We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun and Seaview Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun and Seaview Bungalows
Paje-Bwejuu | P.O. Box 3881, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
Warwick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent 2 nights here and loved it. So close to beach and so relaxing. Beautiful setting. Romantic and very reasonable. We were on our way round the island and probably would have liked to stay longer.
Room was on the small side but certainly adequate. Had clean bathroom but unfortuantely no AC and only a smallish fan. The room had lots of windows so there was a nice breeze but it was still a little hot at night at times.
Breakfast was served in the open air restaurant and was lovely. We had a few other meals there too which we enjoyed. All in all a lovely experience. Thank you Suzannah for making our stay so pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a simple place which is reflected in the pricing. The rooms are very simple and there is no pool. However, staff is very friendly and the food in the restaurant ok (we only had lunch).

You can swim in the sea but at low tide you need to walk quite far out. You will find sun chairs and umbrellas on the beach. To go to the “main-part” of Paje, it is a 20-30 minute walk along the beach or a 5 minute cab ride.

Best – Staff friendliness

Good – Rooms

Not so good – Nothing

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I was a solo traveller spending a week here after a mental few weeks travelling through Kenya.
Accomodation was faultless. Linen changed everyday, with a few rose petals thrown in for effect, and towels changed dailys. Only negative would be the lack of air conditioning, travelled in November and it was most definetly needed.
Food was fine, but a bit samey, though a walk either direction along the beach brings up plenty of other eateries.
Accomodation is right on the beach, very quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I wanted to go to Zanzibar for New Year and had unfortunately booked too late. So I contacted a travel agent and she said that there was space at Sun and Seaview Bungalows. l did not know anything much about the place before going there. Not really sure what to expect. We travelled in a party of four. Our transfer from the airport was good, just a distance to travel, about an hour. The roads are very narrow and at times only space for one car. When you approach the "resort" it really does not look like much. Reception is just an old office. Check in was quick and easy, with no problems. We were shown to our bungalows, we had the family bungalow, as my daughter was with us. It is really very basic, but with all the necessities that you would need. It had two double beds, with nets, and a single bed. The bungalow is kept very clean and linen changed regularly. Clean towels for shower and swimming provided everyday. The bungalow we had only had a shower, but it was clean. The accommodation was provided on a half board basis. We found the food fine, no real issues here. There are a few positive things about this establishment. The staff are friendly, the bungalows are only a few steps from the beach, it is quiet with no crowds and it is really kept very neat and clean. The negatives are; the kitchen service is very slow, the sea has seaweed farms in it, so difficult to actually swim.
But all in all we enjoyed it and had a good break!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The bungalows are situated right on the beach and they are adequate for the price. ($80 US) They do not have air conditioning which makes it very warm and humid in December. The ceiling fans are too much for the generator at night, so you don't get much ventilation especially with the mosquito netting. The beach has seaweed farming, so it is not so picturesque. However, the owners are friendly and the food is made fresh and is delicious. Depending on what you expect, this might be ideal for you, or less than what you want.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in December and found it to be great value for money.

The staff were very friendly and really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. You get to know them pretty well as its such a small resort; only ten bungalows. Therefore you get used to seeing the same faces at mealtimes. This goes for other guests too! We learned quite a bit of the language while we were there because they are so willing to teach it to you. The food was pretty good and very reasonably priced. We actually managed to return home with some spare cash! It can take a while though, so make sure you tell them when you want to eat, otherwise you'll be waiting for a while.

Our room was basic but comfortable. It was, however, incredibly hot at night when we were sleeping. There was a ceiling fan and a standing fan but it was still boiling. It was also pretty sticky in the evening when we were getting ready to go out and often we would have to go outside to cool down.

The beach is beautiful and is just a stones throw from the rooms. While the tide is out you can watch the locals collecting seaweed and fishing. They are very happy to interact with guests and will also be keen to teach you the language.

Another place we really enjoyed was Crazy Mzungos which is a five minute walk along the beach. It's a really chilled out beach bar where you can go and eat or just get a few drinks.

Overall, a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I stayed at Sun and Seaview Bunglaows for a week after climbing Kilimanjaro. It was exactly what I needed. The rooms were clean and basic (better than you'd expect for such an affordable price). The restaurant was nice, food was good, beer was better. Had great service from everyone there. They went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed, rides where I wanted to go and simple things like bringing out snacks to the beach if I ordered a beer. I would definitely recommend it for anyone, solo travelers, couples, families, groups of friends. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun and Seaview Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun and Seaview Bungalows

Also Known As:
Sun And Seaview Bungalows Hotel
Sun And Seaview Bungalows Hotel Bwejuu
Sun And Seaview Bungalows Zanzibar/Bwejuu
Address: Paje-Bwejuu | P.O. Box 3881, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bwejuu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun and sea view is a small bungalow of ten rooms all seaview with restaurant with italian & local foods,tongether with lots of activities like tennis, volley ball and kayaksfor free you will apreciate the helpful stall in a quite atmosphere. it is a place where many nations meet with one spirit enjoying holidays ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun and Seaview Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sun and Seaview Bungalows to your Saves list