes (It is tidal and the sea is on your door step so yes there is some seaweed but also beautiful red star fish in rock pools) and get fed well without the fuss of a posh restraurante and sleep without the pumping music of bars around you this is the place to be. We have travelled widely including Mozambique, Madagascar, Mauritius and South Africa within this zone over several years but this is the place we will visit again for a perfect 2 week break without the hassle. This is the first trip advisor we have every written and we are reluctant to send this out as we want to keep it a secret!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

It is one of the best places I ever stayed! So relaxing, good service, excellent food, beach is marvellous, people so kind, clean, u neber feel overpaying pricrs are fair, if ur lucky there is hatdly anybody in the neighbouring places and u have the whole beach for yourself etc etc... a little peace of heaven on earth....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After traveling around in Zanzibar for a couple of weeks, we finally found the paradise at Twisted Palms!
The location is perfect, on a quiet beach far away from the hassle up north, and it's hard to find a more relaxing place than this.
Laura and Renato were really great and helpful in every way and they, along with the staff, made us feel very welcome from the beginning.
We highly recommend Twisted Palms to everyone looking for the paradise on Zanzibar!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at Twisted Palms 6 days in the beginning of January. It was great.

Unfortunately I got ill (bad fever), so most of the days we had to stay at Twisted Palms. I almost was glad to be ill - could there be a better place in the world to just stay and relax! Renate and Laura were very helpful, not only with medication, but with whatever we asked about.

And the staff - so nice, warm and friendly, all of them. I saw that Flora was mentioned in another review, yes, she is lovely. Rachid, the chef, has got a lot of cred in several reviews, and he is just that good. The cuisine is excellent and much more than you expect to find on the beach of Bwejuu!

There are two women selling stuff in a small shop just outside the restaurant. Salama is one of them and she was also very nice and great to talk to. And the prices in the shop are right!

We stayed in a hill bungalow. It was very clean (nice flowers every day o the bed!), nice and quiet. Just a few steps from the beach. For us it was perfect.

We have travelled a lot to different continents and Twisted Palms is definitely one of top 5. I read the bad review from January. Let me comment on that: Twisted Palms is not Hilton, and I hope it never will be. If your looking for expensive luxury, don´t go to Twisted Palms. But if your looking for nice people, friendly atmosphere, clean and simple accomodation (simple - but you have everything you need) on a very special beach (yes, with tides) - why don´t you try Twisted Palm!

We really hope to come back!

With love from
Helena & Hakan, Sweden

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toscana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We think that TWISTED PALMS goes beyond what words can explain... how would you describe a place which is perfect in location, accommodation, cousine, hygene.... we felt like home! The owners Renato e Laura are real professionists in hotel management, very welcoming, hospitable, always there to help but never invasive. The staff is well trained and friendly. The chef Rachid has a great passion for food and changes the menu daily, he went above and beyond his way to satisfy our expectations and always succeded on it!
We stayed in this little paradise for 20 days and wish we could have stayed longer!
To clarifay the "bad experience" review, we would like to say that we stayed in both beach front and hill rooms. The beach front rooms are litterately on the beach and the only sound you hear is the ocean. the hill rooms are only few steps away from the beach and don't think it was dangerous to get there!

We hope we will go back to Zanzibar sometime, GRAZIE RENATO E LAURA, for making our holiday one of the most memorable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in Twisted Palms for 12 nights and our goal was just to chill and relax. We were VERY pleasantly surprised when we arrived...the rooms, food, service, staff and location surely EXCEEDED our expectations.

Renato and Laura who run the place provided us with all practical information straight away when we checked in and there was no "surprises" on the existing conditions. Information was presented to us sincerely, straight forward and "as it is". Big point for that!

We stayed in the bungalow up on the hill and we just LOVED IT! Quiet, serene atmosphere with lots of nocturnal activity. Don't be suprised to spot a couple of Great Galagos on the trees there, or a monkey wondering during the night in the bushes. Mind that bungalow is very well "protected" from all the bugs with nets in the windows and "everyday moskito spray service".

As we all know... it is the PEOPLE who makes the place... so that's why we would like to give a HUGE CREDIT to the STAFF of Twisted Palms! You vere fantastic and we will not forget you. HUGE CREDIT to the kitchen CHEFS of course, who were making FANTASTIC "fusion" food, between italian and local cuisine. You have to try "Chapatizza" which just recently appeared on the menu :) Soups, starters, pastas, fish - LOBSTER - and seafood dishes, burger with chapati.... all tasty, fresh and nam nam... and the menu is changing every day!!!

Another BIG plus - an everyday tide schedule - gives you an opportunity to plan when you can take a swim in high tide or wonder around in the dried pond during the low tide. If you have a problem with lack of the sea from time to time than think again about coming to Zanzibar as this is normal all over the island.

We are rating this place with highest points and encourage travelers ( not tourists) to come, vist and appreciate the effort which Renato and Laura put in this place to make it so charming, organized, friendly and relaxing.

However If you are after Charter Tourist - Queue to the food - Queue to the sea Place - do not come to Twisted Palms as you might accidently spoil it :)

Thank you for a great hospitality Renato, Laura, all the Staff and Masai of course!

Greetings from cold and snowy Norway
Justyna ( Niam niam) and Audun ( Mario Mac Lobster)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant

Address: P.O. Box 870, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave at home all things superfluous as at Twisted Palms you will find all you need to spend the holiday: the long beach of white sand for endless walks; a hot shower to cuddle yourself after a swim in the ocean. Also a meal that merges Zanzibar's materials with professional Italian-style service awaits on our stilt house beachside restaurant Find just one good reason not to catch up with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twisted Palms Lodge And Restaurant
Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Bwejuu
Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.