We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, fabulous villas, amazing staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms to your Saves list
The Palms
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, fabulous villas, amazing staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Palms for the last weeek on our Honeymoon. We could not have been looked after better. Judging by some previous reviews they clearly have changed the manager as we were warmly greeted by managers Udd from Switzerland (hope correct sp.) and Siriak. They were both charming, friendly, helpful and efficient throughout.
The rest of the staff were equally lovely, and could not do enough. They were always super cheerful. We were also pleased to be able to meet the owners one evening, who now have several places to take care of, but took the time to organise a cocktail party while we were there.
We had a few evenings of entertainment provided, some of it great. Plus they also provided a few other surprise treats along the way too, which I will leave you to discover.
the beach was really stunning and we made full use of the watersports centre next door. The sea however is very tidal, so on our visit the tide was way out till about 430, so swimming in the sea was impossible. It did provide a good walk out to the reef though across the rock pools.
The villas were spotlessly clean and designed in a local style with carved wooden mirrors etc. I believe most of it was locally sourced as indeed are most of the staff. They were also extremely spacious, and comfortable.
And the Thai massage lady gives a fabulous massage incidentally!
We had two gripes while there. The mosquitos were really bad as we were post rainy season (not always so bad) and it was a constant battle. Some mozzy coils placed around the communal areas would have been helpful at this time. Though the management did provide us with one for our room, so as I say, were always happy to help, and probably if I had really complained would have been done in the common parts too.
The other gripe, was the food. On the plus side it was plentiful. Almost too much so with 5 courses at lunch too (though can always ask for less obviously). And also they really made a huge effort in terms of presentation, offering diverse and varied choices each day, and were clearly trying very hard. But sadly the actual cooking wasnt brilliant, and especially considering the prices and the global competition at this price point. I guess the worst error was overcooking, especially the fish. King prawns and lobster cooked till they were hard to get off the shells and sea bass till it had the texture of pork. We didnt actually complain as it was nearly every meal, so would have been a tiresome week if we did, and with 5 courses we really didnt starve. But it was the one weak flank in an otherwise perfect holiday, and why I didnt go for 5 stars. And occasionaly a course would shine through. As I say, its more when looking at the price point and the quality you would expect. Maybe if they made things a bit more simpler, and not try so hard, they would have more success here.
Overall this was a fabulous stay, and I dont think we have ever been treated so well, right through from the owners to the waiting staff.
And 2 of the couples we met there were on their 4-5th visit which speaks volumes. If they sort the kitchen out, this place would be a knock out.

Room Tip: Hibiscus was great, think they are all similar though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
111
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Phenomenal service, beautiful hotel - there is not a single criticism I could give the Palms. From the delicious, made to order, breakfast to the sundown cocktail brought to your villa, the Palms thought of everything to make our holiday as memorable as possible. For the more active members of my party, there was windsurfing, scuba diving, dolphin boat tours and countless beach activities. For those of us wanting to escape London and truly relax, the huts on the edge of the sea offered stunning views and the perfect amount of breeze... this combined with the incredibly friendly staff bringing you water, smoothies and chilled towels and the hotel spa offering sleep-inducing massages, every stress you have is washed away.
The Palms creates an unforgettable holiday and is, without a doubt, the closest I have been to paradise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

An unforgettable honeymoon - simply the best hotel experience so far in our lives! Thanks to Soaring Flamingo for finding us this jewel of a resort.

Room Tip: All six villas are of such exquisite quality and taste, there is only good rooms available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I am a Pure Zanzibar agent stayed at the Palms in November 2011 and was extremely impressed with everything, no exceptions and nothing I could criticize. The rooms are old colonial style, large and very homely, making you feel at home within minutes. With only 6 villas you get great service from the most friendly, relaxed, yet professional staff I came across on Zanzibar. It was very refreshing to be made to feel that nothing was too much trouble, they felt more like your friends than your butlers. For example my dinner waiter was genuinely overjoyed that I wanted bacon with my breakfast and said his family had prayed for my ill girlfriend. Each villa comes with an private beach banda, a great place to spend time, drink a cocktail, sunbathe and watch the ocean. This is a brilliant option for honeymooners, romantics and those who appreciated fine dining in classy surroundings.

I must say the Palms is fantastic, and if you are considering going, trust me just do it, you could not possibly be disappointed. The resort on a whole is first class, but with particular attention to the staff, they were just awesome.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you happen to go to Zanzibar island there are quite a few nice places but one of them is certainly "The Palms"-bedded in between their sister hotels "Breezes Beach Club" and "Baraza" we fell in love with the smallest and cosiest of them. The beach is one of the best we've been so far (and there have been many nice ones!) if you like it natural and unspoiled.
The food is terrific, the wines & cocktails were fine indeed and the people are very special! Thanks again to Siriuk for his kind hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Did a week in the bush chasing wild beasts, and flew to the Palms a little worried that the resort would not be what we were hoping for. Wrong! What a wonderful property, staff and setting. We could not have asked for more. The service was generally off the chart, they need to work on the bar staff and their understanding of western ways, but that aside, all was wonderful. Could not believe the music they brought in for dinners, at times we thought we were in the African Queen show, with music from that era. housekeeping was perfect, staff great, and if there is any way you can enjoy this property, go for it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed here with my wife for our honeymoon for 10 nights. From the moment we arrived at this 6 bungalow exclusive resort we were pampered to the finest degree. All of the staff were very attentive, making sure to chat to us every day whilst also keeping their distance to maintain our privacy. The beachside banda is perfect for those lazy days in the sun and a good book - morning cocktails/mocktails are excellent - one morning we even drank coconut milk straight from the coconut just picked from the numerous trees in the surrounding gardens. The chef is exceptional, cooking excellent meals throughout the day - the lobster and snapper on the BBQ is amazing. All of the staff are friendly, especially when greeted in Swahili and they are happy to help with anything you may desire. The bungalows themselves are very spacious, the bathrooms are huge, and the outside porch area with bed and plunge pool is a welcome sanctuary in the shade! Receiving the sundowner cocktails and canapes whilst choosing from the dinner menu is a great touch!

The only improvements I could offer for the resort is to look at the plunge pools - because of their location they are permanently in the shade and weren't heated so were too chilly for us - that said, we didn't go at the warmest time of the year and I can imagine any hotter than we experienced, the cool plunge pool may be more welcome.

That said, this place is still perfection personified. The attention to detail is incredible; on our last night we had a romantic bath drawn with fresh flower petals picked from the garden and a bottle of sparkling wine to enjoy before dinner, as well as a private table in front of the beach under the stars for our final dinner as a surprise on the last night.

This place truly is incredible. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing time on perfect beaches in an instant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 145 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
36.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 3 in Kizimkazi
5.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anna of Zanzibar
Anna of Zanzibar
#2 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
35.5 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the peaceful south eastern coast of the island, lying on an untouched award-winning beach, "The Palms" is the ultimate getaway retreat providing a stunning recluse for the discerning traveler. It is a sanctuary for those in search of tranquility ... a place to stimulate the senses and to experience the very best of the magical island of Zanzibar. The six private villas are beautifully designed creating an atmosphere of relaxed, understated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Bwejuu
Palms Hotel Bwejuu
Palms Resort All Inclusive Bwejuu
The Palms Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.