We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, elegant and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Guest House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunrise Guest House Hotel
Save
You added Sunrise Guest House Hotel to your Saves list
Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cosy, elegant and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Actually I was there 2007 and it was marvellous, so maybe it has got a new owner and declined in quality. It was tranquil, very clean and wellcept with maybe the most delicious food on the coast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

In the rough guide this hotel came recommended, when we arrived the rooms were a bit pricier than we had in mind, 125$
The room was OK but nothing special, since we were pretty late we decided to take the room. As soon as we said yes the guy said that we would have to pay 25% more because it was holiday season so the room ended up to be 160$
Our nice taxi driver tried to call every hotel in the area if the had some rooms left but almost everything was booked out so we had to accept the room. We could stay for two nights in the room with beachview but if we would stay two more nights we had to move to the back of the building. We said we would think about it and come back on it. The only thing I can think is good at this hotel that it has a swimming pool which comes handy because during the day the tide is about 2km out
The people working there were far from friendly and a even a bit arrogant, same for the owner by the way. We were there new years eve and 10 minutes after 12 the bar closed and the lights went out. (luckily there were some fire on the beach from the other hotel which we could join.
We already decided we didn't want to stay any longer but as soon as we mentioned that we found out that we didn't even had a choise anymore since the already gave away the room the would put on hold for us.
The rooms are ok (besided the smell when you enter the room) but i have not seen soo many bugs in that bathroom as on our whole trip in tanzania...
So I would definatly NOT recommend this hotel unless you feel like trowing away your money...

  • Liked — the swimming pool
  • Disliked — the rest
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

I live in Tanzania and often visit Zanzibar and Sunrise wins the price of worst hotel experience on this otherwise wonderful island!

The rooms were dirty, the pool was dirty and the food was – besides being ridiculously over-priced – some of the worst I’ve had in Tanzania!

But worst of all was the service: The staff was rude, not at all service-minded and mostly just made you feel in their way! They even went behind our back and negotiated a three times higher price with the taxi driver, who was to pick us up after three very long and expensive days at Sunrise!

Sunrise has gotten great reviews in several guidebooks. This can only make me doubt the credibility of these books. At least I learned to check Tripadvisor before my next hotel booking!

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The service and the food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Celle Saint Cloud
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

You should absolutely avoid that hotel and should find much better alternatives on that superb spot. This is just very high price for the level of service and quality of accomodation you get. Rooms are dark, small, with an horrible fusty smell. Food is disapointing, expensive...and scarce. Hopefully, there was a much better value local restaurant next door! The swimming pool is just OK but that does not justify the whole lot. The hotel might have been OK...ten years ago. Since then, the owner has made no investment, considering clients as cash-cows and keeps trying fiddling a few dollars each day : prices are displayed in $, which is usual, but the exchange rate used was less usual!

  • Liked — The spot
  • Disliked — Everything else...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

After an exhilirating safari experience, most travellers to Tanzania head to Zanzibar to lay on a beautiful white sandy beach, be served exquisite cocktails, and doze off into a blissful sleep whilst listening to waves lap the shore. Sound too good to be true? Well -yes it is. Having travelled to Vanuatu, Tahiti, Bali, Malaysia and the gorgeous Whitsundays in Australia my expectations were high when I booked into the Sunrise Hotel on Zanzibar, but first impressions told me that this property was not in the same league as I've experienced elsewhere.
It is quite noticeable when the designers, management and staff have paid attention to detail at a resort but Sunrise is severely lacking in this criteria. Dusty, plastic flowers adorned the half-filled fish pond leading to reception, the colour scheme and design of the bar and restaurant equally tacky, and when I had to open a padlocked door to access my room, I sensed that all was not well at this hotel.
I fully accept that in Africa there are cultural differences and expectations when it comes to hospitality. Oft-used phrases In Tanzania such as 'Hakuna Matata' (No worries) and 'Pole Pole' (Slowly slowly) should give the naive traveller an indication of the prevailing attitude amongst hotel staff but at Sunrise Hotel it took on new proportions as we attempted to order cocktails when most ingredients were unavailable and order meals when items were either at ration levels or out of stock.
Prices for meals at Sunrise were calculated in US Dollars and after having travelled most of Tanzania and even dined at the Serena Hotel in Stonetown, almost everything on the menu was in small proportion and simply not good value for money in comparison. US$9 for a dry, canteen standard spaghetti bollognaise may be good value in London but definately not good value in Africa!!
There are many other resorts along this eastern strip of Zanzibar, and although we were told upon arrival that it was 'unsafe' to venture far from our resort, we found that there were many other beautiful resorts, restaurants and bars along the beach and that it was most likely 'unsafe' for the resort owner as guests started to realise that much more mirth and merriment was to be had at neighbouring resorts along the Bwejuu and Paje beaches.
Any traveller wants good value for money, and they don't mind paying a bit extra for a smile and slick service but this will not be found at Sunrise Hotel and I'd advise any prospective traveller to Zanzibar's beach hotels to research well and whilst the package may look good, what you are delivered may leave a lot to be desired.

  • Liked — the beach, pool
  • Disliked — poor service, bad value for money
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

The breakfast was less than appetising and the service ranged from mediocre to bad. The food was over priced and the tiny portions left us hungry. I could not get anything to eat from between 2.30pm and 7pm because the kitchen closes. The rooms were clean but very simple. They were also very damp. Bring a bug spray because there are so many ants and creatures all over the room, especially the bathroom. No one told me the tide goes out for half the day, so be prepared to sit at the pool. The beach is beautiful, but my friend was stung by blue bottles and you cant walk very far out because of sea urchins. We were not able to snorkel at the beach either. I would not go back there.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

This hotel was the perfect choice after a week's safari.
It was such a peaceful and relaxing experience. I was the only guest during my 2 night stay and had the facilities of the hotel and the beach all to myself !

The hotel is situated next to a quiet stretch of beach lined with coconut palms. I spent my time lying in the hammock under the palms and walking a long the unspoilt beach.

The room was small but adequate with a Zanzibar style bed and furniture. It was only a few steps from the room to the beach.

The hotel is very understated and a bit old fashioned but very friendly and relaxing.

Breakfast was good, fresh fruit and choice of eggs. The food from the restaurant was good with particularly good fish dishes.

All in all a truly relaxing stay. Its so difficult to find somewhere so peaceful these days. If you want plenty of activities and entertainment this is not the place for you.
If you want a quiet retreat, this is the place.

  • Liked — Tranquility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Guest House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Guest House Hotel

Address: Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Bwejuu
Sunrise Guest House Hotel Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Guest House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.