We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous beach / hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows
Save Saved
You added Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Bwejuu Village beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous beach / hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was completely in love with this hotel. Really beautifully done rooms, right on the beach if you request, wonderful hammocks to lie in, yoga mats to use or lie on, gorgeous sunrises, great beach to walk or bike on at low tide. The staff are incredibly attentive, friendly, and helpful - they can take care of anything you need, and the prices they charged for activities, airport pickup, etc. were quite competitive (get the airport pickup - a driver who doesn't know the place will never find it). They are very protective of you, and really make sure that you have a fantastic stay. I don't quite know how to capture how beautiful this place is, and what a good job Upepo does in allowing you to appreciate it fully, from well-placed and designed seating, lovely and charming room decorations, a lovely outdoor dining area, etc. Very highly recommended.

Things to be aware of (I'm hesitant to say cons, since these are the sorts of things to be expected in a small beach hotel, but do be aware before you book): 1) There is no hot water, and it is a salt water shower. 2) There are a fair number of bugs in the room. Generally not distracting (though there were a bunch of tiny ants in my bed at one point, which I was not a huge fan of). They have great mosquito nets though (the structured ones that you don't have to fuss with and tuck in), and the wind generally keeps the flying bugs at bay, but if you would be upset by seeing some bugs on the bathroom floor, this might not be quite the right place. 3) Food takes a very, very long time to be prepared. They say 1 hour, but it's often more like 2. The food is really tasty once it arrives though! And I didn't find that any of these things interfered with my enjoyment or love of Upepo, since I was prepared for them by other Trip Advisor reviews, but it is a good idea to be prepared for them.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room! They are stunning.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
32
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at Upepo near Bwejuu and had an amazing time there. It was the perfect holiday. We loved it and are officially in love with Zanzibar, Bwejuu and everyone at Upepo!! The owners, Shareef and Fatma, are lovely genuine people who are there if you need them but also give you the privacy and space to enjoy your holiday. The rest of the staff: Mohamed, Rasta and Chollo, are all incredibly friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble - they made our holiday! :-)

The accommodation is great - simple, clean bungalows in a stunning setting right on the beach. The food was tamu tamu (Rasta is a god in the kitchen!) and the beach was beautiful with loads to do, or you could just sit back and relax.

For us it was the perfect place to stay: quiet, laid back, away from the tourist resorts, beautiful beach, great people and amazing food.

We would go back in a heartbeat and can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I came here for a week of relaxing and to escape the winter and we could not have had a more perfect time. The Bungalow, on the beach, was beautiful and whilst simple, beautifully cleaned and such a cosy place to return to after a day of walking up and down the beach and falling asleep in a hammock. The food was absolutely delicious - the fish being freshly caught and the service impeccable. I would most definitely recommend this to just about anyone I know, and have done so already and cannot thank Shareef and Fatima enough for giving us the most precious week imaginable of a hassle-free beautiful white-beach paradise idyll! Very special, and for once the term 'unearthed gem' is perfectly apposite.

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow is very special indeed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

we stayed six nights here and enjoyed every single one of them. Very nice place on the bach between the coconut palms. Delicious food in the restaurant. Friendly staff and helpfull. Would come again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Even though I have traveled a lot (have also been to Zanzibar before) I normally don't write reviews - but this experience I simply feel compelled to write about, since it was really unpleasant.

But to be fair, first the good things about Upepo: secluded location (note that the water gets more beautiful and clear and less full of sea weed the further you get towards Paje), good food (but really small portions), very friendly bartender, nice hotel property, and they let us stay only two nights instead of the four nights we had booked (they demand the money up front when checking in....strange indeed). It all started out a bit weird: the two managemers (married couple) had gotten our booking wrong, we had booked a beach front bungalow which was occupied. They offered us a beach front ROOM, not bungalow, but the bed was too short and we wanted a bungalow so we took the one in the garden. This is the same prize (70US) as the beach front bungalow, which of course is unheard off. However, we didn't complain about this, nor did we complain about the total lack of ventilation (thank god for the fan) in the bungalow nor about the bathroom 'facilities' which consist of cold, salty water in small amounts. Honestly, 70US.....moreover, prizes are 25 percent less for food (bigger portions) and drinks just five minutes away and accommodation cheaper towards Paje.

Anyway, the trouble started on the morning of day two, when my girl friend got a bad case of diarrhea. Given the fact that we had had our last THREE meals at Upepo we thought we should merely inform one of the present managers  about this. BAD idea. He rolled his eyes and sneered at us saying that it could not be their food, since we had had the same food and I was not sick - of course anyone with just a bit of hygiene knowledge would know that even though you get the same food the portions can contain different bacteria. We tried to explain this to him, but his arrogant, ignorant behavior continued with him concluding this absurd argument: "I have been a manager for more than 10 years, so I know that the food  is good". He did say that he would not charge us for one of the two bikes we had rented FROM A LOCAL from the village through Upepo  (my girl friend was too sick to ride it) - this just made us feel bad for the bike renter who lost his money due to Upepo, who did not loose anything. From here on, things just got worse: the man, when not ignoring us, was eye balling us, awasserbillig woman was acting so offended and ice cold, not even saying hello to us. So very childish not the mention unprofessional. They did not even ask how we were doing with the illness, no how are you, sorry you are sick, can we do anything etc. Just completely unprofessional nasty behavior. We felt very unpleasant and were just so happy to leave the next morning. We know that we did not act difficult. We just wanted a dialogue, but instead got such unpleasant attitude. Hence taking the manager up on his word: if you have been a manager for more than 10 years, act accordingly to this and don't get offended and take things so personally. So un-cool, so rude, so childish. They made us feel unwelcome and acted like they were the customers who had gotten sick and been treated rudely. The roles were reversed which of course is completely absurd given the circumstances. The place being so small just made the situation even more awkward and unpleasant. 

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debs1923, Owner at Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We thank you for your feedback and always take into account both the good and bad to make our place better for our guests. We do have some comments to address to these guests as they seem to feel that they did not receive what that had expected. Their first comments state that we had got their booking “wrong” – and claimed they booked a beach front bungalow that was “occupied”. Since we take our reviews very seriously we went back to the original email received for the booking of this guest to see if we had misunderstood their needs as posted unedited here:

Subject: Room inquiry
From: XXXXXXXXXXXXX
Date: Mon, 28 Jan 2013 22:34:53 +0100
To: XXXXXXXXXXXX
Hi, Do you have an available bungalow w/ double bed and sea view from Feb 9 and 4 nights?
Best regards,
XXXXXXXXXXX

Let me begin by stating we have only 3 bungalows here (soon to be 4). Our newest bungalow (which was completed last month) and for which we are very proud faces right onto the beach front and we had specifically chosen this one for our guests as they had made a 4 night booking so we wanted them to enjoy what we feel is the best we have to offer with a great sea view (which from the above email is what we assumed they wanted). This bungalow is not a “room” as suggested but a two level structure – one bungalow above and one below. This I believe is where the misunderstanding lay. These guests admitted to me upon arrival that they had hoped for an INDIVIDUAL bungalow (meaning they did not want anyone to be attached to the left, right or above them) which would have meant that our other bungalow which indeed had other guests would have been more appropriate. This was not stated in their enquiry above or we would have easily been able to accommodate them. We always try to accommodate guests in a bungalow that would suit them so we apologize if what we thought would be their best choice fell short. The other guests had arrived many days earlier and were staying for many days to follow so to claim that “their” bungalow was occupied was incorrect. Since our guests seemed unhappy with the beach front bungalow we offered them the option of staying in our 3rd and last available garden view bungalow which is what they chose themselves. Their complaint that the price was the same as the beach front bungalow surprises us as all of our 3 bungalows have the same price and offer different options for the different needs of our travelers – the bungalow they chose is a large bungalow that is more spacious (and usually reserved for families or three guests so there is more room).These guests claim that the beach front bungalow bed was too short and for this we have a simple reply. In Tanzania the LARGEST size mattress available is 6 feet by 6 feet. This is a fact of life in Africa and one we cannot change. ALL our beds are six feet long and unfortunately this guest was tall so for this we do not have an easy answer. There was no difference in the length of the mattress that he chose from the one that we offered him but he felt that the latter bed frame suited him better. We apologize if he felt the bed too small but all our beds are the largest size available and even if we could have known in advance about this problem there is no real solution to this besides a compromise.

We understood right away that our guests did not seem happy with their lodging here so when they stated they did not want to stay the length of their reservation we did not charge them for the cancelled days. Our reservation policy (which is emailed to every guest upon booking and which these guests received as well) states that we ask that guests pay for their room upon arrival (all food and other activities are put on a bill that is payed at the end of the stay). We did not “demand” payment on the first day – we asked for payment as stated in our booking policy. We do not ask that our guests pay an advance on their room prior to booking as some hotels do (and if we did these guests would have lost money for shortening their stay). This is normal practice for most B&B’s on the beach. The days that were cancelled occurred during one of the busiest seasons in Zanzibar (The Sauti Ya Busara Music Festival) where it is very difficult to find lodging and most hotels would have charged these guests for their full booking so it is unfortunate that these guests feel that our practices were “strange” when we felt that we were trying to help them out.

We are sorry that the guest fell sick on the morning of her stay here (they had arrived the day before) and their claim that the manager was rude to them when they told us of this surprises us as we are committed to making our guests feel that they are part of a family here and we take our guests’ health seriously. We have never ever in the past had anyone get sick from eating at our restaurant and almost all of our guests choose to eat here for all their meals which are prepared with fresh ingredients which we buy daily (one of the plusses of being a small establishment is that we cater our meals to the amount of guests we have so nothing sits idle in fridges or freezers like larger hotels). Since both these guests ate the same food at all 3 meals and only one fell ill one might question whether it was possible that the illness came from another source. Our other guests who were staying at the same time also ate here for all their meals (for a week) and had no complaints, nor did our staff (we all eat what is on the menu since our menu is small and changes daily with what we have purchased on the day). That said we tried to accommodate her illness with simple food after we learned that she was not feeling well and did notice that the following day she did eat her all inclusive breakfast without problem.

Despite the fact that this guest felt unwell she rented a bicycle. She then decided that she did not feel up to riding it. We did not charge the guest for the rental (even though they had asked for a bike and then when it arrived 20 minutes later claimed she could not use it). We felt not asking them to pay for the bicycle was a way again of trying to make them feel better about their stay and was offered as a favour to them. As stated in their review, it is true that we source out all our rentals to Bwejuu villagers to help the local economy. The reviewer then states that he felt badly for the villager who lost his money due to Upepo . I question why these guests felt “badly” as they wrote but did not offer to make the payment themselves (merely $6) since they did order a bicycle which they received but did not use. The “poor” villager who rented the bicycle is our good friend Anwari and when we explained the predicament to him (that we had done them a favour and not charged them) he happily did us the favour and did not charge us. For those who have visited Zanzibar or are about to visit you will learn that this “hakuna matata” or “no problem” friendly attitude is what makes this place special and when business arrangements change (which they often do here) people are very accepting (especially friends!).

We tried our best to help make these guests stay pleasant. We spoke to them at length trying to suggest places that might suit them better, had a long dialogue with them at dinner about their travels, offered them as many options as we were able to make them feel comfortable and felt we gave them as much attention as we could over their short time here. We have never been described as rude, nasty, cold, unpleasant, childish and unprofessional but we will concede that these guests were obviously unhappy about many things here and obviously whatever we tried to do to alleviate their problems did not succeed. We hope that they found somewhere that suited their needs better and where they were happy, since from the moment they arrived here at Upepo, happy they certainly were not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We came here as the last stop in our 2-week vacation, and we considered our stay at Upepo one of the highlights in the trip, and this is a very high benchmark...

The people: The staff was just wonderfully helpful and we learned about the best time to do things (according to the tide) as we got a warm welcome. There are only two bungalows so the service is personal.

The food: We wanted a lobster for dinner, then Shareef bought one from the fishermen and Rasta grilled it to perfection. That was as fresh as it could possibly get. It took some time, but really what's wrong with having to wait for your dinner to be cooked? The change of pace is exactly what you came looking for in a vacation. Also, make sure you try the meat balls.

The place: Nice beach bungalow that is basic with cold shower, yet it's clean and nicely presented. It's a bit of a walk to the nearby village, but wherever you go, you stroll through white, warm powdery sand. Here's your perk. Also, beautiful night sky as you can be alone quiet on the beach at night (and be safe).

We would highly recommend Upepo to anyone who like to have a laid back getaway from the hustle and bustle that is your ordinary city life (like ours).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

the experience at Upepo was amazing! it is a very special local place where, if you love to get in touch with the local people and culture, you can not avoid to fall in love with it. we stayed10 days and we had the bungalow just few steps away from the ocean. while we were sleeping you could feel and hear the ocean ...amazing!
the food is daily handmade and the menu changes every day....we had different delicious fishes every day! one day we also did the cooking course, and we learned 2 local dishes...so much fun and good recipes!!! the staff is friendly and very welcoming....we loved spending time chatting with Shareef, Fatma (Karen's name at Zanzibar) and Rasta!

the place is simple, small, and has not much around, so if you look for relax, nature, chilled atmosphere...it is the right place to be... I would suggest it to free travellers....not to people who looks for places with lots of amenities or entertainment options for the night.

Room Tip: front beach bungalow is always windy, so you can sleep without turning on the fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows

Address: Bwejuu Village beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows offers the convenience of a hotel with private bungalows on the beach and a great breakfast included in the price. Set on a long white sand beach on the East Coast of Zanzibar, we offer a quiet safe environment to relax. Enjoy opportunities for snorkeling, diving, kite-surfing, or rent a bike and explore on your own. Our restaurant uses fresh local ingredients and serves Zanzibar dishes as well as International favorites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.