We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget paradise- June 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makuti Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Makuti Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Makuti Beach Hotel
Bwejuu Road | Jambiani-Paje, Bwejuu 8841, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Batley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget paradise- June 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great service and accommodation for the budget traveller! Clean, simple and autherntic

was a bit difficult to find, however we got there in the end and what a beautiful location. Waking up and falling asleep to the sound of the indian ocean waves- bliss!

First of all the owner was very helpful and informative about the area. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with local wooden/weaved shelving/closet areas. For two people the room was adequately sized and as it was low season we were facing the beach, however from what we can see all the rooms are ON the beach and fantastic. You can hear the waves as you are directly on the beach.

Beach sea was warm and great for a stroll, as we walked along there were other bars/cafes and BBs. In the morning there is low tide and locals can be seen collecting seaweed and fishing.

We only stopped overnight as we then visited Jozani forest, so didn't get to experience the beach in the afternoon.

Breakfast was basic but adequate and perfect for the price. We also paid for an evening meal which actually turned out to be one of the best in the entire of zanzibar island (we travelled the whole island so can compare)! It was a veg pizza and beef skewars. We really wen't expecting a great pizza but wow it was fantastic, tasty and just so unexpected! Finally at night the electricity will go out however staff are on hand with lanterns, candles etc and it's actually quite romantic.

Wish we would have stayed here longer though!

Room Tip: Get a room directly facing the beach so you can fall asleep and wake up the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    20
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
47
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have spent 5 nights in Makuti some time ago. Very nice hotel, clean, good location, great owners Mabel and Peter, very helpfull, friendly, etc. All our stay was simply perfect. I can definetly recomend this to every traveler. Thank You so much!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, all very close to beach, no difference, which one You will select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was in Makuti beach bungalows in november 2012 and these is mi unforgettable experience:
I arrive at 7 in the morning to the Zanzibar airport,landing at 7 and at 7,15 the driver of makuti waiting for me.

We got direction to Bwejuu,the road is realy good for driving you can cross realy nice places,full of nature and nice villages were the people greeting to you and smiling,you realy feel you are a star in paradise.

In half part of the trip to Bwejuu you can arrive to the monkies reserve,you can see monkeis in both sides of the road.

30 minutes from the airport and we arrive to destinathion.

Here is Makuti beach.First person can recive mee is mister Manga the manager of the hotel,reali nice person,after we became realy good friends,he show mee my bungalow,mi house for 30 days.

Y stay in the new makuti premier bungalow i am the first person wo sleep in there.Fantastic and very confortable,everithink you need is in there.Television,air conditioning,royal bed,nice bathroom,and so on.

30 minutes after mi arriving i meet whith owners of the hotel for explain mee how is the life in there and what i can do for have a great time there.

Mister Peter and Mabel are very special persons they make you so confortable like you are in your home.So gently and everithink you need is not a problem for these fantastic staff.

I agree whith Peter to go fishing in few days,and he tell mee that is possible to go tomorrow morning,so i can prepare mee for first adventure.

6 in the morning,Peter waiting for mee on the beach whith the boat whith captain cognaghi a realy special captain,he knows every place for fishing any kind of fish.We start fishing under the reef and in few minutes we cathc the first barracuda,puff these is a paradise for fishermans,in the begining 3 hours we can cathc 4 barracudas one giant trevalli and one peto wahoo.

I realy have a good time the rest of my holydays here; very quiet place and many interesting thinks to do,the ocean is fantastic,the food realy healthy and Peter and Mabel so frendly.

I want to come back soon in my next holydays.

Thanks to all the staff from Makuti.Mabel,Peter,Manga,Toshi (mister supu)Magia,Balzu (full moon)Nangi(he speak realy good spanish)and all the people make mi holydays a real dream.

Marcello

Room Tip: Makuti premier are a realy lovely place to stay alone or whith famili.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

After reading all the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and the #1 Budget choice recommendation it has clocked up, I decided to book Makuti for a 4 day getaway.

Whilst we had a pleasurable time there, I struggled to work out why all this high praise had been heaped upon it. The Makuti is a very standard beach bungalow experience. The rooms are clean, the beachfront is kept tidy and the amenities are sufficient. But there's nothing that makes this place stand out from the crowd; no signature quirks that give it a character of its own. Indeed, some features need a bit of a lift - the snorkelling trip through Makuti was quoted to us at $60, leaving us to book through the next door Sun & Sea Bungalows instead that organised a great snorkelling expedition for half that price. The restaurant TV blared American commercials all day disrupting the tranquility of lazing on a beach lounge out the front - this type of poor attention to detail should be rectified. Breakfast was included in the price but consisted of a few pieces of fruit and some toast and jam - this is below par when you consider that Cristal Resorts in Paje includes full hot breakfast options (eggs and pancakes) for a lower price. The quality of the breakfast definitely needs improvement.

Although there was nothing horribly wrong about Makuti, I wouldn't recommend it. If you're looking for something in this price range try Paradise Bungalows, 5 minutes towards Paje, instead - at least the delicious Japanese food on offer gives it a point of difference and individuality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This is the first time we have put a review on trip advisor but we recently got married and trip advisor played a huge part in booking our honeymoon so we felt we would be doing it and the hotels we stayed disservice if we did return the favour.
We booked Makuti based on the info and pictures we saw on this site and we have to say it turned out to be everything we hoped for and more!!! From the very start being met at the airport by our lovely driver Lucas who could not have been more helpful. He pointed out many places of interest on our drive to the hotel and even went out of his way to help us find an ATM that was working so we could get cash.(it can be difficult to get cash from ATMs in stonetown especial toward the weekend when they seem to run out, and there are no ATMs at any if the resorts.
When we arrived at Makuti we were greeted by Hassan the manager who looked rafter booking us in and gave us a juice cocktail to welcome us.Madja also tended the bar and kitchen and both are a great asset to the place
The Accomadation at Makuti is exactly as it looks in the pictures on the website. It is clean and simple exactly what we were looking for. The service was excellent without being too 'in your face' as many resorts can be. We were left to our own devices and if we want something all we had to ask. The owner of the resort Peter found be a lovely friendly guy who help us out with advice and transport many times. He is very relaxed from what we saw and nothing was any problem for him. Unfortunatey his wife Mabel was away while we were there but we might meet on a return visit :-)
We had no problems with ants but because the resort is literally ' on the beach' the odd one mite get under the door. We solved this by putting a towel across the bottom of the door at night
We had the front beach bungalow and really you could not be nearer the sea it was just amazing. You never even have to put flip flips never mind shoes.the room itself was big enough and the bathroom the same.
We really thought this place was paradise and would recommend it to all couples and honeymooners alike who are looking for something that little bit different from the 'usually run of the mill' beach resorts.
Thanks Peter, Hassan and Madja and all the staff for make our honeymoon one we will always remember. Hopefully we will return for the ' anniversary ' ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Mukuti is a wonderful place if you are looking for a very simple place to stay. The rooms don't have A/C and you should know if that's going to be an issue before going. They provide a fan and the beach has a wonderful breeze, but the room didn't have a great cross breeze and was pretty stuffy. Peter is a active owner that is engaging all day and is a good resource for your stay. the hotel didn't offer internet and i did need it a couple time and he told me of a hotel a few meters away that i could log on. The restaurant, bar and reception are all the same and peter loves to play recorded video concerts of R&B & Jazz bands on the TV. It's a good place to hang out with the other guest who you'll get to know very quickly on check in. The only real knock was that my toilet was about 10 inches from the wall in front of it and that's a tight fit. You have to be ok with ants cause they're there, big and small. If you realize that they belong there and don't expect a sterilized environment, you'll be OK. If they bother you, don't go. It was low season, so things were quiet and the beach was empty. Bwejuu is not a lovely beach, but that's nothing to do with Makati. Friendly staff and honest, many locals moving in and about and Peter treats everyone with kindness. The touts on the beach are less aggressive then busier beaches, but they'll still find you. Four night there and was disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After one night in Stone Town we headed south-east in a hire car to Makuti Beach Hotel. Even with a satnav it is pretty tricky to find as you have to turn off the road and head over the sand towards the sea - this hotel really is on the beach! We had three rooms pre-booked so everything was lined up for us to dump our stuff and head for the bar.

The rooms are exactly what you would expect for the price - clean, cool (no aircon or fans), power shower and four poster with mossy net. I had the upstairs room 103, this is as close to the beach as you can get so if you do not like the sound of waves through the night get one further back. Remember that there are daily power cuts on Zanzibar so take a torch or you might end up walking into immovable objects on the way back from the bar.

The staff were really friendly and the single cook turned out an excellent small varied menu for both lunch and dinner. As ever the service is slow, they serve a table at a time and even though we were there in low season all the rooms were taken. The longer you wait the more you drink and the barman was great at keeping us well lubricated. He even took us to a dodgy club on one of the nights after he had finished. For some reason all the bars/clubs seem to play Bob Marley tracks - I never liked him and it began to get quite annoying after 7 nights on the island.

All in all, a really nice 'hotel', very laid back, good staff, great food and plenty of loungers to burn on. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 103 is nearest the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makuti Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makuti Beach Hotel

Address: Bwejuu Road | Jambiani-Paje, Bwejuu 8841, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and fine, the Makuti Beach Hotel, with only 10 different bungalows located directly run on the white sandy beach of the Indian Ocean.Shoes off and relax, that's the motto for us.Own restaurant, bar and lounge. Daily fresh fish and seafood.Quiet and relaxing atmosphere.To the lively Paje with kite and dive shops, bars and supermarket you walk 15min. along the beach.See you on the beachKaribu Sana - Makuti Beach Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Makuti Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makuti Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makuti Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.