We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upepo Boutique Beach Side Reastaurant

Upepo Boutique Beach Side Reastaurant
on the beach! Near Robinson's Place, just outside Bwejuu Village, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 restaurants in Bwejuu
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: It's also a hotel, called Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows. Website is www.zanzibarhotelbeach.com. Cheers!
Restaurant details
Description: It's also a hotel, called Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows. Website is www.zanzibarhotelbeach.com. Cheers!
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here while biking along the beach. Good that we did! We relaxed in the hammocks while the food was being prepared with our chocolate and banana milkshakes. The food was incredible, cooked in delicious spices. I had the fried calamari with fries while my boyfriend had the king prawns. We both agreed was one of the best meals in Zanzibar we ate the whole trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    6
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant, relaxed beach restaurant- highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Fantastic little restauarant: Arguably the nicest food I had in Zanzibar. They cook everything from scratch. Superb food with lovely hosts/ service.

They change the menu daily but if you can get calamari masala, get it: divine!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
“Best, most delicious seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Best place to hang out overlooking beach and mellow. The food was delicious -- octopus, shrimp fried with cumin and lime, squid, fresh fish -- great Tanzanian food. If you're looking for pizza and burgers this is not the place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, nice food, luxury feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Actually we wanted to go eat at the Rock, but when we saw Upendo, decided to eat there. They have nice relaxing areas and a great view on the Rock!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Candlelit Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Enjoyed Zanzibar meatballs here - delicious, spicy - a nice change from seafood. When the evening power cut happened - we were left with just candlelight - and the sound of the sea. Very atmospheric!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upepo Boutique Beach Side Reastaurant also viewed

Been to Upepo Boutique Beach Side Reastaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upepo Boutique Beach Side Reastaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.