We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service I've ever had in a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar to your Saves list
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Offer 10% off
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best service I've ever had in a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Breezes for 4 days at the end of our holiday in Tanzania. After having climb mount Kilimanjaro and spent 2 days on a safari, the Breezes hotel was just want we needed to relax and enjoy the sun by the beach.

The hotel is an hour drive from Stone town so if you are looking for somewhere central, with loads of things around the hotel this is not for you. However, if you are looking for a quiet and relaxed place then you will enjoy the Breezes. It has all you would expect from a resort, several bars, swimming pool, beach, gym, tennis court, spa, water sports centre, a couple of restaurants etc.

The rooms are great size and really clean.The spa had a good range of massages and other services, so did the water sports centre, we rented all kite surfing equipment from the centre as well as going in one of their organised snorkling outings.

The staff was super friendly and helpful, extremely well trained and accomodating, even for the large group of 19 people that we were. The food was great and you could even order lobster for a bit extra on top of the dinner buffet (well worthy!).

Definitely a place I would recommend and would go back to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    176
    42
    20
    9
See reviews for
145
385
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The superlatives given in previous reviews are largely accurate so I will not repeat these and it is difficult to fault the facilities, quality of food and attention of the staff. Yes it can be hot and humid, no there is no TV nor internet access in the rooms (available in TV Room and computer room) - but this is East Africa and not downtown London or NYC, the tourist industry on Zanzibar is still in development, the airport is a good example of this.....
The resort is some 1hr from the airport and somewhat isolated and so not for everyone.
If looking for a complete chill after safari on the mainland or as a honeymoon destination, you cannot go far wrong. Personally, unless into water sport and/or scuba, a week is probably more than enough time here, but this is simply due to the location and certainly not the resort itself, which deserves all the plaudits received.

Room Tip: Higher number rooms are furthest away from the beach and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our third stay at Breezes in the last 3 years so clearly we are very happy with the hotel. Lovely setting, beautiful gardens and quiet, lovely beach. Excellent, helpful, friendly staff. Very good rooms with nice verandas although they could offer more privacy. Excellent food both breakfasts and evning meals. In a perfect world you would stay here when high tide is around midday as the sea is too shallow for swimming at low tide when you can normally walk out to the reef.
I would advise people to pay a little more for a deluxe room nearer the beach. All in all, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a deluxe room nearer the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Breezes is a luxury, tiki style beach resort on the east coast of Zanzibar. If you read the other reviews you will have a good sense of the place. The room was nice, the bath small but functional, nice terrace, spacious common areas. Although you are in Africa the prices are comparable to the US -- $2.50 for a Coke for example. Nothing is included and everyone expects a tip. Ok, we've been to places like this before. What is important to note is that it is very hot and humid here and the only AC is in the room. Its so hot that sweat poured down our heads as we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner. The pool offers little respite as it is very warm too. There is no AC at the airport either, so when our plane back to Kilimanjaro was 6 (six!!) hours late we suffered mightily. Even though the resort was nice, we won't be returning because of the climate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for the second half of our honeymoon after 5 days of safari in the Serengeti. We stayed in a garden suite. The room was very nice and included a huge wrap around outside terrace. The staff was very friendly and welcoming especially Manzi, the beachfront bartender. We were half-board, which worked out well because we skipped lunch two of the days, but would have been nice to have drinks included. The beach and hot tub temperature ocean water were beautiful. The ocean tides are part of what makes this place special and it was very cool to walk through the coral fields and basically snorkel while walking. We met a local named Fisherman Ali, who took us out on his friends mango tree boat to snorkel at the blue lagoon for a cheaper price than the hotel affiliated tour. He also walked us around the coral reef for 2 hours, teaching us about the sea life, for free.
Would definitely recommend this place, not sure if the high price of The palms or barazza next door (same owner) would be worth it or necessary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Breezes Resort -very impressed would highly recommend

Immigration cards to be completed at Zanzibar airport inbound and outbound. Beware young baggage handling staff who want a tip for moving your luggage two feet or loaning you a pen. An hour by minibus to the resort.

The resort itself is impressive. Rooms are set in small attractive 2 storey houses in lush gardens. Pay the extra for a de lux room and request a first floor room when booking. Very spacious with hair drier, tea and coffee and three pin square sockets. Friendly, smiley and helpful staff throughout the resort. If I have one criticism it would be that with a hotel of this high standard you shouldn't really be having to pay every time you want to use the wi-fi.

One restaurant for dinner, snack bar for lunch and beach service available. Diner is part table service and part buffet but food is of a very high standard. There is an extensive choice of high quality dishes on a different theme each night. There is a dress code ( long trousers for the men). The wine list starts at about £20 and local beers will set you back around £2.60 with a diet coke at just over £2 . Lunch for two with a beer and a coke varied between£15 and £25. Excellent scuba diving centre on site. See Tripadvisor entry on Rising Sun Dive Centre, Zanzibar.
Other water sports available such as kite surfing and hobby cats. Spa on site.

Scuba Diving
Rising Sun Dive Centre is on site but also serves several other hotels nearby.
The organisation is as good as I have seen anywhere. Everything is done for you and nothing is too much trouble. They have a maximum ratio of four divers to one guide. Two dives per day and they are both done in one trip starting at 9am or 11am depending on the tides. Generally you wade out to the boat (a spacious traditional local dhow) in front of the dive centre, then it's 10 minutes to the first dive followed by a 45minute surface interval on the boat and then the second dive.
The Dive Centre is excellent and ideal for three or four day's diving though we dived for six days and enjoyed every one. It's mostly sandy bottoms at around 18m but much deeper dives are there to be had. Very healthy coral, no litter and no other divers. There is plenty to see although the bigger stuff is less common. As important as the dives are the staff at the Dive Centre. This is where Rising Sun wins. Highly qualified, approachable, professional and above all fun people to be with. Well done Evelyn, Max, Ashley and Georgio. (Awesome!!!).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This resort is isolated in location (about 90 min ride from the airport) and situated on a beach which I'd rate1 compared to 10 for the carribean. The sand is clean, not fine or pristine white, lots of seaweed and the water not clear anough to view the shallow bottom. The pool is huge with very wam water temp (I would estimate 90 -93 degrees) and maintained very, very clean. . This is one HOT, HUMID location and the only AC is found in the rooms which are quite nice, clean and beautifully furnished. Except for the one computer room and the excercise room (a slight walk from the resort entry) there is no other AC to be found. Everything is open air and the restaurant offered delicious food. I was honestly so hot that I just stayed in the room until 6 PM when I could tolerate the outside, still uncomfortably warm.& humid. This ranks as #1 most uncomfortably hot/humid place I've ever visited. Staff was wonderful and the best component of the resort. The place does the best with what it has but definitely not my choice for a return visit. (modest $10.charge per day for WiFi and free access to computer for boarding passes)

Room Tip: Request closest to the center area with pool and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.