We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in beatiful surrowndings.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar to your Saves list
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Offer 10% off
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in beatiful surrowndings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Breezes although we stayed very far from everything, room 52. I tryed the spa and loved it so much. They have lots of Frangipani trees in the garden and I just love theese flowers. The staff here are so great. We talk the swahili we know with them and everything goes even smoother. A special thank you to Ali in reception, Doudi, Richard, Kalista, Ewa and Paul (waiters) + Kassim and Beatrice. We will never forget you. The surrowndings are very lovely. Different areas where you can sitt during daytime or at night. You can even order you lunch by your sunbed by the sea. They have differents themes every night (when it come to the food) You have lots of options to choose from. The tide you can do nothing about but you also take a swim in the pool. Overall we recoment this place.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean you have to stay in rooms nr. 1 to about 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    183
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
152
405
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent a week at Breezes prior to going on Safari and had an excellent time at the resort. It would be hard to describe it as unique, but as a beach resort it ticked all the boxes one might want. Lovely beach, great pool and good food. It wasn't excellent, but for those looking for a beach resort in Zanzibar, without it being totally over the top luxury, this fits the bill. The staff were excellent, and the room was always clean. We did have one bad experience when we were woken up at about 3am by an appaling smell in the room. Going out to investigate, it turned out to be workmen repairing some drains by the terrace. My partner went up to the reception in her dressing gown to have a strong word and the work was stopped immediately. The next day reception got a message to us at breakfast that as the work was carrying on that night, we would be moved to a Suite that day, which was done quickly and efficiently. Although we were pleased at how quickly the situation was resolved it was odd that no-one thought that working on drains in the middle of the night outside someone's room, might create a problem!

I also dived with the Rising Sun dive centre and was impressed, but have done a separate review for them.

One other thing to mention is the tides. If you're looking for just a week's beach holiday and not tying it into a safari or trip to Tanzania, Zanzibar might not be for you. The tides are massive and every day there will be a good chunk of the day (either morning or afternoon) when you can't swim as the tide's out. Compared to somewhere like the Caribbean where there's no tide to speak of, this could be a problem if you're only there for the beach. This is of course in no way the fault of the hotel, but worth bearing in mind though when the tide is out the swimming pool is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at breezes for 6 nights, this was following a 6 day safari, so when we arrived at the hotel we were exhausted and dirty, but this hotel was exactly what the doctor ordered as an antidote to 6 days of being thrown around and getting up at before the crack of dawn each day, its quite remote about an hour from stone town so unless you are prepared to make that journey then you are really stuck in the hotel, but for us that wasnt a problem, it was a bonus. Described as a four star I was expecting a nice hotel with some elements that meant it didn't deserve a full 5 stars, however this isn't a nice hotel, it's a great hotel. The hotel is not huge but is large enough so you don't feel constricted, but at the same time it has a really "at home" atmosphere and we loved it.We had a suite which was large and had a great view of the sea and beach area and huge sun terrace. We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, not only our room but also all the common areas.The hotel sits on a beautiful beach, white powder sand and an almost luminous turquoise bath temperature sea! yes it is tidal and for some hours of the day the tide goes out but then you have the opportunity for a great reef walk so can see things that ordinarily you would never see unless you were a diver, huge star fish, great shells, colored coral all revealed as the tide recedes, what's more when the tide does go out it leaves little shallow pools of sea water that are great for just wallowing in. There is some washed up sea weed after high tide but the hotel staff clear it away so it's not really a problem. One word of warning, if you do do the reef walk do not do this barefoot as certain areas are sea urchin central and use a stick to help you balance, these sticks are provided by the water-sport centre as are reef walking shoes if you do not have any of your own.When the tide comes back in it comes in real fast and gets deep quickly, great for swimming in. The food by and large was good, some meals better than others, great buffet breakfast, good pool and beach service for food and drink, and most nights the evening meal was themed, again no complaints. The gardens around the hotel are stunning, dense and brilliantly green, beautiful palms, brightly colored bougainvillea plants, a feast for the eyes. The sunbed set up for the pool and the beach is really amazing, all well spaced, plenty of shade, best I have seen. If you like to look at the sea whilst you sunbathe you really won't find a better set up than at the Breezes, with all the sunbeds situated under thatched umbrella's facing the sea. The pool area is well laid out, very clean and in a great location within the gardens.

On two occasions we ventured into Stone Town, quite expensive to do 100 dollars return. The hotel also arranged some excursions for us which were great, to see the colobus monkeys, Prison island where there is a colony of huge tortoise and then a tour of Stone town, Last but by no means least are the staff, they cannot do enough for you, always smiling! always happy simply wonderful ! you really will not find better. It was my 50th birthday whilst I was there, all the staff sang happy birthday to me Swahili style.....Jambo Jambo! Won't forget that in a hurry!!

We have stayed at many good hotels around the world, many have been a lot higher rated and certainly more expensive than the Breezes, but this hotel has to be one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in, I would certainly highly recomend it for a relaxing after safari rest, though a lot of people were staying for 10 /12 days with Breezes being their only destination.

One thing was very evident and that is a genuine desire by the staff and management to make sure your stay is perfect, they go out of their way to make sure any issues , any hint of dissatisfaction is dealt with quickly, efficiently and pleasantly.

The world is a big place with so many beautiful places to visit and they say that 2nd time around its never as great, but I would like to think and look forward to when we return to Breezes .

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goucestershire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights in Breezes and am finding it hard to say a bad word about the place.
All the staff from gardeners to cleaners, waiters to reception personnel were extremely polite and welcoming and seemed truly delighted to be able to provide a service. This can only be a result of the management as with any efficient organisation, the quality and standard is set from the top.
As my review's title suggest, the thing that makes this hotel stand apart from others in which I have stayed( some of which boast 5 and even 6 stars), is the attention to detail.
I celebrated a birthday and a wedding anniversary during the course of our stay and for both celebrations, there was a cake and even a small gift provided by the hotel. Thank you!
I know that in all likelihood, extra treats such as complimentary sundowners are factored into the price, but all the same, it is such a wonderful touch and made us feel special.
My ONLY gripe and it is minor and not isolated to this hotel is the cost of the spa treatments in comparison to UK. Had the hotel offered a spa package or prices equitable with treatments at home, I would have used the facility at least once. However, I feel slight resentment at having to pay as much as I would at a spa UK for treatments when I suspect the labour cost are so much less. But as I said, this seems to be a common theme amongst hotels world wide and not just here.

The acid test of a good hotel is to ask oneself whether you would go back and I think that in the case of Breezes......yes I most definitely would

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I have just spent 4 nights at this resort on the east coast of Zanzibar. There are many very positive features, for example the staff were all very welcoming and helpful, and the overall site was spacious with beautiful gardens and a gorgeous pure white sand beach with facilities for diving. The slope of the beach is very slight, so even non-swimmers can paddle some distance from the shore. Breakfasts are excellent, and the evening meals are good, sometimes having a themed buffet, otherwise having a relatively limited fixed menu, including vegetarian options. One downside - quite unnecessary - was a small charge for drinking water with dinners. Tap water is not safe to drink.

The resort is totally self contained, although once on the beach there is a pleasant stroll as far as you wish in either direction. Two main excursions by car are available, either to the famous Stone Town part of Zanzibar Town (including the terrible reminders of slavery), or to spice farms, to see cloves and many other spices growing, and to sample them and local fruits. We found that such an excursion costs from £40 to £90 per person per day.

The suites were spacious, comfortable, very clean, and had good bathrooms. The only downside with the suites was that they contained no television or any other form of entertainment, even though the residents of Zanzibar appear to be more fanatical and up-to-date about Premier League football than anywhere else we'd holidayed, and the staff and drivers seemed to have access to t.v.!

Finally, the journey from the airport to and from the resort takes almost an hour by road - but arriving at or departing from the airport is an adventure in itself!

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floor have spacious and secluded balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taby, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my family stayed almost two weeks at Breezes in the end of january. We just love Breezes! The kids (6,5 & 4) were really enjoying themselves and they loved the pool, playing on the beach, our room and the surroundings.

Food was excellent! Everything is very fresh and tasty. For breakfast you can basically get anything you could possibly want. Fresh fruit, pancakes, omelet, you name it. Dinner varies between buffet and a la carte which gives you a great variety.

The beach is one of the best beaches I've ever seen,the white coral sand is amazing! There is quite a big difference between low and high tide. During low tide you can do a reef walk which is really interesting. The hotel offers many different activities that you can try out. Kite surfing, scuba diving, sailing etc. You can really take a nice walk or run on the beach. I ran barefoot over 8 km late one afternoon, which was a perfect run!

The whole hotel area is very green and the interior is really nice and creates a relaxing environment. All the staff was very nice, kind and helpful during whole our stay. We went on a couple of excursions, one was snorkeling and some fishing which was really nice. Kids were happy when we caught a nice tuna. We also went to see the Colobus monkeys and Butterfly farm which was an appreciated half-day trip.

To sum it up I can really recommend a stay at Breezes. Don't miss it if you go to Zanzibar!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We are leaving today after four nights stay following safari. The hotel is amazing and we cannot fault it in any way. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We were very tired on arrival after six nights on safari so all we did for the first couple of days was lie around and be pampered. Went on the dolphin trip from a quaint village at the south of the island and saw masses of dolphins .A lot of people swam with them ,snorkelled and touched them but I felt that at my age I wasn't quite nimble enough. A lovely Rastafarian called Sadiq on the boat was so helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel
A.M

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.