We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LIfe's a BREEZE !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymooners’ Offer
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LIfe's a BREEZE !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Following a fantastic 4days on Safari in the awesome Serengeti, our Travel Consultant at Africa Rose Travel suggested we unwind further at The Breezes BeachClub, Zanzibar. We were right to follow the advice and couldnt have been happier here for a few days of nothing but beautiful views, friendly and helpful staff, good food and great facilities at an all round indulgent Hotel. The Hotel was very clean as was the pool and rooms. The entertainment provided nightly was really good fun and we felt very safe and secure at the Hotel. Africa Rose Travel organised everything for us, to the finest detail, to the extent that all we had to do, was relax - and that wasnt a problem at all !! Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    158
    38
    19
    8
See reviews for
126
335
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are just back from a one week's stay at Breezes with our nearly 2 year old, and can't recommend it highly enough. We would echo everything others have said regarding the quality of meals (really good and a big effort made each night) and the friendliness of the staff and the beautiful location but really wanted to add how grateful we were to all the staff for being so lovely to our daughter. They couldn't have been more helpful with respect to food and other facilities that were needed even though (judging only by the number of other children there) this isn't a place really aimed at little kids. I've also read some reviews by parents saying there isn't much for children to do here but we'd totally disagree as we had a great time playing in the pool, playing on the beach, collecting shells, visiting the monkey forest, exploring stone town etc. All in all it's a stunning place with or without children but if anyone's thinking of visiting with children, we'd rate it as an excellent choice

Room Tip: We had the standard rooms which are absolutely lovely but a bit back from the rest of the resort. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after safaris in Tanzania and Kenya to 'wind down' before heading home to Australia. The resort is about a one hour drive from The Old Town and the roads are good. On arrival we were welcomed (karibu) by a member of the senior management and during our stay we were talked to by other members of management to see how our stay was going. This is obviously resort policy but we thought it reflected a well run resort rather than token friendliness by resort staff.
The resort was full of Europeans with no Americans in 'hearing' and very few Australians. We had half board and the meals at breakfast and dinner were very good. The breakfast buffet didn't change much but each night at dinner there was a different theme (with therefore some different dishes) so this was very good. There really is nowhere else to eat - no resorts close by you can eat at - so it's good when staying at the one place to change the menu sometimes.
We had lunch at the pool bars and these were good but the resort does have European (more expensive) pricing than what we had found when staying for 2 nights in the Old Town earlier.
There was an internet surcharge which seemed rather petty. 10USD for daily internet usage or 5 USD for use from 4pm to the next morning (they changed the password daily). We had stayed at tented camps in the Serengeti and Masai Mara where internet was reliable, available and FREE so the charge here seemed a little greedy.
The resort is right on the beach and the sand is white and wide. The tide goes out so far in the mornings that you can walk out to the reef at low tide (takes about 45mins out and back). You have to wear plastic reef shoes that the resort rents you for 3USD a day - essential as you are walking on coral in places.
It may just have been because we were there in winter - daily temperatures low 20's - but after about 11.30 each morning the resort and beach got very breezy - we now know how the resort got it's name.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We found this resort very pleasant and well managed. The rooms are surprisingly big yet correspondingly the bathrooms too small. Everything is clean and well maintained set in lovely gardens with a fantastic long white beach which is great for long walks. Clientele are all well mannered and well dressed. Mercifully few tattoos or body piercings. Dress code of long trousers at dinner ensures no speedo-clad weirdos. Nice family sort of place and thank fully no dominant national group - i.e grumpy Germans hogging sun loungers, or braying English boozing late the bar. Management are all Spanish and do a good job. Only complaint was the F&B. I had one good dinner and two bad ones. The buffet gave us the runs. And they charge for the wifi which is so no done these days. Staff were super nice though.

Room Tip: Upstairs ones have better view and more private for a family taking 2 rooms together
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is an idyllic beach hotel with all the timeless charm of a bygone pre-colonial era yet with every modern facility. Set right on top of white coral beaches it balances seclusion with easy access yet doesn't compromise on security. Family-owned and family orientated the blend works as fabulously well for happy kids in the pools as it does for romancing couples. This is a stunning way to end an unforgettable safari.

Room Tip: A room with a beach view is idyllic complete with gently cooling sea breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just got back from 6 nights at Breezes after safari and it was a wonderful experience. The whole location is wonderful to be in and the staff are really nice & friendly. Breakfast is a good selection of fruit, cereal and cooked foods. Lunch overlooking the beautiful blue sea at the Dhow Bar was lovely and evening meals had a reasonable amount of variation for the size of hotel. The rooms were of a very high standard and the turndown team come in every evening to lower the mosquito nets and spray the room (if you want) to help you get a good nights sleep. Apart from wind in the palm trees and the sounds of the surf - we didn't hear much else - none of the usual hotel type noises.
We have a couple of very minor niggles. We thought the wine was expensive for what in the UK is very inexpensive wine. I know they have to make a profit but the amount for wine seemed rather high. The half day trips include traveling time to/from the location so check out where the trip goes to or you could spend most of your half day traveling. The cashiers office doesn't accept travelers cheques any more (even though it still says they do on their website) and the only place to withdraw cash is in Stonetown (over 1 hour away).
Apart from these minor niggles we loved the location, staff and whole experience and would love to go back again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were picked up by Abbas a very friendly driver and self described former "matateso" The beach is pristine and not at all commercialized. The resort is very clean and exquisite. Steve and the Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Rodrigo, Executive Chef Jitu and the restaurant staff is very accommodating. Highly recommend this place. Zanzibar is a must on any Tanzania trip

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.