We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lodging on Zanzibar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palms
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu, Zanzibar, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Get 10% discount
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lodging on Zanzibar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at The Palms....a magnificent beach side resort on Zanzibar...and were exceptionally pleased at the understated yet elegant beauty found here. The resort hosted about six rooms only...each free standing "room" was really a two room suite, completely separate units sprinkled about on a small but beautifully landscaped property. The food was exceptionally gourmet-- the service perfectly attentive without the usual stuffiness that sometimes comes with properties this upscale. Our only complaint was the TV/DVD player...very low quality equipment with significant sound/speaker issues. When we selected this property...we read all the Tripadvisor ratings and noticed issues with TV equipment reported...but since that report was awhile back we assumed it had been attended to appropriately. No luck. With daily rates this steep....one expected higher quality TV...but since we were in paradise--at any rate, the TV watching was minimal at best. We noticed how the staff really paid attention to our wants/needs....very good at anticipating customer wants/needs. One example was....we were on our honeymoon.....and the last night of our stay we went off to the delightfully romantic open air restaurant for dinner on a veranda overlooking the Super Moon that evening....a 5 piece live Arabic band playing exotic melodies....only to return to our room that night to a surprisingly romantically candle lit bathroom...bathtub filled with scented oils....and champagne on ice waiting for us. Flower blossoms floating in the water. It was beautiful and completely a surprise for us. This property is exceptionally well managed, friendly and helpful. The staff trained in customer service to a tee. We would return here at a moment's notice. Perfect honeymoon locale.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room called Jasmine....but if you are looking for even more privacy....try Cinnamon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A spectacular place to visit that certainly leaves you with an experience and memory worth treasuring for a lifetime. We were two couples who had an amazing 4 days period of relaxation at The Palms after our adventurous safaris. It is an amazing peaceful place located on the south eastern coast of the beautiful island that has everything one can wish for and that leaves you in a magical state of mind. Our spacious villas ( two among the total 6 private villas in the resort) were beautifully designed in an elegant manner that offers all the luxurious comforts and facilities one can ask for that get topped by a private outdoor pool and a bed to enjoy the long views of the Indian ocean. Apart from the incredible surroundings and offerings, we were absolutely amazed by the level of hospiltality and quality of service /attention provided by the staff at all levels. The manager on ground 'Siriak' is highly complimented for his service , his remarkable attention to details and his continuous availability at all times to ensure our relaxation throughout the stay. Other staff are equally thanked for their attentiveness at all times to make sure we were pampered ( Robert, Vuai, Kibalabala , Fatuma). A special and worthy compliment is highly extended to the chef 'William' and his team who continuously served exotic and unique dishes that left us with a wonderful dining experience which took place on continuously changing venues and locations that were created daily by the staff with a maximum level of caring and attentiveness. We also had the pleasure of visiting the two wonderful neighboring sister resorts and experiencing their facilities, wide variety of activities and generous selection of offerings. The spa is another beautiful setting where we enjoyed a marvelous treatment that left us in a relaxed, stress- free and floating spirit - it was an amazing therapy.
This is definitely not our last visit to The Palms in the beautiful island of Zanzibar- we highly recommend this ultimate getaway which is in fact as described and to the highest extent indeed 'a sanctuary for those in search of tranquility ....a place to stimulate the senses'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We loved our few days at The Palms this June post-safari. Located on the beautiful Indian Ocean, it had everything we wanted - spacious villa, private beach banda overlooking the fabulous white coral sand beach (perfect for long walks), gourmet food and, above all, a super-friendly staff that spoilt us rotten. A great place for R&R, with a refined colonial club feel, meticulous maintenance and every convenience. Lots of ocean activities are available for the adventurous - the resort provides water shoes for exploring the ocean floor on foot at low tide, Free access to the two sister resorts on either side was a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranas, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

By far the most amazing place I ever stayed in. As I work as a travel agent and didn't pay anything myself I can't say very much about value but however, everything about The Palms is just brilliant. Sooo very kind and friendly staff, from the Manager to the staff around the bar. I travelled on my own and just for 1 night but please bring your love and stay here a few more nights. It's so peaceful, so quiet, amazing food and drinks, the villas have everything you can ask for, luxury and spacious. I hope I will come back one day!

Room Tip: Any of the villas are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for a week at The Palms on Zanzibar - and have to say that it is the best resort we have ever stayed at.

Apart from the wonderful location, the small number of cottages (6) and the incredibly peaceful surroundings, we were absolutely amazed at the quality of service, the food and the wonderful hospitality shown by staff at all levels. The General Manager (Siriak) needs to be complimented for his extraordinary attention to detail and we noticed that he was available at all times to make sure that we were relaxing and enjoying our stay. He was amazing. Our wait staff were equally attentive - Kibalabala, Vuai, Robert and Fatuma - and we have never been so spoilt as we were this past week.

A special mention also needs to be made to the hidden wonder of a chef - William. To him and his team (Moosa, Ngwale and others), the food you prepared has equalled or surpassed anything we have eaten from anywhere around the world. The cherry on the cake was the cooking demonstration William and Ngwale gave us the one lunchtime !

The cottages are very large, well-appointed and the wifi in each cottage ensures that you are able to communicate as needed with the outside world. TV - there was just no time for it and, anyway, who wants to watch TV when you are in such idyllic surroundings. Housekeeping were also attentive and our thanks to them for keeping it spotless and well maintained. They never disturbed us once for cleaning and everything just happened.

This is not going to be our last visit to The Palms and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Zanzibar and wanting to relax and be very well looked after in idyllic surroundings.

Room Tip: Cinnamon is by far the best. It is closest to the beach and extremely private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This property is like home, its small, just 6 unique spacious & luxurious private Villas with their own plunge pools. Private beach bandas / cabanas. Total flexibility to eat when you want, what you want and where you want, the only fixed guarantee is that all the spreads are sinfully delicious. The Spa is secluded and by the sea. Its colonial, warm hues and wooden feel....

I loved this place as it also reminded me of some such places back home in Kerala....For those looking for complete privacy and seclusion this is a good choice!

Room Tip: You may request for the Cinammon Villa since it is at the end and the most secluded, but in any case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Bromley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fantastic honeymoon destination - six thatched cottages it felt like each cottage had four or five staff making sure every need was met. Food was delicious perhaps a bit rich at times but William the head chef was happy to cook favourites. Try the Zanzibar lobster - delicious! Siri the manager of this hotel was excellent - anything we requested was no trouble. We enjoyed the BBQ on the beach and on valentines day the lunch for two on the beach. The rose pettle bath with bottle of champagne was superb. Faultless!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms

Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Bwejuu
The Palms Hotel
Palms Hotel Bwejuu
Palms Resort All Inclusive Bwejuu
The Palms Zanzibar/Bwejuu
Address: Bwejuu, Zanzibar, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palms 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the peaceful south eastern coast of the island, lying on an untouched award-winning beach, "The Palms" is the ultimate getaway retreat providing a stunning recluse for the discerning traveler. It is a sanctuary for those in search of tranquility ... a place to stimulate the senses and to experience the very best of the magical island of Zanzibar. The six private villas are beautifully designed creating an atmosphere of relaxed, understated elegance. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Palms to your Saves list