We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna of Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Anna of Zanzibar to your Saves list
Anna of Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South East Coast, Bwejuu 3185, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have been remiss in submitting this review as it has now been seven months since my husband and I stayed there in November 2012. My travel agent had not heard of this property and I was the one who insisted on adding it to our itinerary--it was one of the best decisions I made about our Tanzania/Zanzibar trip. Bwejuu is not a swimming area given the shallow waters, but that was fine for us as we're not huge swim-in-the-ocean people and there is a pool if you really want to get some strokes in. However, if you're looking for a place to relax, be taken care of, and generally unwind after safari, this place is fantastic.

There are only five villas on the property which, as you can imagine, leads to extremely personalized service. Meals can be eaten any time you want and anywhere on the property. The food was decent and they try really hard for high-end presentation but the flavors are just not very sophisticated if you're accustomed to fine dining. Still, it was generally better than what we got at the safari lodges and the toasted, buttered bread was to die for.

The villas are all well-appointed and HUGE. From the time I booked to the time we arrived I guess I had forgotten what the pictures looked like but I think our villa (named Lily if I remember correctly) rivaled our S.F. apartment in size :) Everything was cleaned immaculately, they left pretty arrangements on the bed each night, and the a/c made everything very comfortable. Note that some villas have a/c in the living room area and some don't because they are more open-air--be sure to ask about this if you don't want to be confined to your bedroom to cool off.

The sand in the area is nice and soft and they do a great job of keeping it clean on the Anna property. There is a small gift shop on site as well, but the prices of some things (the napkin rings come to mind) are a little high and if you walk north on the beach a ways you'll find some other shops to check out.

We did each also get a massage at the on-site spa, which was lovely. The massage itself was good and the facilities were great, with a spacious shower and supplies that you could use to rinse off afterwards.

Overall, highly recommend this place and the wonderful staff is to be commended for their effort and care. Thank you for helping us end our trip on such a high note, I hope we can come back some day!

Room Tip: If you want a/c in the living room area as well as your bedroom, be sure to ask for a villa that has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
96
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Anna of Zanzibar is fantanstic. Simply put. Just a place to unwind and relax for a few nights. Michael the owner is relaxed but knows how to run a business. Food excellent. Staff looked after (David one of the waiters was great). Pristine accomodations. Bring a good book, chill by the pool or on the beach. Only 10 guests can stay at any one time. We had an amazing time.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa nearest the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The staff and management are extremely accommodating and helpful. The location is very nice and made by a 5 or 6 bungalow villas nicely decorated furnished with all modern amenities. Though you are not on a fenced private beach. This is the long and beautiful coralmade sand beach Paje that extends for at least 10 km. In there all sort of hotels have their roots but it does not mean any crowd. During our stay you could not really swim in its waters because of the low tide. Though you can walk in the shallow water for about 2km towards the reef.
As in many other places in Zanzibar you chose where you want your meals served. Everything is included so, given the price, you feel sort of compelled to...eat.
The food is abundant but average in quality. I would even say that is pity the cook try to do anything with the excellent local fish: here they catch yellow tuna that you can even eat raw as any sushi eater would tell so it would only require a little barbecuing if you do not have a very competent cook. They serve desert with very poor result. Overall the whole menu is heavy on any educated stomach.
This hotel is for pure relax. I have not found any hint of sports or excursion. Certainly there is abundance of those outside of the hotel (and the management is very conceding...not only did I get free lift to the kitesurfing center but I also enjoyed a 5 gallons cooling bag full with sodas and beers) but one may expect all inclusive hotel takes its guests to some adventures not like the many others.
Since I am not interested I did not note if a spa, massage, or gym is included
My kids remember it after months but, however pampering, it is not for me especially for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schöftland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

25.02. - 11.3.13 - Andy and Anne/CH - We enjoyed 15 wonderful days here at Anna of Zanzibar. Hotel was very special as it is small, QUIET and well run with GOOD staff. Plenty of delicious food, specially FISH , many other great dishes too. Beach always kept clean. Beach chairs comfortable even after u have been lying for a while. Met plenty of interesting people too at the resort. Keep up the good work Anna!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

With its small number of luxury island style villas the Anna of Zanzibar was the perfect setting for relaxing time after our Tanzania safari experience. The warm and tasteful ambiance of the villas gave us the feeling of home far away from home. The manager Nicki was open to all our needs and helped us make the most of our enjoyable stay with her support and a great choice of activities. The hotel service was exceptional and individual requests were more than met. This went as far as fetching fresh coconuts from one of the palm trees and giving a tutorial on opening them. The cooking never ceased to amaze us, especially the many tasty variations of fresh seafood. The high quality of products used and the skillful preparation were irresistible. The freedom to choose when and where meals are served gave us a lot of flexibility. The impeccable and friendly service made this all the more enjoyable.
The small size of the resort plus the other delightful guests helped create a cozy and very relaxing atmosphere in which the beach and the colourful ocean made a lasting impression on us. Whenever the opportunity arises we will be back for more.

Alex and Philipp

Room Tip: The closer to the ocean the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Everything about it was pure bliss. Wonderful staff, delicious fresh food, comfortable clean rooms. We stayed 8 days and could not speak more highly about our romantic private getaway after our safari. Each day you picked what time, your meal of choice & where you wanted to dine, beachside, on your private veranda, in the dining room or poolside or ??? The food was excellent, fresh local fruit, fish, spices and ingredients made for delicious meals, from the sea or the tree to your table! The staff was helpful, friendly, very accommodating. They provide shoes to walk out into the Indian Ocean during low tide and can arrange any excursions. We loved the onsite Spa and the two dogs that live on the property, we also enjoyed our outing in Stone Town with the mix of Arab and Africian cultures yet mostly just spent the time relaxing poolside or on the beach. The perfect getaway with perfect beautiful turquoise ocean views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Anna of Zanzibar after a week on safari for our honeymoon. It is perfect for couples looking for quiet relaxation, excellent service, and not much to do besides sitting on the beach, eating and drinking. The staff was very friendly and our beautiful, large private villa was set in quiet and beautiful tropical gardens. Each meal is served when and where you want, and the food was pretty good (sometimes excellent, sometimes just good). It was total bliss and relaxation and the perfect ending to our honeymoon. I got a massage and a scrub at the spa which were both really good. We highly recommend it to other travelers and loved the all-inclusive concept for our honeymoon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna of Zanzibar

Address: South East Coast, Bwejuu 3185, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anna of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and exclusive boutique hotel with 5 superb villas only. Situated on the east coast of Zanzibar with a beautiful beach. Swimming pool, spa, bar, restaurant with superb seafood. Activities include diving, fishing, boat trips and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anna of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Of Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Anna Of Zanzibar Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna of Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.