We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna of Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Anna of Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Anna of Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South East Coast, Bwejuu 3185, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A perfect honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Anna of Zanzibar is a perfect place for couples looking for quiet relaxation and excellent service. We came here for our honeymoon after a safari in Tanzania, and it was a perfect ending to our trip. Michael is a great host, and all of the staff is friendly and always looking to get you what you need. The 5 private villas are large and clean. Each meal is served when and where you want, and the food is always delicious. Aside from total relaxtion at Anna's, Michael also arranged for two excursions for us. We could not recommend Anna more. You will love it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
84
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The best service I have ever had. Excellent to relax, dive and go to the beach. All inclusive, great food, wine and beverage. Local handcraft very interesting. Many options to boat around, sunset cruise in a handmade canoe is highly reccomended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Anna of Zanzibar is one of the most luxurious, relaxing, welcoming and generally delightful places we've ever stayed. The proprietor, Mike, appears to be running it as much as a lifestyle choice as a business for profit, though the prices are firmly in the holiday-of-a-lifetime range, and the rooms generally full. Rooms is the wrong word ; there are five - and only five - self-contained villas, each one spacious, nicely decorated (except for the tiles in the bathrooms), air conditioned and with its own wi-fi. Unlike most other places in this part of the world, the wi-fi is pretty fast, though apparently it slows down at the end of the month if guests download too much data.

The food is outstanding. When you arrive, Mike promises you "anything you want, whenever you want, wherever you want": on your private veranda, or that of the main house, on the beach (if it isn't too windy at night), in the shisha house, or by the pool. Don't worry if it's not on the menu; as long as you give them reasonable notice, they'll do it for you, and it will be delicious, as was the lobster spaghetti we ordered for our last night. The octopus is particularly good, as is the seafood generally, as it is all local. Mike would tell the local fisherman what he wanted for the day, and they would catch it to order. If Mike thinks he has a quorum of sufficiently hearty guests, as he did last Sunday night, he'll lay on a delicious seafood barbecue for everyone. It's the only time guests are encouraged to socialise, and he checks that everyone's up for it before making up his mind; the rest of the time you are guaranteed as much privacy as you require. We could hardly believe how much space and variety of locations there was for a maximum of just ten guests; well, perhaps kids could swell the numbers a little, but it might not be the sort of place you'd want them around, being the ultimate romantic getaway for lovers, honeymooners and empty nesters.

The staff are a delight. They float around in white robes and hats with gold trim, never letting too much time go by without checking that you are with drink, food, or anything else you need. The spa is the domain of a delightful young lady who gives a cracking massage, but needs to work on her pedicure skills.

The beach might come as a slight disappointment, as it is rarely swept for seaweed and the sand is hard and compact. However, it has benefits: for example, it's good for cycling; Mike has a couple of house bikes for guest use. Except at high tide, swimming is made difficult by the proximity of a great expanse of coral stretching from just off shore to a kilometre out. If, like me, you're not that into sea swimming anyway, the upside is easy to appreciate: when the tide's out you can don your complementary rubber shoes and wander all over the stunning reef admiring the anemones, coral, starfish, sea cucumbers and exotic fish. Just watch out for the sea urchins - one barb went straight through my shoe and had me limping for a while. (Also watch out for bones left around the swimming pool etc. by the two sweet dogs, Lilly and Mister Bean; the staff clear them out of the way when we they see them, but the one I stood on two days ago has me limping still!)

There's great snorkeling, of course, and Mike has a store of equipment that the guests can use free of charge.

In all, we absolutely loved Anna of Zanzibar and were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

What a fantastic place. We travelled with our 9 month old daughter, looking for some really relaxing down time with just the three of us and soon realised that we could not have found anywhere better. The concept is a great one, you are invited to treat the whole resort very much as your own, and it is executed beautifully by discrete yet friendly and accessible staff. Because there are only 5 villas and because you are invited to eat every meal wherever you wish - beach, pool, main house terrace or your own villa) you can choose whether or not to socialise without feeling isolated. The food - 3 course lunch and dinner chosen each day in advance - was extremely good and the kitchen were willing to prepare anything we requested at any time of day for our baby. The management were welcoming yet informal, instantly making you feel at home and going to great lengths to help in any way possible (the owner and his wife actually got our souvenirs made for us). Zanzibar is beautiful and we left feeling that we hd been very lucky to see it with Anna of zanzibar as our base. Thank you!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want to pamper yourself with amazing good and service second to none this is the place to go! Simply breathtaking! The staff is amazing and there to help with what you need. Lovely setting, beautiful common areas, great hostesses!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What can I say? WOW. This is an amazing place and if I had to pick my favorite part it would have to be the food. YUM! Zanzibar is a strange place as far as eating options go so I would have to say that Anna of Zanzibar went above and beyond my expectation. I highly recommend the pumpkin risotto - WOW. The manager, Niccy, is awesome and a perfect hostess. This was one of the highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at Anna of Zanzibar for over a week in January 2012, as part of our honeymoon, and really enjoyed it. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff, and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. The food was superb with meals able to be taken by the beach, on our bungalow's verandah, by the pool or on the verandah of the main house, at any time convenient to us. The room was very comfortable and with only five bungalows well spaced out from each other, it is an intimate and special place where one can get away from it all. The location is perfect for touring and the beach very wide and quiet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are air-conditioned but some have a non-airconditioned sitting room with a thatched roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anna of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna of Zanzibar

Also Known As:
Anna Of Zanzibar Hotel
Anna Of Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Anna Of Zanzibar Bwejuu
Address: South East Coast, Bwejuu 3185, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anna of Zanzibar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and exclusive boutique hotel with 5 superb villas only. Situated on the east coast of Zanzibar with a beautiful beach. Swimming pool, spa, bar, restaurant with superb seafood. Activities include diving, fishing, boat trips and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Anna of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna of Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.