We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No job too big or small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymooners’ Offer
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No job too big or small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are a family with a young son and we stayed here for 4 nights in early June. We found the staff to be very friendly and the management were highly accommodating. I had requested an ocean view room in my original booking, and when I pointed this out to the manager, he immediately moved us. The new room was definitely a plus, being closer to all the amenities and seemed to receive more light than the original. The food was amazing. The swimming pool and beach when we were there (low season) were never crowded. The pool is large and lovely, and most of it is shallow enough to swim in with young children.

If you're thinking of staying here though, there are some pointers which you should consider, especially if you like us have a young child (these are not complaints - just preferences):
1. The beach, whilst great, is subject to the tide. During the day the tide is out (it is 1.7km to where the waves break on the reef) and it is not possible to swim in the sea. Even when the tide is in, there is a lot of (sharp) coral underfoot and actually the "sea" is better for reef walking than for swimming in (get reef shoes from the hotel). Also, there is a lot of seaweed around, both in the sea and on the beach.
2. Although we were full board, drinks and all other extras are not included. This was expected, but note that the hotel will ask you to settle the bill at the end of your stay and works on a tab-based system. This is good because service is quick and hassle-free when you want anything, but it also makes it more difficult to monitor your outgoings.
3. The food is truly amazing (even for a vegetarian like me) and there is nightly entertainment. It is however a set menu/buffet every night; a la carte is more expensive and at a different restaurant. The setting over dinner is very relaxed and posh, which is great if you're a couple but my 2 year old found it really difficult to sit still for a 4 course dinner every night. There is entertainment, but this doesn't start till about 9pm, by which time he wanted to go to sleep. This shouldn't be a problem for families with older children, but those with younger children might want to bring a tablet pc to keep their little ones busy.
4. This brings me to wi-fi. This is pricey and limited to public areas only. We actually relished the thought of being disconnected from all our emails etc for a while, but those who need an online connection (or if you need to stream videos to your tablet pc to keep your little one entertained) might struggle.

In summary this is a lovely hotel, where everyone goes out of their way to help you, but it is probably better suited to a honeymooning couple or a family with older children. There is a babysitting service for a small price, but it depends whether you (or your child) would feel comfortable with that. Also there is a kids' room which is open in the high season (only) but this again would be better suited to older children than young ones (pool table, video games, etc).

Purely for families with young children like us - it is difficult to find an infant-friendly Zanzibari beach resort, but other options we considered were the Sea Cliff, Gemma del'Est and the Melia.

For everyone else - Breezes would be difficult to beat.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an ocean view room. Also note that most rooms in the hotel are labelled as "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    162
    40
    20
    8
See reviews for
130
342
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Breezes was a wonderful resort for a slow pace and relaxation. It has a great dining room with nice variety and good wine. The spa was excellent and the service throughout was consistently great. Very friendly staff and management. The pool and beach were never crowded during our stay. There were nice activities such as kite surfing and diving as well as less strenuous reef walks. It was a wonderful resort after a busy few weeks on safari!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here after a 10 day safari with Access 2 Tanzania. Everything about this place was perfect!! Beautiful, secluded location. Very nice, accomodating staff. Beautiful facilities. The food was incredible: dinners were different every night and the coffee milkshakes were amazing! Also the alcoholic drinks - like the frozen mojito, was so delicious, I'm still dreaming about them. My husband and I got a couple's massage at the Spa and it was seriously one of the best massages I have ever gotten!

The beach was gorgeous although right where Breezes is is a reef, so you can't really swim there. However, you can rent shoes and walk the reef which is awesome as well! I also updated my Scuba Diving certification at the Rising Sun Dive Center, which is onsite, and the dives were amazing!! Ashley was my instructor and she was great!

Overall a great place, beautiful beach and so much fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've always wanted to go to Zanzibar & i really hoped that my imagination of a magical place wouldn't be ruined by an awful hotel experience or similar...

Fast forward to April 2013, and i finally went to Zanzibar. And yes,it never disappointed! I stayed in the most perfect hotel ever! We stayed one 2nights at Breezes and one night at the next door Baraza Resort & Spa

The rooms at Breezes are great,not new,but the proprietors have really tried to maintain good rooms and great ambiance. I also liked the fact that the rooms are very spacious,with a spacious bath & toilet, a huge changing room, a lounge area on the balcony and we luckily got a room that overlooked the ocean!(Please check when booking as not all rooms overlook the Ocean)

Zanzibar can get very hot,almost uncomfortably hot,but all the rooms at Breezes have a working AC which makes things bearable

The food was awesome! Sooo fresh you could almost taste the real fruit in the juice & the fresh sea in the fish. If there;s anything i remember perfectly about Breezes,it's the fresh food! The staff are also amazingly friendly and they make you feel totally at home. Our waiter at Breezes(Josphat) was amazingly nice & always made sure we were okay,checked on us often,and took time to review the food! we felt attended to. The restaurant/dining area is an open area & overlooks the ocean and it is amazing!

There's also a spa,small but very nice!

The beach on this side of Zanzibar is also not populated and you can go for long beach walks without being pestered by anyone(beach boys) or seeing many people. I particularly enjoyed the long beach walks and the Morning swim!

I also liked the fact that there's a lot to do on this side,not far from the hotel. We visited the Jozani forest to look for the endemic red colobus monkey, and also the 'Rock' restaurant which is close to Breezes. It's an interesting restaurant seating on a rock on the Ocean. We didn't manage to go to Kizimkazi to see the dolphins but we were told it was close by so maybe we'll do it next time

We had an amazing time at Breezes and would highly recommend it!

NB: Be prepared for the long ride from the hotel to the maintown/airport. It takes around 1hr(the hotel is 50km from the mainland/airport)

Room Tip: The best are the rooms which are upstairs and sea facing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

As a family we stayed at Breezes in the beginning of June at the advice of our travel agent as a place to unwind form our safari. This advice was spot on. The resort is very well maintained. Rooms are very comfortable and large. As Zanzibar is around 95% Muslim, there is hardly any touristic infrastructure , outside of Zanziba Town in the form of bars, restaurants and shops. Consequently for night time entertainment one has to rely on the resort. Here Breezes shines. The food is absolutely great and varies over the days. Plus the resort arranges some form of entertainment for every night. Staff is very friendly and if there is any problem or additional wish, they are dealt with promptly. There is a nice pool and a enormous beach. There were always more than enough chairs with shade available although it should be noted that we were there during low season. Overall we all of us enjoyed the 6 day stay a great deal and it is the ideal supplement to a safari. Management should be commended for running such a wonderful operation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and some friends of us stayed there on November 2012. Nothing to say, the resort is very nice, the landscape is priceless, the rooms spacious and always well cleaned up. They have really unique, good quality amenities set. Everyday you will get a free bottle of water, but that is all. Aside it and the beach towels, nothing is included in your half-board. You pay for your drinks (soft drinks!) as well.
I enjoyed the dinner, the breakfast was ok...And, please, put those cheeses in a refrigerated buffet table! I mean, I work in hotel business, to me having cheeses and salami just displayed in a regular buffet table, at room temperature (Zanzibar is quite hot!),it is a shame and not healthy at all! We used to have breakfast at 8:00, the cheeses were sweating and almost melted at that time. Really? Good luck!
The staff is very kind and smiling all time long, but be ready, they will pester you sometimes trying to push you on having lunch or a snack.
The resort is also very quiet, if you are a young couple looking for some "movida" that is not the right place for you. I won't either recommend this place to families with kids, because it's not prepare to welcome small kids and entertain them with any kind of activities. In our groups, there were two teens, they were boring out of their mind after two days and their parents didn't know how to fix it.
They also offer organized tours around the Island, I loved it!

Concluding: considering the price paid, matching of expectation...not sure if I would recommend this resort or I would come back there one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezes-Beach-Club, Manager at Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. We greatly value your opinions, both positive and negative as this is what helps us to keep improving. As a hotelier yourself, I am sure you know that it is only inclusive hotels which offer complimentary soft drinks. We would like to clarify that we have never stated to be anything other than a resort where we offer the choice of Half Board (breakfast and dinner) or Full Board (breakfast, lunch and dinner). It is therefore standard that soft drinks would not be included during your stay. The feedback that we get from our guests about the food in general are excellent and our clients overwhelmingly comment on the high quality of food and variety that we offer as part of our mealplans. We would like to emphasize that we are a hotel that is suited to both families and couples alike catering to both. While we wholeheartedly agree that we are not a destination that offers nightlife, loud music and lots of beachboys and activity…we also firmly believe that our spectacular location is a great place for kids of all ages to discover the Indian Ocean, the unique culture of Zanzibar and natural beauty. We offer the some of the best scubadiving in the world with courses for beginnners and the great discovery dive for non divers to get a chance to view the beautiful marine life. We also have fantastic snorkeling and the Waterclub is one of the best equipped and managed watersports centers in Zanzibar offering Kitesurfing, Windsurfing, Sailing, Kayaking and a range of beach activities. Children and teens of all ages are able to take advantage of the stunning location and explore this special part of the world. We offer Swahili classes, palm weaving classes and the chance to visit a local village to see how people live in a Zanzibari Fishing Village-a great learning experience for anyone. We thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you to Breezes and Zanzibar once again.

Stefano Sechi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranas, Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wow, this was a really nice experience. Kind and very helpful staff. As I work as a travel agent I went for a site inspection I can honestly say I liked everything is perfect about this place. The best rooms are extremly good for larger families were two rooms can be shared together aswell as the big terrace. Right on the beach. Don't miss this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;