We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All honeyed up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Palms
Save Saved
You added The Palms to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymooners' Offer
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
Abbots Bromley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All honeyed up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fantastic honeymoon destination - six thatched cottages it felt like each cottage had four or five staff making sure every need was met. Food was delicious perhaps a bit rich at times but William the head chef was happy to cook favourites. Try the Zanzibar lobster - delicious! Siri the manager of this hotel was excellent - anything we requested was no trouble. We enjoyed the BBQ on the beach and on valentines day the lunch for two on the beach. The rose pettle bath with bottle of champagne was superb. Faultless!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for one week back in December 2012 (after moving on from another part of the island) and can honestly say that it was the best place that we have ever stayed.

Food was fantastic - each day for lunch and dinner we had something new. For those complaining that 5 courses was too much - you can easily tell the staff that you dont want to each so much and they will tailor the meal for you. Nothing is too much / a problem for them, they will always do whatever they can to help and make you comfortable. Terry and all of the staff were very attentive, polite and very very kind. They knew that we loved chocolate so on our very last day they made us a delicious chocolate tart! It was my birthday while we were out there and I was treated so well. I had a complimentary massage and a delicious chocolate cake after dinner!

We stayed in Villa Jasmine which was lovely and spacious for the x2 of us. It was very clean, spacious and yes of course there are mosquitos but what do you expect in a hot/humid climate. Take some repellant and stop complaining! Also yes the TV signal was not great but seriously who cares!? You have the beautiful, unspoilt beach 10 seconds away from your front door (as well as a private banda), so what does the TV matter?

Cannot say enough nice things about The Palms, other than I wish we stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If Zanzibar is an unspoilt pristine island and Paje beach is probably the best area where to stay. The Palms is definitely the best resort for those who look for an intimate, bespoke and very personal experience. We stayed ( unfortunately ) only one night during a site inspection and it was fantastic. There are only 6 villas , all with private plunge and patio with daybed. The rooms are beautifully decorated with exquisite taste. Terry the manager and all the staff are friendly and professional and nothing seems to be a trouble for them. Chef William spoilt us with a fantastic lunch and even more amazing dinner : quality of food is simply superb and he could definitely compete with any Michelin starred chef. Small private spa with outdoor facility for massage is an extra benefit. For sure this is the best choice for honeymooners or for those looking for privacy and tranquility. I simply loved it and will definitely recommend it to my clients and hopefully come back myself soon.

Room Tip: All the villas are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Together with my wife we were staying at the palms for one week after doing safari in Serengeti, Ngorogo etc.
We did stay in many first class hotel, clubs in the world, but something like "The Palms" we never did find.The Hotel exists of 6 bungalows with max 12 Guests! To each villa belongs a own cabana at the sea.It is a place of tranquility and to relax. The restaurant with chief William did an excellent job, especially the seafood, which we do like, was a dream. The directress Terry looked after us in perfect way,as all the employees did so. And at last say they made a special surprise to us: a "cabana" directly at the sea, only for our lunch!! (see picture below).
This was our honeymoon we didn`t had, when we got married!!°

Room Tip: There is no differences between the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After 3 weeks of Safari traveling on planes and riding on bumpy jeeps, staying in tented camps, we drove into The Palms from Stone Town. As we were shown our cabana and villa I was tearing up and getting emotional at the sheer peace and tranquility that this place just exuded.
I was not disapointed. Three nights and three days of the most amazing food, cooked for us by Chef William. The wines were excellent! During the day drinks were bought to our cabana. Beautiful concoctions of tropical fruits, green coconuts with the cool milk inside! At sundown, cocktails were bought to our villa with 'bites' as they call them. Flowers in our room and a bed with such soft pillows and duvet I really though that this was Paradise! Thanks to all the employees there. They were excellent.

Room Tip: Only six villas each one heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Palms for 4 nights after a safari. It was such a wonderful place to unwind and relax. It is nice to be secluded, but there was access to Breezes, which we used for the gym and beach equipment. The staff was wonderful, and looked after us, even though November was the offseason. The food was great too - we especially enjoyed the lunch choices.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Booked 3 nights at the hotel at the end of a safari trip to Kenya. The villas are nicely decorated and spacious, bathroom quite sizable. Friendly staff trying their best to accommodate you with personalized service. Good meals inclusive of stay. Certainly has an exclusive feel to the resort being only 6 villas in total. Insects and mosquitos are everywhere, even found a few ants in the bread basket at breakfast. Poor quality TV in the villas, could barely hear the volume due to the continuous static - first time I see a TV brand called "Mango." Landscape is nice but not to the standard of a luxury resort. An overall average experience for an above-average price (paid €860 a night). At this price bracket, would rather stay at the Four Seasons Resort in the Maldives or Seychelles and have a truly luxurious holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms

Address: Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palms 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the peaceful south eastern coast of the island, lying on an untouched award-winning beach, "The Palms" is the ultimate getaway retreat providing a stunning recluse for the discerning traveler. It is a sanctuary for those in search of tranquility ... a place to stimulate the senses and to experience the very best of the magical island of Zanzibar. The six private villas are beautifully designed creating an atmosphere of relaxed, understated elegance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Bwejuu
Palms Hotel Bwejuu
Palms Resort All Inclusive Bwejuu
The Palms Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;