We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun and Seaview Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun and Seaview Bungalows
Save
You added Sun and Seaview Bungalows to your Saves list
Paje-Bwejuu | P.O. Box 3881, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chilled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I was a solo traveller spending a week here after a mental few weeks travelling through Kenya.
Accomodation was faultless. Linen changed everyday, with a few rose petals thrown in for effect, and towels changed dailys. Only negative would be the lack of air conditioning, travelled in November and it was most definetly needed.
Food was fine, but a bit samey, though a walk either direction along the beach brings up plenty of other eateries.
Accomodation is right on the beach, very quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slicvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I wanted to go to Zanzibar for New Year and had unfortunately booked too late. So I contacted a travel agent and she said that there was space at Sun and Seaview Bungalows. l did not know anything much about the place before going there. Not really sure what to expect. We travelled in a party of four. Our transfer from the airport was good, just a distance to travel, about an hour. The roads are very narrow and at times only space for one car. When you approach the "resort" it really does not look like much. Reception is just an old office. Check in was quick and easy, with no problems. We were shown to our bungalows, we had the family bungalow, as my daughter was with us. It is really very basic, but with all the necessities that you would need. It had two double beds, with nets, and a single bed. The bungalow is kept very clean and linen changed regularly. Clean towels for shower and swimming provided everyday. The bungalow we had only had a shower, but it was clean. The accommodation was provided on a half board basis. We found the food fine, no real issues here. There are a few positive things about this establishment. The staff are friendly, the bungalows are only a few steps from the beach, it is quiet with no crowds and it is really kept very neat and clean. The negatives are; the kitchen service is very slow, the sea has seaweed farms in it, so difficult to actually swim.
But all in all we enjoyed it and had a good break!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleVee288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The bungalows are situated right on the beach and they are adequate for the price. ($80 US) They do not have air conditioning which makes it very warm and humid in December. The ceiling fans are too much for the generator at night, so you don't get much ventilation especially with the mosquito netting. The beach has seaweed farming, so it is not so picturesque. However, the owners are friendly and the food is made fresh and is delicious. Depending on what you expect, this might be ideal for you, or less than what you want.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here for a week in December and found it to be great value for money.

The staff were very friendly and really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. You get to know them pretty well as its such a small resort; only ten bungalows. Therefore you get used to seeing the same faces at mealtimes. This goes for other guests too! We learned quite a bit of the language while we were there because they are so willing to teach it to you. The food was pretty good and very reasonably priced. We actually managed to return home with some spare cash! It can take a while though, so make sure you tell them when you want to eat, otherwise you'll be waiting for a while.

Our room was basic but comfortable. It was, however, incredibly hot at night when we were sleeping. There was a ceiling fan and a standing fan but it was still boiling. It was also pretty sticky in the evening when we were getting ready to go out and often we would have to go outside to cool down.

The beach is beautiful and is just a stones throw from the rooms. While the tide is out you can watch the locals collecting seaweed and fishing. They are very happy to interact with guests and will also be keen to teach you the language.

Another place we really enjoyed was Crazy Mzungos which is a five minute walk along the beach. It's a really chilled out beach bar where you can go and eat or just get a few drinks.

Overall, a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubaipenguinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I stayed at Sun and Seaview Bunglaows for a week after climbing Kilimanjaro. It was exactly what I needed. The rooms were clean and basic (better than you'd expect for such an affordable price). The restaurant was nice, food was good, beer was better. Had great service from everyone there. They went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed, rides where I wanted to go and simple things like bringing out snacks to the beach if I ordered a beer. I would definitely recommend it for anyone, solo travelers, couples, families, groups of friends. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCS1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I have booked for 10 nights at Sun& Seaview Bungalows and I am very fortunate that I did. They were fully booked and other travelers had to be turned away. Susan and Federico and all the staff takes care of each guest individually and nothing is too much for them.
The rooms are nice and big with fans.
They do arrange airport transfers to the East Coast and the bonus they take payment via paypal.
1time airlines fly Tuesdays and Saturdays from Johannesburg South Africa, directly to Zanzibar.
I would recommend that you stay a few nights in Stown Town and do all the day trips from there because transfers to do day trips from the East Coast ranges from $45 -$35 one way.
This lovely place is a gem and I will return.
The food in the restaurant is fantastic and very reasonable. All freshly prepared so it takes time.

Room Tip: Ask for twin or double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at Sun & Sea View for 5 nights and this was just wonderful! The beach is really paradise and it is really relaxing! We stayed in the family house directly at the beach, with our 2 kids, and it was really nice and clean. They had some surfing boards and canoes which was fun to play with. The restaurant was cheap and the food good. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. The only negative thing is that it is quite a way to walk into Paje (especially w 2 small kids) and not many other alternatives close by to choose from regarding restaurants and other shops. It might be difficult to sleap because of the waves!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#8 of 12 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anna of Zanzibar
Anna of Zanzibar
#3 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 11 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun and Seaview Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun and Seaview Bungalows

Address: Paje-Bwejuu | P.O. Box 3881, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bwejuu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun and sea view is a small bungalow of ten rooms all seaview with restaurant with italian & local foods,tongether with lots of activities like tennis, volley ball and kayaksfor free you will apreciate the helpful stall in a quite atmosphere. it is a place where many nations meet with one spirit enjoying holidays ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun And Seaview Bungalows Hotel Bwejuu
Sun And Seaview Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing