We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms to your Saves list
The Palms
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After 3 weeks of Safari traveling on planes and riding on bumpy jeeps, staying in tented camps, we drove into The Palms from Stone Town. As we were shown our cabana and villa I was tearing up and getting emotional at the sheer peace and tranquility that this place just exuded.
I was not disapointed. Three nights and three days of the most amazing food, cooked for us by Chef William. The wines were excellent! During the day drinks were bought to our cabana. Beautiful concoctions of tropical fruits, green coconuts with the cool milk inside! At sundown, cocktails were bought to our villa with 'bites' as they call them. Flowers in our room and a bed with such soft pillows and duvet I really though that this was Paradise! Thanks to all the employees there. They were excellent.

Room Tip: Only six villas each one heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Palms for 4 nights after a safari. It was such a wonderful place to unwind and relax. It is nice to be secluded, but there was access to Breezes, which we used for the gym and beach equipment. The staff was wonderful, and looked after us, even though November was the offseason. The food was great too - we especially enjoyed the lunch choices.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Booked 3 nights at the hotel at the end of a safari trip to Kenya. The villas are nicely decorated and spacious, bathroom quite sizable. Friendly staff trying their best to accommodate you with personalized service. Good meals inclusive of stay. Certainly has an exclusive feel to the resort being only 6 villas in total. Insects and mosquitos are everywhere, even found a few ants in the bread basket at breakfast. Poor quality TV in the villas, could barely hear the volume due to the continuous static - first time I see a TV brand called "Mango." Landscape is nice but not to the standard of a luxury resort. An overall average experience for an above-average price (paid €860 a night). At this price bracket, would rather stay at the Four Seasons Resort in the Maldives or Seychelles and have a truly luxurious holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

What can I say...The Palms exceeded our expectations beyond belief! This was truly an exceptional holiday with my husband and my mother. With my Mother living in Tanzania, Zanzibar was the perfect location for a relaxing holiday together. The Palms provided us the space, comfort and ambiance to relax in an exquisite setting. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warmth and kindness. Our every need was catered to! There are no words to describe the level of service we received. The entire staff at The Palms is amazing...professional, incredibly well-trained down to every detail and very pleasant. We enjoyed engaging in conversation with the staff (thanks to my Mother's Kiswahili skills) on numerous occassions. We so enjoyed "sun downers" every evening while choosing the main on the menu. The food was prepared with care and creativity using local ingredients...we tasted fresh fish regularly right from the pier. Our villa was incredible and provided ample space for a couple and a single. The decor was so comfortable and choosen with care. The amentities for each villa were choosen with care. A special gift of a "kanga" was on our bed. We loved the day bed on the porch for those morning naps in the sunshine and the pluge pool added a nice touch for those hot afternoons in the sun. The pool is lovely (where we had lunch everyday) and super warm, just the right temperature for me. And we LOVED our "bandas", Frangipani, overlooking the Indian Ocean. The Plantation House where we dined for breakfast and dinner was always decorated with care with the tables arranged differently each evening and morning. The evening entertainment was delightful with a flare of the many cultures of Zanzibar. We enjoyed a drink at the Spice Bar on several occassions. My husband used the fitness center at Breezes, the resort next door, but it was just average. My husband and mother also booked spa treatments at the spa at The Palms and enjoyed their experience immensely. We truly just relaxed on this holiday, although we did take a day tour to Stone Town and a spice farm, but The Palms was the perfect place for us. I can definitely see us returning...to a hotel of this standard, comfort and intimacy...the size is perfect! Thanks a million to the wonderful staff for making this a holiday of a lifetime!

Room Tip: There are only 6 villas...they are all brilliant!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Palms consists of six well appointed bungalows each with it's own banda on the edge of the beach. As such it is very exclusive and the ideal place to wind down after a safari. It is an hours drive from Zanzibar airport. The staff, particularly Esiriak and Robert, were particularly attentive. The food is fusion cuisine and in the four days of our stay was a gastronomic delight - portions suitable for older visitors which was much appreciated. There was local music on two of the four evenings. Sundowner cocktails were fascinating and more than delicious. There is a complex next door (The Breezes) where there is a shop and a facility to arrange outdoor activities. There is also the possibility to organise trips to other parts of the island such as Stonetown and a Spice Farm. This was a return visit and everything was as good as before if not better.

Room Tip: There are six bungalows and all are excellent and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We spent six nights here in january. It all looks fantastic, with six large chalets semi-circled round the pool and bar which meant only the 6th room - cinnamon - had direct access to the beach. We were next in jasmine and were badly attcked by mosquitoes, outside and inside the room and even inside the mosquito net. Although the net looked fantatsic it took us two nights to wrok out that it did not touch the floor in a couple of places. The windows and doors were not mosquito proof and any lights soon attracted them despite the ac. Food was high quality, plentiful and well served but very littel choice. Only one starter and one sweet with choice of two or three main courses at lunch and dinner. The dinner main course had to be chosen several hours beforehand. Breakfast was also a la carte with fresh fruit starter, choice of two juices, mesuli or cornflakes, milk or plain yoghurt, bread and pastries, eggs bacon etc. No wine list - choice was red, rose or white. The square central pool had some loungers but no sunshades or shower. Plunge pool outside our room was always in the shade and hence always too cold to relax in. Nowhere to shower or wash sand off feet before entering room. Furniture looked antique but was all available to buy in the next door hotel shop. Lovely TV & Video but difficult to see from the bed; plus phone and free wifi. Plumbing looked great but none of the plugs worked properly and the bidet had nowhere for soap or towels. all in all it reminded me of a film set, everything superficial.

Room Tip: Try Cinnamon if you want beach access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed in The Palms for three nights. It is a wonderful, luxurious hotel with every amenity imaginable. This hotel was recommended to us by Simon Gluckman of Intrepid Expeditions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the peaceful south eastern coast of the island, lying on an untouched award-winning beach, "The Palms" is the ultimate getaway retreat providing a stunning recluse for the discerning traveler. It is a sanctuary for those in search of tranquility ... a place to stimulate the senses and to experience the very best of the magical island of Zanzibar. The six private villas are beautifully designed creating an atmosphere of relaxed, understated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Bwejuu
Palms Hotel Bwejuu
Palms Resort All Inclusive Bwejuu
The Palms Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.