We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault a thing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymooners’ Offer
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
Tweed heads
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Could not fault a thing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Breezes exceeded our expectations. From the moment you arrive till you depart, the service is outstanding. They can not do enough for you. Grounds were immaculate, rooms was great. We booked a deluxe room but were put into a suite which was really nice and spacious. The room facilities were excellent. What we loved about this place after having spent 9 nights on safari with buffets was that they had a sit down a la carte menu every second night. This was nice. Yes drinks and food was a bit pricey compared to other places but I didn't mind paying based on this being what I consider a 5 star resort. The first night we arrived they had welcome drinks and the management and some staff came and welcomed you to the resort. A nice touch. The resort was busy when we were there but still you did not feel overcrowded. There were mainly couples and a few small groups. No kids which for us was nice and quiet. Overall I would highly recommend this resort. I can not think of any reason to not book this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    149
    37
    19
    8
See reviews for
110
330
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This has to be the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. This was recommended to us & booked with Africa Rose Travel as a chill out after our safari in the Masai Mara. It really was luxury the whole way. Having arrived after a time the restaurant would have closed they had stayed open for us and nothing was ever any trouble. The spa was lovely and the pool and beach lovely. The restaurant was different themed every night and food really was wonderful. We were fortunate to have a room right on the beach ( thanks to Africa Rose !) which was wonderful. The grounds were beautifully kept and the staff very helpful, even arranging a taxi and booking a table for us at The Rock Restaurant. Would definitely recommend this hotel. If I could change one thing it would be to have an " all inclusive " option as the staff do try & push the drinks a wee bit, not sure if they are on a commission with this one? But truly a memorable stay at a wonderful hotel in a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Breezes is a place to 'really unwind'-leaving was difficult! Plenty of Sunbeds by the sea, which was stunning. Food and drink were excellent-we did not need any lunch because there was so much food and we were only glad we were on Half-Board!
Anniversary Night,we had a meal at 'The Sultan's Table' with lots of exotic flavours and spices-very romantic evening!
The staff were all happy/helpful and wonderful people,room was large with lovely views from our terrace, where we enjoyed our 'Sundowner' drinks/canapés!
Astonishingly beautiful 'chilling place'-Breezes forever! No changes needed!! Perfect just as you are!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ended our trip to Kenya and Tanzania with a stay at Breezes.

The pros were a lovely setting, delicious dinners with entertainment, and a great pool.

The cons were a slightly mildewy smelling room, expensive extras (lunch is going to add up, big time and the variety is poor), and complete isolation from the people and culture of the island. Read: you will be surrounded by wealthy white people who appear way too dressed up at times for folks you assume are coming off safari.

Nice, but not my favorite. The highlight was a trip offsite to Zanzibar restaurant, the Rock. Delish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Following a fantastic 4days on Safari in the awesome Serengeti, our Travel Consultant at Africa Rose Travel suggested we unwind further at The Breezes BeachClub, Zanzibar. We were right to follow the advice and couldnt have been happier here for a few days of nothing but beautiful views, friendly and helpful staff, good food and great facilities at an all round indulgent Hotel. The Hotel was very clean as was the pool and rooms. The entertainment provided nightly was really good fun and we felt very safe and secure at the Hotel. Africa Rose Travel organised everything for us, to the finest detail, to the extent that all we had to do, was relax - and that wasnt a problem at all !! Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are just back from a one week's stay at Breezes with our nearly 2 year old, and can't recommend it highly enough. We would echo everything others have said regarding the quality of meals (really good and a big effort made each night) and the friendliness of the staff and the beautiful location but really wanted to add how grateful we were to all the staff for being so lovely to our daughter. They couldn't have been more helpful with respect to food and other facilities that were needed even though (judging only by the number of other children there) this isn't a place really aimed at little kids. I've also read some reviews by parents saying there isn't much for children to do here but we'd totally disagree as we had a great time playing in the pool, playing on the beach, collecting shells, visiting the monkey forest, exploring stone town etc. All in all it's a stunning place with or without children but if anyone's thinking of visiting with children, we'd rate it as an excellent choice

Room Tip: We had the standard rooms which are absolutely lovely but a bit back from the rest of the resort. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after safaris in Tanzania and Kenya to 'wind down' before heading home to Australia. The resort is about a one hour drive from The Old Town and the roads are good. On arrival we were welcomed (karibu) by a member of the senior management and during our stay we were talked to by other members of management to see how our stay was going. This is obviously resort policy but we thought it reflected a well run resort rather than token friendliness by resort staff.
The resort was full of Europeans with no Americans in 'hearing' and very few Australians. We had half board and the meals at breakfast and dinner were very good. The breakfast buffet didn't change much but each night at dinner there was a different theme (with therefore some different dishes) so this was very good. There really is nowhere else to eat - no resorts close by you can eat at - so it's good when staying at the one place to change the menu sometimes.
We had lunch at the pool bars and these were good but the resort does have European (more expensive) pricing than what we had found when staying for 2 nights in the Old Town earlier.
There was an internet surcharge which seemed rather petty. 10USD for daily internet usage or 5 USD for use from 4pm to the next morning (they changed the password daily). We had stayed at tented camps in the Serengeti and Masai Mara where internet was reliable, available and FREE so the charge here seemed a little greedy.
The resort is right on the beach and the sand is white and wide. The tide goes out so far in the mornings that you can walk out to the reef at low tide (takes about 45mins out and back). You have to wear plastic reef shoes that the resort rents you for 3USD a day - essential as you are walking on coral in places.
It may just have been because we were there in winter - daily temperatures low 20's - but after about 11.30 each morning the resort and beach got very breezy - we now know how the resort got it's name.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.