We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with luxury price tag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar to your Saves list
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Offer 10% off
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average hotel with luxury price tag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed at Breezes Beach Club for 4 nights at the end of our honeymoon. We booked through ATR, who we would highly recommend and who gave a fair description of the hotel. We booked to stay at Breezes as we wanted to end our honeymoon at a luxury resort. However Breezes is distinctly average and overpriced. Before staying at Breezes we stayed at the considerably cheaper Pongwe Beach Hotel and we much preferred this smaller hotel and it’s location on Zanzibar.
On arrival at Breezes we were taken to our room. We had booked a standard room which was tucked away at the back of the hotel in a separate characterless block. The room was air conditioned, clean and simply decorated. The service was poor and the staff were not very friendly and made no effort to help. This was very different to our experience at the smaller lodges/hotels we stayed at in Tanzania. We were given a number of complimentary vouchers for massages, lunch, kitesurfing and yoga, possibly because we were on our honeymoon. I was impressed with the spa but the showers in the spa periodically stopped working.
The hotel is situated on a mediocre beach and the tide goes out a very long way. There are lots of sea urchins so it’s not suitable for walking out into the water without reef shoes. Definitely not suitable for children. Since the beach is nothing spectacular most people sit round the pool. The hotel is situated on a stretch of beach next to a number of other very large hotels. The hotel has a private restaurant called Tides but it was booked up the entire time we were there. The main restaurant is usually a themed buffet and the food was generally very good.
Our stay at Breezes was OK but overpriced. This is not a luxury hotel and I think you can do better on both the hotel and the overall location. The hotel is pretending to be something it’s not. In hindsight I wish we’d stayed at Pongwe Beach for our entire stay. I would recommend Zanibar as a good beach location following a safari but you have to be very careful on your choice of hotel and the overall location on the island. We also stayed at Mawe Ninga, Plantation lodge, Oldavai Camp and the Serengeti Serena on the mainland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    183
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
152
405
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vila do Porto, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

The resort is beautifully decorated. The room is spacious and staff is very friendly. Entertainment is nice. Proximity of swimming pool, beach and bars. The frangipani massage in the spa is a must do.

The only thing I would improve is more options for lunch (we were in half board).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Breezes is a lovely hotel with friendly staff. The lobby area is very attractive. Standard rooms are not very close to to beach but it is very nice to walk in the beautiful garden. Room and bathroom were very clean.

Breakfast and dinners were very good (we were on half-pension).

The beach is beautiful. It should be noted that there is a high and a low tide every day. At low tide one cannot swim but one can walk and admire the see life. At low tide local fishermen catch octopuses. We joined a couple of them and had great fun (I even pulled out an octopus from its hole with the fisherman's stick). A small tip will produce this fun (they seemed to be happy for a 1 USD tip per person).

There is a souvenier shop on the beach to the left from the hotel. Tours can be booked there a lot cheaper than from the hotel (licenced guide, driver and a good car).

I had my birthday during the stay and to my great surprise they gave a congratulations ceremony at dinner, cake, candles, singing...). I have often been at hotels during my birthday but this never happened before. I was really impressed.

I really enjoyed myself at Breezes. I have recommended the hotel to one of my best friends and they are now going there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from Breezes, where we spent 8 nights of our honeymoon, post-safari.

We had a fantastic time - our stay at Breezes was so relaxing and it was the perfect place to unwind after our wedding and going on safari. The beach is lovely - white sand and turquoise sea, with lots of loungers and shades on the hotel's private beach. There are also plenty of beach activities and equipment available at the Water Sports Centre.

The hotel itself and the bedrooms are really clean and comfortable and the gardens are very well kept. The hotel really does look exactly as it appears in the photos on the website.

The food was delicious - and there's lots of it! The service was excellent and all the serving staff are extremely friendly.

The hotel spa offers a good range of treatments and the massages are amazing. Yoga lessons are also available, and there's a fairly well-equipped gym. There's also a tennis court and one of the guys who works at the gym is happy to have a hit with you if you don't have anyone to play with.

We went on a couple of trips organised by the hotel (a dolphin tour and Jozani Forest tour, and City and spice tour). Both were very efficiently organised and really enjoyable. Although it's great to relax at the hotel, we also enjoyed getting out and about and seeing some of the island and local culture.

I would really recommend Breezes to anyone wanting a relaxing and luxurious beach holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Breezes was the perfect place for us to unwind and relax after our gruelling trek up Kilimanjaro. The room we stayed in was wonderful (sea view suite overlooking the white sandy beach and blue sea, very spacious with a large terrace to relax and look at the stars at night. Meals were excellent and varied. The highlight of our stay was the themed barbeque night with grilled lobster, steak and calamari (my favourite) and listening to lovely music played by a live band! The range of spa services were superb (although expensive it was worth it). Breezes also offers a range of water based activities as well as lovely swimming pool with pool bar serving pizzas and lunchtime snacks. Overall we had a wonderful stay here and would recommend Breezes to anyone contemplating either a relaxing holiday or an activity filled one - Breezes seems to have it all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed the Breezes Beach & Spa Resort for 5 days after a 5 day safari in Zanzibar. We booked a suite (following comments we read on Tripadvisor and other websites regarding the size of the standard rooms) and were happy to see that the extra money was well spent (although we weren't able to compare with the standard rooms of course). Huge room with air conditioning, nice bathroom, seperate dressing, large balcony. One thing to keep in mind regarding the Breezes, this is a typical resort for young couples on their honeymoon. If you're a party with children, this may not be the best resort for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

In short, Breezes has speacialised as a honeymoon hotel. It's the small details that make this place unforgettable.
Check in was quick and efficient. Once you arrive they lead you to the lobby, ask for your vouchers and take care of everything. You just have to wait in the lounge and drink the welcoming cocktail.
The room (we stayed at a balcony suite) was very large and had a separate dressing closet (needless to say, my wife loved the idea). The bed was king size and very confortable. Every day, around 7-8 pm (after you left for dinner), the keeping ladies go to the room and spray it with mosquito repellent and prepare the mosquito net. We were not bitten at all and there were never no mosquitos in the room at night.
Bathroom was fine and very clean (they clean it twice or three times a day). No TV in the room (football is suspended during honeymoon).
If you go on honeymoon (as we did) you will find several vouchers offered by the Hotel for almost every service available (e.g. 30 min massage, yoga lesson, sundowners in the room, night under the stars where they prepare a bed in the balcony, free lunch if you are on half board basis, kite surf lesson, etc.)
Food at the Buffet restaurant was different every night (they organise dinners by themes) and vey good. Sometimes it was not buffet dinner and you were served at the table and had to choose between 4 different courses and starters. You can also go to the 2 restaurants a la carte in the Hotel (one serves seafood).
Drinks are paid separately (the wine list could be better).
Another good thing is that you are not supposed to pay anything in cash (even tips). Everything goes to your room bill.
Swimming pool was OK (not very big, but who cares when you have a paradise beach a couple of meters ahead!?). Sunbeds are very good (with mattress) and you can always find one available.
The beach is absolutely magnificent. We live in Portugal, where the beaches are amazing and have travelled a few times to the Caribbean Islands (Cuba and Dominican Republic) and Brazil - this beach tops any of the former. Here the sand is so white it looks like flour. The reef barrier ahead ensures that the water is always calm and transparent.
You can spend your days at the beach, going snorkling, windsurfing, diving, kite surfing, reef walking, riding bycicles in the sand, taking excursions to Stone Town and nearby islands, going to the Hotel's Spa, Fitness Centre, whatever. Plenty of things to do.
Lunch can be taken at the pool, at the beach, restaurant, wherever you want. You just have to call the staff and they will bring anything you want (by the way, both in Kenya and Tanzania, people are really, really friendly, EVEN if you don't tip them or give small tips).
No bad critics to this Hotel at all. Barazas, located wright next to Breezes is far more expensive and not worth the overcharge (this is why Breezes was the Hotel with most guests, although it is never crowded).
If you are planing on going to zanzibar, make sure you stay at Breezes!
We will never forget our honeymoon and how lucky we were to elect Breezes as our destination in Zanzibar.
A huge thank you to the management and staff of Breezes Hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.