We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigger and more commercial than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar to your Saves list
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bigger and more commercial than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our expectations prior to arrival was that this was a smaller family owned boutique hotel. This wasn't quite the case. However, the lovely staff was very accommodating, food was above average and we have nothing in particular to complain about really. But for couples (on honey moon like us) looking for an exclusive personal and romantic resort, this didn't quite meet the requirements.

To be honest, the beach that I've heard so much about was a disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    186
    44
    19
    9
See reviews for
158
409
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Absolutely awesome ! Fabulous location, great food, beautiful beach, turquoise water, great staff and a terrific selection of Cuban cigars. If you can drag yourself away from this place, Zanzibar itself is very interesting, the culture and the people were fascinating. We may have to make a special trip back here before we croak.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you prefer a luxurious resort that is flawless - this is the place. This is a great "international" place and does not leave that much taste of Zanzibar, or Africa, in your mouth since it is very polished and it could be situated anywhere more or less: Gran Canaria, Phuket, India - you would not see a difference. But a very nice and comfortable place with great pool and beach all taken care of by splendid staff and management.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved this place although it´s a quite big resort. Nicely decorated comfortable rooms and public areas, fantastic service, great food especially at lunch and breakfast. Nice beach and poolarea. Don´t miss a treatment in the spa! I´d love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel facilities were very good (rooms, dinning, bar, fitness, pool, beach, etc), in a beautiful setting along the coast. Service is also very friendly. - However, owing to the very shallow shore line, there is not much water sports to be done, and the water is seriously hot so it is not really refreshing. Limited sports or other activities. This is not really an active all-inclusive. But it is a nice choice for a quiet beach get-away to read under the palm trees and enjoy the heat.

Room Tip: - Bring your own games, books, and activities to pass the time. This is a quiet sleepy environment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights just before Christmas. Our room, what they call suite, was spacious with lovely terrace overlooking the ocean. The decoration & furniture are a bit basic, but you have what you need and is nice and clean. Staff is very friendly and professional. Food is ok, nothing to die for, but for the money you pay I believe it's fair enough Breakfast probably best meal of the day. Beach bar menu is very limited and not great quality, but fruit cocktails were delicious . Drinks are reasonably priced, however wine list is very limited and I would have enjoyed some bubbles in the drinks menu at the bar. Some evenings they organise entertainment such as live music or local acrobats/dancers, that is a nice touch. Pool is good, we did not try the spa as we thought was expensive ( Sultan baths for 2 400 $ ), the gym is quite small and with very dated equipment. Tennis court is in good condition and has flood lights. Tours offered by the hotel are more expensive that those you can organise with the beach boys. Thus we preferred to spend some money with the locals and it proved to be a good choice as they were professional, knowledgeable and reliable. Overall the feedback is definitely positive and I would recommend the resort for those on a medium budget.

Room Tip: If you can, pay the difference for a deluxe or suite with ocean view. It's worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezes-Beach-Club, Manager at Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We would like to sincerely thank you for the feedback that you have given us about Breezes and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.



We appreciate this opportunity to just clarify about the prices at our spa. It seems that you confused the currency, quoting the rate in USD while we have it in Tsh in our menu. Therefore the Tsh 405,000 per couple that it costs, actually represents US$ 260 (130 USD per person) and not US$ 400 you have stated. Also the treatment you are referring to is our most expensive, as it is a one hour and a half unique experience for two in a private area including one hour aroma therapy massage each, the use of the mosaic-tiled pool and some relaxing time with drinks all in a beautiful ambiance. Our regular treatments such as the one hour Aromasoul Massage is just US$ 75, which is very reasonable, considering that we have therapists from Thailand, Indonesia and India who provide excellent service for our guests.



We would also like to take this opportunity to comment on the local excursions. We as a hotel and long time investor in Zanzibar strongly support the local community in employment and our developments of the local school and medical clinic, and of course through employment and business.



As such, we work with a reputable and licensed local Zanzibar tour operator company that organizes all the tours that you are referring to (not the hotel). Of course they cannot offer the same prices as that of the beach boys. Our primary concern is always the safety of our clients and we hope that our guests will exercise caution in regards to any tours/water sports activities organized by external parties. We have been called on to handle situations that have arisen due to a lack of resources, formal training, no life-jackets or rescue boats, vehicles that are not registered/ licensed and operated by unlicensed drivers and touts and this is something that we cannot recommend to our guests.



We thank you again and hope to welcome you back to Zanzibar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a great hotel with a really good range of facilities which allows you to do lots or do nothing (what ever takes your fancy!). The +itives were Food, Choice of activities, Dive School on site and the Water Sports. The -atives not many really but it is a bit of a hike from the airport and there is nothing else in the local area eg other restaurants etc but really you don't need them.

We stayed for a week and made good use of the excellent water sports facilities and the dive centre which is a must. We would also recommend the various tips especially the One day Island trip and the Spice Tour (which is better than it wounds!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.