We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna of Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Anna of Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Anna of Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South East Coast, Bwejuu 3185, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
Pittsburg, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Impeccable service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want to pamper yourself with amazing good and service second to none this is the place to go! Simply breathtaking! The staff is amazing and there to help with what you need. Lovely setting, beautiful common areas, great hostesses!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
84
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What can I say? WOW. This is an amazing place and if I had to pick my favorite part it would have to be the food. YUM! Zanzibar is a strange place as far as eating options go so I would have to say that Anna of Zanzibar went above and beyond my expectation. I highly recommend the pumpkin risotto - WOW. The manager, Niccy, is awesome and a perfect hostess. This was one of the highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at Anna of Zanzibar for over a week in January 2012, as part of our honeymoon, and really enjoyed it. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff, and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. The food was superb with meals able to be taken by the beach, on our bungalow's verandah, by the pool or on the verandah of the main house, at any time convenient to us. The room was very comfortable and with only five bungalows well spaced out from each other, it is an intimate and special place where one can get away from it all. The location is perfect for touring and the beach very wide and quiet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are air-conditioned but some have a non-airconditioned sitting room with a thatched roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Congratulations. If you are reading this then you have now found the most idyllic place to stay in Zanzibar.

Staying at Anna's is one of life's unique experiences where you genuinely feel as though you are staying in your own home while being cared for by the most charming Tanzanian people you can possibly imagine.

Once you arrive you are free to treat the place as your own, and as there are only a few guests, you can be as anonymous or social as you like.

The food is superb - and meals can be taken wherever you want, whenever you want and you can order whatever you want. Dinner poolside or on the beach while being supplied unlimited wine is a perfect way to start a holiday.

If you enjoy spas then you will certainly enjoy Anna's. Wonderful oils and scrubs are sensational - all given in a clean and brand new facility.

The hosts Michael and Nicci are always available should you need them but I challenge you to think of anything that they haven't already thought for you.

This is not a glitzy, internationally owned resort, this is old fashioned personal service in a stunning environment and beautiful beach houses with a strong African influence.

If you find somewhere better....tell me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinja
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

yes this is the absolute way to stay at the beach,the food is 5 star superb ,location perfect.i been in kenia ,mozambique,south africa,namibia,the complete west coast ,and did not find a better place,only five bungalows the beach and good sea food.
i wish for nothing else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

My family and I spent an amazing week here in Feb. With 2 small children (aged 3yrs and 9 months) I wanted something luxurious but also family friendly. Anna's was the perfect balance. Owner Michael and his manager Niccy were amazing hosts and made sure that our week with them was perfect. Our baby son was treated to a whole range of brand new baby equipment and the chefs made puréed food for him. We were also treated to a babysitter. The food was outstanding and the waiters and chefs went to great lengths. Our daughter loved the octopus and so she was treated to a plate at every meal! She was also brought little dishes of local food to try in addition to the food we had ordered. With just 5 bungalows, Anna's is small but perfectly formed. We came across other families, honeymooners and safari travellers - it suits all types of holiday. It was lovely to have private meals on our veranda but wonderful to eat with the other guests at the main lodge. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Zanzibar offers plenty of large resorts, but if wearing a plastic wristband is not your thing - Anna of Zanzibar is the answer! We travelled to Anna with our young family (kids aged 5 and 7) and although at the time there were no other kids there, Anna offered us a wonderful family friendly holiday that provided relaxation for my husband and I, and plenty to do for the kids. The food was absolutely amazing and nothing was too much trouble for the kitchen to prepare for us (smoothies for breakfast, sushi for dinner - you name it!) The staff were really so courteous and helpful, and the rooms were extremely comfortable. The family still talks about our time at Anna and we hope we can go back - we had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: a couple of the bungalows can accommodate families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anna of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna of Zanzibar

Also Known As:
Anna Of Zanzibar Hotel
Anna Of Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Anna Of Zanzibar Bwejuu
Address: South East Coast, Bwejuu 3185, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anna of Zanzibar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and exclusive boutique hotel with 5 superb villas only. Situated on the east coast of Zanzibar with a beautiful beach. Swimming pool, spa, bar, restaurant with superb seafood. Activities include diving, fishing, boat trips and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Anna of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna of Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.