We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing hotel-stay ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar to your Saves list
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
“Most relaxing hotel-stay ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Perfectly located a little bit aside from busy beaches. At times we had the beach entirely to ourselves. A.Mazing! Beautiful hotel with genuine interiors, yet perfectly laid-back and casual. Perfect for families with kids that wants a certain portion of style but yet relaxed. Friendly staff and excellent food! I could not have spent my 40th birthday in any better place!!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    183
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
154
405
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family was looking for a warm and sunny getaway without jet lag, so this year we opted for Sansibar. Breezes Beach Club exceeded our every expectation. From making last minute reservations to our final farewell, the staff was attentive, thorough and most pleasant. The atmosphere provide an ideal place to unwind and simply enjoy life. As a family, we felt extremely welcomed and our children were delighted with the activities and special children's menu. We very much appreciated that there were no televisions in the rooms.

With a large assortment of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner, our only regret is that we couldn't try everything. Everything we had we simply delicious. The resort had beautiful well kept grounds and excellent housekeeping. Reef walks, sport and water sport facilities ensured that there was never a dull moment. Our family was delighted with the evening activities (beach bonfire, dancers, acrobats, etc.) after dinner, too.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We arrived after midnight after a long and delayed travel from mainland Tanzania and were warmly welcomed and swiftly taken to our room where a meal was waiting for us. The service is very good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Great location, excellent facilities and a very nice beach (note that due to the tide, the sea is retreated beyond the reef edge for large parts of the day, however a nice pool compensates for this). Nice and spacious rooms. This hotel does not have TV nor wifi in-room which we found excellent and very relaxing. (The hotel does have wifi in lounge areas and a TV room).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Breezes was fabulous, but their website leaves a bit to be desired. Here are key points from our stay (April 4-11, 2 adults with 2 kids): We had a suite on a full board basis. The room was spacious, with a walk-in closet, ample balcony with patio lounge chairs, and comfortable bed. The rooms do not have TVs, but you're not in Zanzibar to watch TV. WiFi is available in common areas for free and in the room for a minimal fee (about $12/week). Housekeeper Flora was great.

The food is amazing: buffet breakfasts with fresh fruit, cereals, omelet station, pancakes/crepes, and plenty of bacon despite being in a Muslim area. Full Board offered an appetizer and main course form the menu. Portions were ample and the food quality throughout was delicious. We ate fish, calamari, shrimp, etc. daily. Dinner alternated between served meals and theme buffets every other night. Again, the food was amazing and portions for the served dishes were ample. There was no going hungry at Breezes. It was full board, not all inclusive, so we paid for the drinks. The prices were reasonable, offering a quality product without making me feel like a walking ATM like so many other resorts. Server Dorah was an absolute gem! Performances (dancing, cultural shows, acrobats, musicians, bonfires on the beach, etc.) punctuated every night.

There is a small kids club that is unattended, but which offers a break from the heat, toys to play with, and daily kids' movies at 4:00 p.m.

The beach is amazing. In high tide, the ocean is lapping at the edge of the resort, the water was warm, and waves were mild. Watch out, there are jellyfish, though! At low tide, the water is 1-3 feet high allowing you to wade out almost a mile to observe the sea life in the tidal zone: angel fish, eels, sea cucumbers, sea snakes, giant clams, octopi, etc. There are lots of sea urchins, so take water shoes or rent them at the water shop for $3. Take a kite and plenty of sunscreen.

The centerpiece of the resort is a large swimming pool that varies from 1.4-2.1 meters (roughly). It too was wonderfully warm water and a lot of fun. The resort is not so huge that you have to stake out a seat at 6:00 a.m. or lose your chance. The staff was friendly and not over-bearing.

There is a gym on site that is rather small, but is shockingly well supplied with a combination of free weights, machines, treadmill, bike, eliptical, etc.There was nothing that I felt like it lacked.

Breezes was exactly what we needed, a welcome retreat for the endless circuit of food, pool, food, beach, food, show, sleep, repeat.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Great hotel at the beach front with the coral reef at your door step. Offers a good value for money in the low season and the staff are great as well as the facilities. To watch out for is that half and full board does not include drinks (soft or alcoholic) besides the morning juice and coffee/tea. Although prices are mostly double or triple for extra food and drink compared to outside the resort it is still a great offer to get. But definitely not a party hotel in case you were looking for that.

I would also advise on visiting the beach sites 10 to 15 minutes cab ride to either side of the hotel as the water can heat up quite a lot at the beach of the resort. So for a refreshing dip go out and venture around. Don't worry it is not as dangerous as the hotel staff make it out to be. Zanzibar is full of expats.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

My wife and I spent 5 days at Breezes in Zanzibar and had the best time ever. Not only is Zanzibar heaven on earth, but the resort is simply amazing. My friend who happens to be the Kite Surfing instructor (Marco) had told us it was a great resort, but we were so impressed. We travel a lot and tend to stay at high end resorts and nothing comes as close to amazing as Breezes does. The level of detail to making your stay the best it can be is unparalleled. Two exampled: On the ride from the Airport to the resort, we got a call from the management asking us what we would like to eat for dinner. It was 10:30pm! On our departure, they management packed us 2 breakfasts for the road, it was 2am! Simply loved this place and all the great people who work there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We upgraded to top floor suite with large deck but would have been happy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I could not speak any more highly of this resort. I suffer with colitis and my every dietary need was taken into account and catered for with such care and attention. the staff were all helpful, attentive and polite and went out of their way to help, and the resort itself wants for nothing. a beautiful beach which you can walk safely along for miles, a sparkling large pool. plenty of sun loungers and shade. a choice of restaurants and themes and an excellent choice of varied food which really was delicious and well prepared. the room had air conditioning, a fridge, and was large and luxorious with mosquito nets around the beds. there is free wifi in the main lobby areas. I have only good things to say about this place and i will come again. thank you.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.